• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
September 22, 2009

Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29386)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/jesa-med-supply-inc-v-geico-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op-29386/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Judge
Ottley, J.
Decided
September 22, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 29386 · 25 Misc 3d 1098
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Split result
Issues
Medical necessity Fee schedule
Legal questions
Lack of medical necessity · Proving a fee schedule defense · Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 1098 (Civ Ct, Kings County 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The physician's affirmation authenticated the electronic signature on the peer review, supporting the medical-necessity denial. The physician stated that only the physician could apply the signature and that its application affirmed the report under penalty of perjury. The Civil Court, Kings County, deemed the report admissible under CPLR 2106 and granted the insurer summary judgment dismissing the separate medical-necessity claim because the provider raised no factual issue. The provider obtained summary judgment on the unpaid fee-schedule balance because the insurer's affidavit did not explain its application of the fees under 11 NYCRR part 68. Errors in the insurer's attorney affirmation did not defeat its cross motion, which was supported by an employee affidavit and documents.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29386)

Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 29386 [25 Misc 3d 1098]
September 22, 2009
Ottley, J.
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, January 13, 2010

[*1]

Jesa Medical Supply, Inc., as Assignee of Kiara Francisco, Plaintiff,
v
GEICO Insurance Company, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County, September 22, 2009

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Melissa Betancourt, Brooklyn, for plaintiff. Law Office of Teresa Spina, Woodbury, for defendant.

{**25 Misc 3d at 1099} OPINION OF THE COURT

Lisa S. Ottley, J.

Plaintiff commenced this action against the defendant to recover first-party no-fault benefits pursuant to section 5106 of the Insurance Law and Regulations of the New York State Insurance Department (11 NYCRR) § 65-1.1 et seq., for medical services rendered. Plaintiff is seeking judgment in the amount of $796.46, which represents two bills in the amounts of $16.46 and $780.

Plaintiff moves for an order granting summary judgment as a matter of law, on the grounds that assignor, Kiara Francisco, assigned her “no fault” benefits to plaintiff pursuant to the terms of the insurance policies sold by defendant, and the timely submission of invoices and/or bills to defendant in accordance with the New York State Insurance Law. Defendant opposes plaintiff’s motion and cross-moves for an order granting summary judgment on the grounds that the claims for no-fault benefits were timely denied based upon lack of medical necessity and fees charged in excess of the workers’ compensation fee schedule.

After careful review of the moving papers, supporting documentation and opposition thereto, the court finds as follows: [*2]

Pursuant to both the Insurance Law and the regulations promulgated by the Superintendent of Insurance, within 30 days after a claimant submits proof of the facts and the amount of loss sustained, an insurer is required to either pay or deny a claim for insurance coverage of medical expenses arising from a motor vehicle accident. (See 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 200 [1997]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d 11, 16 [2d Dept 1999]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583 [2d Dept 2002].)

Based upon a review of the supplemental documents submitted by the plaintiff, the court finds that the plaintiff has{**25 Misc 3d at 1100} established its prima facie case as to the mailing of its claims for no-fault benefits. The plaintiff has annexed an affidavit of its billing manager, as well as proof of mailing. In addition, the court finds that the defendant has established its prima facie case as to the mailing of its timely denials. The affidavit of defendant’s claims representative, Leonard Delgiudice, sets forth the insurer’s standard office practice and procedure, which establishes a presumption of mailing. (See Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001].)

Plaintiff argues that defendant improperly denied one bill in the amount of $780, and partially paid the other bill, and that defendant improperly applied the fee schedule. Plaintiff further states that defendant’s moving papers were insufficient, because defendant failed to attach an affidavit explaining how the fee schedule is applied. Plaintiff also argues that defendant’s papers are defective because of the incorrect caption of the case and index number, as well as the fact that the affirmation of the attorney is signed by someone other than the affiant.

The court has thoroughly reviewed and considered the arguments of the parties’ attorneys. First, the court finds it necessary to address the plaintiff’s arguments concerning the defendant’s attorney’s affirmation. Although the attorney affirmation has the correct provider’s name, it has the incorrect index number, as well as the assignor name. In addition, the affirmation starts out with the name of Anthony N. Kobets, as the attorney affirming under the penalties of perjury, but the signature name is that of Kristie Hack, Esq.

As a result of the improper caption, index number and attorney signature the plaintiff argues the papers are defective. Therefore, the question is whether or not the defects as argued by plaintiff would warrant summary judgment being granted in favor of plaintiff on these grounds. This court answers in the negative. In all likelihood, the papers were used in a similar case, inasmuch as the improper caption has the same provider, and is a boilerplate attorney affirmation, and unfortunately was not reviewed with the sharpest of eyes, in order to pick up the typographical errors. The defects in an attorney affirmation should not warrant summary judgment being granted in favor of plaintiff. An affirmation of an attorney has no probative value. The affirmation itself, which is purported to be that of one person, but signed by another is worthless and a nullity. (See A.B. Med. Servs. v CNA Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 138[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50265[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004].){**25 Misc 3d at 1101} However, the defendant’s [*3]cross motion cannot and does not stand alone on an attorney affirmation. The supporting document to the cross motion must come from a person with actual knowledge of the facts to the case. The supporting affidavit to defendant’s cross motion which is of probative value is that of Leonard Delgiudice, an employee of GEICO. The court has, without giving consideration to the attorney affirmation, made its determination based upon the supporting affidavit of Mr. Delgiudice, and the annexed documents to the cross motion such as the peer review and denials. Thus, the court finds plaintiff’s arguments that the papers are defective to be without merit, in light of the fact that the motions can be decided without the attorney affirmation which is of no probative value.

It is well established that a medical provider must limit its charges to those permitted by approved fee schedules. (See Goldberg v Corcoran, 153 AD2d 113 [2d Dept 1989]; Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 43 [2d Dept 2004]; King’s Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 127[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51681[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2003].) The fees for services and procedures are governed by the workers’ compensation fee schedule insurance regulation (11 NYCRR 68.1) and durable medical goods fees are governed by the New York Medicaid fee schedule (11 NYCRR part 68). An insurer who raises this defense will prevail if it demonstrates that it was correct in its reading of the fee schedules unless the plaintiff shows that “an unusual procedure or unique circumstance justifies the necessity” for a charge above the scheduled fee. (11 NYCRR 68.4.)

An insurer can only preserve a fee schedule defense by first complying with the rule requiring the insurer to pay or deny a claim for no-fault automobile insurance benefits within 30 days from the date an applicant supplies proof of claim. (See Jamil M. Abraham M.D. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50388[U] [2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004].)

The claim for $183 was partially paid by the insurer, in the amount of $167.04 leaving a balance of $16.46. As stated above, the claim was denied on two grounds: lack of medical necessity and fee schedule. The denial shows the reduction of the provider’s charge of $38.50 for the positioning cushion/pillow being reduced to $22.04, thereby leaving the balance of $16.46. Inasmuch as the defendant has failed to proffer sufficient evidence to establish as a matter of law that amounts charged in said claims were in excess of the amounts permitted by the fee{**25 Misc 3d at 1102} schedule, plaintiff is entitled to summary judgment on its claim for $16.46.

Defendant failed to proffer sufficient evidence to establish as a matter of law the amounts charged for said claims were in excess of the amounts permitted by the fee schedule. The affidavit of Leonard Delgiudice fails to address how the fees were applied, and how the charged amount by the provider was in excess of the fee schedule. (Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co., 23 Misc 3d 132[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50732[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009].)

Next, this court will address the remaining bill in the amount of $780, which was denied in full. The provider’s claim for no-fault benefits in the amount of $780 was denied [*4]based upon lack of medical necessity. The explanation annexed to the denial, “attachment 1” of exhibit “C” to defendant’s cross motion, indicates that the denial is based upon an independent medical examination. There was a service for $630 and one for $150. The “EOB” (explanation of benefits) code is “SSS” and explained in the denial as “supplies have been found not to be medically necessary.”

Lack of medical necessity is a defense to an action for recovery of no-fault benefits, and may be asserted by the insurer provided that there has been a timely denial of the claim. (Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]; Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 200 [1997].)

As stated above, the court finds that the defendant has established the timely mailing of its denial of plaintiff’s claims for no-fault benefits.

In opposition to defendant’s cross motion and in support of its motion for summary judgment plaintiff argues that defendant’s peer review is inadmissible because of the doctor’s stamped signature. Plaintiff contends that the peer review does not comply with CPLR 2106, due to defendant’s failure to submit proof that the doctor himself stamped his signature.

The Appellate Term has consistently held that a peer review report which bears an electronic stamp of the peer review signature is not in admissible form pursuant to CPLR 2106. (Radiology Today, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 70 [App Term, 2d Dept 2008]; Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 128[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 52502[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006].) However, in the case before{**25 Misc 3d at 1103} this court, the defendant has annexed as part of exhibit “D,” which is the peer review of Dr. Andrew R. Miller, an affirmation of Dr. Miller which states in paragraphs 4 and 5 thereof the following:

“4. I alone have the ability to apply the signature and no other individual, either under my employ or otherwise has the authority or ability to apply the signature.
“5. When my electronic signature is applied I am affirming, under the penalties of perjury, the truthfulness, accuracy and correctness of my report and will swear under oath, in a court of law or in arbitration, if asked to do so.”

It is this court’s opinion that the affirmation of Dr. Andrew Miller, which indicates that the peer review report has an electronic stamped facsimile of his signature that is in fact his and was applied by him and not by anyone else, is sufficient to establish that the signature has been acknowledged by Dr. Miller as his own. As such, the court deems the peer review to be in admissible form.

Therefore, inasmuch as the plaintiff has failed to raise an issue of fact to negate the peer review report of Dr. Andrew Miller, summary judgment should be granted in favor of the [*5]defendant. (See Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 143[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51761[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists, 2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 130[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 50535[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008].)

Accordingly, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied in part and granted in part. The clerk of the court is hereby directed to enter judgment in favor of plaintiff and against defendant in the amount of $16.46, plus statutory cost, interest and attorneys fees.

Accordingly, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on its claim for $780 is hereby denied. Defendant’s cross motion is denied in part and granted in part, and the cause of action for no-fault benefits in the amount of $780 is dismissed.

Legal questions (4)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Lack of medical necessity

Open the full map

Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?

This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it

Held the peer review admissible despite its stamped signature because the doctor's affirmation acknowledged applying it, and as the provider raised no issue of fact the $780 supply claim was dismissed.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 521
  • Trial courtsTrial 87
2022, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer raised triable issue)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2021, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Trial error, new trial)2019, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (8 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient, 3 Trial error, new trial)2018, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2017, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (5 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 7 Trial error, new trial)2016, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (9 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2014, Appellate Term: 40 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 22 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2013, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (40 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 12 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 2 Trial error, new trial)2012, Appellate Term: 76 decisions (54 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 10 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 5 Trial error, new trial)2011, Appellate Term: 56 decisions (42 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 6 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2010, Appellate Term: 66 decisions (50 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2009, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (17 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (14 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2006, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 11 Insurer raised triable issue, 8 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (6 Insurer raised triable issue, 10 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 9 Insurer's proof insufficient)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 6 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Trial error, new trial)2012, Trial courts: 7 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer's proof insufficient)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2010, Trial courts: 10 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2009, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2006, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2003, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)This decision
20052010201520202025
Unrebutted, insurer prevailsProvider's rebuttal sufficientInsurer raised triable issueInsurer's proof insufficientTrial error, new trialThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followedDistinguished or limited

Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.

Proving a fee schedule defense

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?

This decision: Court finally rejected the fee schedule defense; provider recovers the disputed amount

Held the insurer's affidavit did not explain how the fee schedule was applied or how the charge exceeded it, so the provider was granted summary judgment for the reduced balance.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 6
  • Appellate TermApp Term 238
  • Trial courtsTrial 39
2016, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2019, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Defense rejected)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2022, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (4 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open, 3 Defense rejected)2020, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (6 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2019, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (13 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2018, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (9 Excess shown, 1 Split by charge)2017, Appellate Term: 46 decisions (26 Excess shown, 15 Not established; open, 5 Split by charge)2016, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (11 Excess shown, 7 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 2 Split by charge)2015, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (10 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open)2014, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Excess shown, 5 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2013, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (3 Excess shown, 8 Not established; open, 2 Split by charge)2012, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (15 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2011, Appellate Term: 18 decisions (8 Excess shown, 5 Not established; open, 5 Split by charge)2010, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (7 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open, 3 Defense rejected, 2 Split by charge)2009, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (4 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2008, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2007, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (3 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2006, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2005, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Not established; open, 4 Defense rejected)2004, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Not established; open, 2 Defense rejected)2003, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense rejected)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2025, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2026, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Excess shown, 2 Not established; open)2021, Trial courts: 4 decisions (1 Excess shown, 3 Not established; open)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Excess shown)2016, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2012, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Not established; open, 1 Defense rejected)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Excess shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense rejected, 1 Split by charge)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Excess shown, 1 Defense rejected)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Not established; open)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Not established; open)2006, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Defense rejected)2005, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Excess shown, 1 Not established; open)2004, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense rejected)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense rejected)2026, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Not established; open, 1 Split by charge)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Not established; open)This decision
20052010201520202025
Excess shownNot established; openDefense rejectedSplit by chargeThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 29 (this one included) are in the same category.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the provider established its prima facie case on mailing of its claims through its billing manager's affidavit and proof of mailing; the outcome then turned on the insurer's fee schedule and medical-necessity defenses.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 80
  • Appellate TermApp Term 843
  • Trial courtsTrial 138
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (11 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 15 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (22 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (7 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 12 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 36 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 10 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (28 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 104 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 94 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 112 decisions (76 Proof sufficient, 26 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 3 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (43 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 22 decisions (14 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followedDistinguished or limited

Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the claims representative's affidavit describing standard office mailing practice raised a presumption that the denials were timely mailed; the provider's billing manager affidavit and proof of mailing likewise established mailing of its claims.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,203
  • Trial courtsTrial 143
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 80 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 102 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 20 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 67 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 109 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 13 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 18 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 17 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 14 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followedDistinguished or limited

Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24119)An insurer may not deny equipment fees as exceeding local prevailing rates when the applicable schedule limits reimbursement to 150% of cost.
  • King’S Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51681(U))Medical equipment reimbursement is governed by the 150-percent-of-cost fee schedule rather than prevailing local rates.
  • Abraham v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50388(U))The insurer's unsworn nurses' reviews failed to raise a triable issue of medical necessity because the reviewers' qualifications were not shown.
  • Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50732(U)) FollowedThe insurer's peer review report was not competent evidence, and its fee-schedule proof was insufficient.
  • Radiology Today, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28259) DistinguishedThe insurer's peer review report failed to raise a medical-necessity issue because its stamped signature lacked proof of the doctor's authorization.
  • Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52502(U)) DistinguishedThe insurer's peer reviews bearing stamped facsimile signatures were inadmissible under CPLR 2106 on the record presented.
  • Crossbridge Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51761(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved two claims medically unnecessary but failed to establish the assignor's EUO nonappearance on the remaining claim.
  • Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50535(U)) FollowedThe insurer's detailed peer reviews established lack of medical necessity for the MRIs, and the provider offered no rebuttal.

Similar decisions

  • Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
  • Queensboro Med. Rehab, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51936(U))The insurer's peer review raised a medical necessity issue but did not warrant summary judgment.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51847(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME requests and was precluded from asserting untimely fee-schedule and medical-necessity defenses.
  • Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.
  • Optimum Health Acupuncture, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50068(U))The provider failed to raise factual issues on fee-schedule reductions and medical necessity because its expert affidavits were missing.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.