October 13, 2010
Amato v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20431)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/amato-v-state-farm-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op-20431/
- Judge
- Hirsh, J.
- Decided
- October 13, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 20431 · 30 Misc 3d 238
- Posture
- Trial
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Amato v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20431)
| Amato v State Farm Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 20431 [30 Misc 3d 238] |
| October 13, 2010 |
| Hirsh, J. |
| District Court Of Nassau County, First District |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, February 2, 2011 |
[*1]
| Richard E. Amato D.C., as Assignee of Sandra J. Burrell, Plaintiff, v State Farm Insurance Company, Defendant. |
District Court of Nassau County, First District, October 13, 2010
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Abrams, Fensterman, Eisman, Greenberg, Formato & Einiger, LLP, for plaintiff. Lawrence Rogak, LLC, for defendant.
{**30 Misc 3d at 239} OPINION OF THE COURT
Fred J. Hirsh, J.
Facts
This action raises issues regarding the extent to which a no-fault insurance carrier may rely upon the results of an independent medical examination (IME) to deny payment for medical treatment provided after the IME.
Plaintiff sues to recover first-party no-fault benefits for chiropractic care provided to Sandra Burrell during the period January 3, 2006 through January 30, 2007.
Burrell was injured in a motor vehicle accident that occurred on February 16, 2005. State Farm Insurance Company (State Farm) provided no-fault insurance benefits to Burrell for medical treatment received for injuries sustained in this accident.
Burrell received chiropractic treatment for the injuries she sustained in the accident from Richard E. Amato, D.C. (Dr. Amato). Burrell assigned her right to receive first-party no-fault benefits for her chiropractic care to Dr. Amato.
State Farm requested that Burrell submit to an IME to be conducted by Todd Aordkian, D.C. (Dr. Aordkian). The IME was conducted on September 8, 2005.
Dr. Aordkian’s examination found the range of motion of Burrell’s cervical and lumbar spine to be essentially normal. The only objective finding he made was decreased sensation along the right leg.
In addition to conducting an IME, Dr. Aordkian also reviewed medical records of the doctors who had provided treatment to Burrell prior to the IME and report of a cervical MRI dated April 30, 2005.
Dr. Aordkian’s diagnosis was a resolved cervical and lumbar sprain. Dr. Aordkian [*2]issued a report dated September 16, 2005 in which he concluded Burrell needed no further chiropractic treatment for the injuries arising from the February 16, 2005 automobile accident.
Dr. Aordkian testified at trial that Burrell’s condition would not improve even if she received additional chiropractic treatment.
Burrell received additional chiropractic treatment from Dr. Amato during the period January 3, 2006 through January 30, 2007.
Dr. Amato submitted the bills for this treatment to State Farm. State Farm denied payment of the bills for this treatment{**30 Misc 3d at 240} because “New York No-Fault Chiropractic benefits were denied on 9/30/05 based upon the physical examination of Dr. Aordkian performed on 9/8/05.”
Dr. Aordkian testified he had not seen any medical reports or records relating the treatment Burrell received from Dr. Amato from January 3, 2006 through January 30, 2007. He did not know what Burrell’s condition was when she received this treatment or whether her condition had worsened after he conducted the IME.
The parties stipulated to the timely submission of the bills for the treatment and the timely issuance of denials. The parties stipulated into evidence the bills, the report of the independent medical examination performed by Dr. Aordkian and the medical reports and records reviewed by Dr. Aordkian when he conducted the IME.
Discussion
The no-fault regulations permit an insurer to demand the injured party submit to an IME “as often as[ ] the Company may reasonably require.” (11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [d].)
An applicant for no-fault benefits is not to be treated as an adversary. (11 NYCRR 65-3.2 [b].) The basic goal of an insurer in processing no-fault claims is “the prompt and fair payment to all automobile accident victims.” (11 NYCRR 65-3.2 [a].)
The purpose of an IME is to assist the carrier in determining the extent of the claimant’s injuries and the claimant’s need for continuing medical treatment. (See Rowe v Wahnow, 26 Misc 3d 8, 11-12 [App Term, 1st Dept 2009, McKeon, P.J., dissenting].)
The purpose of the no-fault statute is to insure prompt payment of medical claims regardless of fault. (Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d 556 [2008]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312 [2007]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997], rearg denied 90 NY2d 937 [1997].)
In order to meet this purpose, an insurer must pay or deny a claim within 30 days of receipt. (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1].) An insurer may toll or extend its time to pay a claim by timely demanding an IME, an examination under oath or verification. (Hospital for Joint Diseases v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 44 AD3d 903 [2d Dept 2007]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [c]; 65-3.8 [a] [1].)
A no-fault insurance carrier is precluded from asserting at trial any precludable defense not asserted in a timely denial.{**30 Misc 3d at 241} (Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d 556 [2008]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312 [2007]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997].)[FN*]
In this case, State Farm denied no-fault benefits for chiropractic care provided by Amato to Burrell between January 3, 2006 and January 30, 2007 based upon an IME cutoff based upon the IME performed by Dr. Aordkian on September 8, 2005.
However, like all other no-fault claims, timely submission of these claims by Amato created a presumption that the treatment was medically necessary. (All County Open MRI & Diagn. Radiology P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 131[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 50318[U] [App Term 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2006]; Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 1244[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51868[U] [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009].) The burden shifted to the defendant to rebut the presumption of medical necessity. (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 10 Misc 3d 50 [App Term 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]; AP Orthopedics & Rehabilitation, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 698 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2010].)
The term “IME cutoff” is a misnomer. The No-Fault Law and regulations do not permit a carrier to unilaterally deny a claimant future benefits based upon an IME. An “IME cutoff” is nothing more than the opinion of the doctor that based upon the claimant’s complaints and the doctor’s objective findings at the time the IME is performed the claimant no longer needs medical care or treatment and/or diagnostic testing. The determination the claimant no longer needs treatment is generally based upon the examining doctor’s findings which result in the doctor concluding (1) the claimant has fully recovered from the injuries; (2) the claimant has made as full a recovery as is possible taking into account the nature and extent of the injuries, the claimant’s age, preexisting conditions or other factors; and/or (3) additional treatment or testing will not provide any medical benefit to the claimant. In this case, Dr. Aordkian{**30 Misc 3d at 242} determined Burrell had made as full a recovery as possible and therefore needed no further chiropractic care.
Medical treatment is not necessary if it is inconsistent with generally accepted medical standards. (Delta Med. Supplies, Inc. v NY Cent. Mut. Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 1231[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50241[U] [Civ Ct, Kings County 2007]; CityWide Social Work & Psychological Servs. v Travelers Indem. Co., 3 Misc 3d 608 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2004].) In order to make such a determination, the defendant must establish a factual basis and a medical rationale for finding the tests or treatment were not medically necessary. (Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 1244[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51868[U] [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009]; Nir v Allstate Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 544 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2005].)
An IME is a snapshot of the injured party’s medical condition as of the date of the [*3]IME. The opinion of the doctor conducting an IME and issuing a report that no further treatment or testing is needed is nothing more than an expert’s opinion that at the time the examination was conducted the claimant did not need any further treatment or testing. As regards the need for future treatment, the IME is nothing more than an expert’s prediction that the claimant has fully recovered or received the maximum therapeutic benefit from the treatment and does not presently need any additional treatment.
However, there is no legal reason why claims for medical treatment submitted after an “IME cutoff” has been issued should be treated any differently than claims submitted prior to the IME. Therefore, a timely submitted claim for medical services rendered after the issuance of an IME cutoff is presumed to be medically necessary. The timely submission of a post-IME cutoff claim shifts the burden to the defendant to establish a factual basis and medical rationale for its determination that the treatment was unnecessary.
Dr. Aordkian testified that he did not review any reports or records relating to the treatment Burrell received after the IME. He was unaware of the reasons Burrell sought and obtained the treatment. He was unaware of the treatment provided. Therefore, the defendant failed to prove either a factual basis or a medical rationale for its determination that the chiropractic treatment was unnecessary.
The defendant could have obtained the necessary information through verification and could have had Dr. Aordkian or any other qualified expert review the material and render an opinion{**30 Misc 3d at 243} regarding the medical necessity of the treatment rendered. State Farm did not do this.
For the foregoing reasons, the court finds for the plaintiff.
The clerk is ordered to enter judgment in favor of the plaintiff and against the defendant in the sum of $1,920.90 together with interest and legal fees in accordance with the No-Fault Law and regulations and costs and disbursements as taxed by the clerk.
Footnotes
Footnote *: Four defenses are not subject to the preclusion rule: (1) fraudulent incorporation (State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]); (2) lack of coverage (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195 [1997]); (3) staged accident (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., supra; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. v Massre, 14 AD3d 610 [2d Dept 2005]; V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 334 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2006]); and (4) exhaustion of coverage (Hospital for Joint Diseases v Hertz Corp., 22 AD3d 724 [2d Dept 2005]); Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 533 [2d Dept 2004]).
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's medical-necessity proof failed (conclusory, no factual basis or rationale, inadmissible, not credited)
Held after trial that the insurer failed to prove a factual basis or medical rationale for denying post-IME chiropractic treatment because its IME doctor never reviewed records of that later treatment or knew the claimant's condition then.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946)An insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 08038)The hospital's claim was premature because unrebutted proof showed that it ignored timely verification and follow-up requests.
- All County Open MRI & Diagn. Radiology P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50318(U))A peer review citing insufficient information cannot support denial without proof that the insurer sought that information through verification.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456)The providers obtained partial summary judgment because defective EUO requests and incomplete IME follow-up failed to toll denial time.
- AP Orthopedics & Rehabilitation, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20082)An insurer may prove that an injury was not ascertainable within one year of the accident through a claims examiner without medical expert testimony.
- Delta Med. Supplies, Inc. v NY Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50241(U))An insurer contesting medical necessity must show that the supplied equipment was inconsistent with generally accepted medical practices.
- CityWide Social Work & Psychological Servs. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24034)An insurer asserting lack of medical necessity must show that the billed services were inconsistent with generally accepted professional practice.
- Nir v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25090)The insurer failed to prove that EMG/NCV testing was medically unnecessary because its peer review lacked an adequate rationale.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416)Fraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
- V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26000)An insurer asserting a staged collision at trial need only rebut presumed coverage; the provider retains the burden of persuasion.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Hertz Corp. (2005 NY Slip Op 07932)An insurer's contractual duties cease once it has paid the policy's full monetary limits.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05413)The hospitals' first and fifth claims were dismissed because policy limits were exhausted and requested verification remained outstanding.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- All County, LLC v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50119(U)) FollowedAn IME cutoff supports summary judgment only if the report supplies a factual basis and medical rationale for finding the claimed services unnecessary.
- James J Kim, L, AC, PC v Allstate Ins Co (2022 NY Slip Op 50700(U)) FollowedAn IME finding that no further treatment is necessary does not conclusively establish that future treatment lacks medical necessity.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50387(U))The insurer's EUO request did not toll the denial period under the former regulations, and its fraud evidence raised no triable issue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.
- Sea Side Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26246)A verification follow-up sent only 28 days after the initial request does not preserve the insurer's time to pay or deny a claim.
- Tahir v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26149)Medicare noncompensability alone does not justify denial of a no-fault claim for sensory nerve conduction threshold testing.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v GEICO Ins. (2003 NY Slip Op 23949)A provider need not prove medical necessity at the claim stage or on a subsequent motion for summary judgment.