November 8, 2010
B.Y., M.D., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/b-y-m-d-p-c-v-american-tr-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op-51902u/
- Decided
- November 8, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U) · 29 Misc 3d 132(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Issues
- Priority, other coverage
- Legal questions
- Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at B.Y., M.D., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U))
| B.Y., M.D., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U) [29 Misc 3d 132(A)] |
| Decided on November 8, 2010 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MOLIA, J.P., TANENBAUM and LaCAVA, JJ
2009-2027 N C.
against
American Transit Insurance Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, Third District (Gary Franklin Knobel, J.), dated July 6, 2009. The order denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment and held defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint in abeyance pending plaintiffs’ submission of an amended complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, without costs, and plaintiffs’ motion and
defendant’s cross motion are remitted to the District Court to be held in abeyance pending a
prompt application to the Workers’ Compensation Board for a determination
of the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law. In the event plaintiffs fail to
file proof with the District Court of such application within 90 days of the date of the order
entered hereon, the District Court shall deny plaintiffs’ motion and grant defendant’s cross motion
dismissing the complaint unless plaintiffs show good cause why the complaint should not be
dismissed.
In this action by providers to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiffs moved for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion and cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that it had timely denied plaintiffs’ claims based upon the assignor’s eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits, and that there was an issue as to whether plaintiffs’ assignor was injured during the course of employment, thereby requiring that the matter be submitted to the Workers’ Compensation Board (Board). The District Court denied plaintiffs’ motion on the ground that plaintiffs’ complaint was insufficient pursuant to CPLR 3013 and 3014. The court ordered plaintiffs to submit an amended complaint, and held defendant’s cross motion in abeyance pending such resubmission. The instant appeal by plaintiffs ensued.
Defendant’s proof was sufficient to raise a question of fact as to whether plaintiffs’ assignor was acting as an employee at the time of the accident (cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v [*2]American Tr. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 848 [2009]), which issue must be resolved in the first instance by the Board (see O’Rourke v Long, 41 NY2d 219, 225 [1976]; Santigate v Linsalata, 304 AD2d 639, 640 [2003]; A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 75 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2009]). Accordingly, the order is reversed and plaintiffs’ motion and defendant’s cross motion are remitted to the District Court to be held in abeyance pending Board resolution. A prompt application to the Board, as set forth above, is required in order to determine the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
We note that, while the claims of the five plaintiffs were pleaded under one cause of action in the complaint, the specific claims and amounts sought to be recovered by the individual plaintiffs were stated separately as to each of the plaintiffs (see A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co., 2005 NY Slip Op 50785[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]).
Molia, J.P., Tanenbaum and LaCava, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: November 08, 2010
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?
This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits
Held the insurer's proof raised a question of fact whether the assignor was acting as an employee, which the Board must resolve first, and remitted both motions to be held in abeyance pending a prompt Board application with a 90-day clause.
Of the 69 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 33 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01979) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's timely verification request and ensuing timely denial defeated the provider's motion for summary judgment.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29271)The insurer's proof raised a factual question about the assignor's employment status that required Workers' Compensation Board resolution.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50785(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation and unsworn reports failed to raise a triable staged-collision issue without an excuse for inadmissibility.
Similar decisions
- B.Y., M.D., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2012 NY Slip Op 50156(U))The insurer's proof raised a factual question about the assignor's employment status that required Workers' Compensation Board resolution.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51263(U))The insurer's workers' compensation defense was precluded for three claims denied after the 30-day determination period.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50959(U))The insurer failed to show potential merit in its workers' compensation defense sufficient to warrant Workers' Compensation Board review.
- D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U))The insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.