February 22, 2011
Westchester Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 01458)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/westchester-med-ctr-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2011-ny-slip-op01458/
- Decided
- February 22, 2011
- Citation
- 2011 NY Slip Op 01458 · 81 AD3d 929
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Westchester Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 01458)
| Westchester Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. |
| 2011 NY Slip Op 01458 [81 AD3d 929] |
| February 22, 2011 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| Westchester Medical Center, as Assignee of Robert Hostetter,
Appellant, v New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Respondent. |
—[*1] Joseph Henig, P.C., Bellmore, N.Y., for appellant.
Lawrence N. Rogak, LLC, Oceanside, N.Y. (David A. Gierasch of counsel), for respondent.
In an action to recover no-fault medical payments under an insurance contract, the plaintiff appeals from an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Parga, J.), dated August 3, 2010, which denied its motion for summary judgment on the complaint and granted the defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Ordered that the order is reversed, on the law, with costs, the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on the complaint is granted, and the defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
The plaintiff made a prima facie showing that it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law on its complaint to recover no-fault insurance medical payments by submitting evidence that the prescribed statutory billing form had been mailed and received by the defendant and that the defendant had failed to either pay or deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.5; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045, 1045-1046 [2009]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 51 AD3d 1014, 1017 [2008]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Selective Ins. Co. of Am., 43 AD3d 1019, 1020 [2007]).
In opposition to the plaintiff’s motion, the defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact as to whether it timely denied the plaintiff’s claim. The defendant’s denial of claim form NF-10 dated December 18, 2009, was fatally defective because it omitted several material items of information (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123, 1124 [2008]; Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 564, 565 [2005]; Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664, 665 [2004]). The defendant also failed to submit sufficient evidence that it mailed the second denial of claim form NF-10 bearing the date December 31, 2009, to establish compliance with the 30-day period (see Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 564 [2005]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374, 375 [2001]). Thus, the defendant also failed to make a prima facie showing that it timely denied the claim in support of its cross motion for summary judgment [*2]dismissing the complaint.
Failure to establish timely denial of the claim results in preclusion of the defense that the intoxication of the insured was a contributing cause of the accident and subject to exclusion under the policy (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 286 [1997]). Accordingly, the Supreme Court should have granted the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on the complaint and should have denied the defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Angiolillo, J.P., Belen, Chambers and Roman, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer failed to submit sufficient evidence that it mailed its second denial form within the 30-day period, so it raised no triable issue on timely denial.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the hospital made its prima facie showing by evidence that the billing form was mailed and received and that the insurer failed to pay or deny within 30 days.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589)The insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04867)An insurer invoking the intoxication exclusion must establish that intoxication proximately caused the accident to obtain summary judgment.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Selective Ins. Co. of Am. (2007 NY Slip Op 06848)The insurer's conclusory medical affidavit failed to raise a factual issue that the treated condition was unrelated to the automobile accident.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235)The insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07663)A timely but fatally defective denial cannot be cured by supplying omitted information after the 30-day denial period expires.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52383(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's EUO defense was precluded because its earlier denial preceded these claims and mailing of later denials was unproved.
- NYU Hosp. for Joint Diseases v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04219) FollowedThe insurer's denial was fatally defective because it omitted required information and named the assignor as the benefits applicant.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Beach Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. (2026 NY Slip Op 03771) FollowedThe insurer failed to raise a triable issue on timely denials or causation in its action for de novo review of no-fault claims.
- Nyack Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 04644)An insurer's untimely denial precludes a policy exclusion defense based on the assignor's allegedly intentional self-injury.
- Mount Sinai Hosp. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 05679)The insurer raised a triable issue as to whether it issued a denial of claim form to the hospital.
Similar decisions
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2014 NY Slip Op 05325)The insurer raised a triable issue whether its intoxication-based denial was timely and proper after receipt of additional verification.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 09786)The insurer raised a triable issue whether it timely and properly denied a claim based on alleged intoxication after receiving verification.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 07331)The insurer's intoxication defense failed because its evidence did not connect the assignor's alleged intoxication to the injuries.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v AIU Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 06014)A resubmitted no-fault claim previously and timely denied is not subject to a new 30-day payment-or-denial period.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 06865)The provider's claim was premature because the insurer timely requested intoxication verification that it never received.