January 24, 2012
Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50170(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/elmont-open-mri-diagnostic-radiology-p-c-v-tri-state-ins-co-2012-ny-slipop-50170u/
- Decided
- January 24, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 50170(U) · 34 Misc 3d 147(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50170(U))
| Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 50170(U) [34 Misc 3d 147(A)] |
| Decided on January 24, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MOLIA, J.P., NICOLAI and IANNACCI, JJ
2011-128 N C.
against
Tri-State Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, First District (Michael A. Ciaffa, J.), dated August 10, 2010. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, without costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order denying its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
The affidavits proffered by defendant in support of its motion for summary judgment were sufficient to demonstrate that defendant had timely denied the claims (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) on the ground of lack of medical necessity. Defendant also submitted, among other things, a peer review report which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the conclusion that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services at issue. Contrary to the determination of the District Court, defendant did not need to annex the medical records examined by the peer review doctor (see Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 30 Misc 3d 126[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 52222[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2010]; Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 140[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50987[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]). Consequently, defendant established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment (see Dynamic Med. Imaging, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 139[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 52062[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2010]; Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 136[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50829[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2010]).
As plaintiff failed to rebut defendant’s prima facie showing, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted (see Speciality Surgical Servs. v Travelers Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 134[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50715[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud [*2]Dists 2010]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
Molia, J.P., Nicolai and Iannacci, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: January 24, 2012
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the peer review set forth a factual basis and medical rationale, the insurer did not have to annex the records the reviewer examined, and the provider failed to rebut it, so the insurer won summary judgment.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavits sufficient to demonstrate that it timely denied the claims on the ground of lack of medical necessity.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52222(U)) FollowedA peer reviewer may assume the truth of treatment records to assess medical necessity without using those records for a hearsay purpose.
- Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50987(U)) FollowedThe insurer established premature claims for unanswered verification and lack of medical necessity for the remaining claims.
- Dynamic Med. Imaging, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52062(U)) FollowedThe insurer's chiropractor supplied a sufficient medical rationale and factual basis for finding the services medically unnecessary.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50829(U)) FollowedThe insurer's affirmed peer reviews raised a triable issue of medical necessity and defeated the provider's summary judgment motion.
- Speciality Surgical Servs. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50715(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted medical testimony and affirmed peer review report established that the services were not medically necessary.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
Similar decisions
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Tri State Consumer Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50079(U))The provider failed to submit medical evidence raising a triable issue in response to the insurer's sufficient medical-necessity peer review.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52061(U))The insurer's affirmed peer review established lack of medical necessity, and the provider failed to raise a triable medical issue.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52223(U))A peer review may assume medical-record facts are true to assess necessity without using the records for a hearsay purpose.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51185(U))A medical necessity denial must state the factual basis and medical rationale with sufficient particularity, even when timely issued.
- All County Open MRI & Diagn. Radiology P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50318(U))A peer review citing insufficient information cannot support denial without proof that the insurer sought that information through verification.