June 28, 2012
Olga Bard Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51292(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/olga-bard-acupuncture-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op51292u/
- Decided
- June 28, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 51292(U) · 36 Misc 3d 131(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Fee schedule
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Olga Bard Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51292(U))
| Olga Bard Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 51292(U) [36 Misc 3d 131(A)] |
| Decided on June 28, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON, J.P., PESCE and ALIOTTA, JJ
2010-2963 K C
against
GEICO Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), entered June 8, 2009. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon plaintiff’s first through third causes of action as to claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811, and denied the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second and third causes of action and so much of plaintiff’s first cause of action as sought to recover for claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, without costs, the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon plaintiff’s first through third causes of action as to claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811 are denied, and the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second and third [*2]causes of action and so much of plaintiff’s first cause of action as sought to recover for claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811 are granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as granted the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon plaintiff’s first through third causes of action as to claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811, and denied the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second and third causes of action and so much of plaintiff’s first cause of action as sought to recover for claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811.
The affidavits submitted by defendant in support of its cross motion were sufficient to establish that defendant had timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) plaintiff’s claims at issue, based upon the workers’ compensation fee schedule, and that defendant had fully paid plaintiff for the claims for acupuncture services billed under CPT codes 97810 and 97811, in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon plaintiff’s first through third causes of action as to claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811 are denied, and the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second and third causes of action and so much of plaintiff’s first cause of action as sought to recover for claims bearing CPT codes 97810 and 97811 are granted.
Weston, J.P., Pesce and Aliotta, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: June 28, 2012
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the insurer's affidavits established that it fully paid the CPT 97810 and 97811 acupuncture claims in accordance with the workers' compensation fee schedule, so those claims were dismissed.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 146 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavits sufficed to establish timely denial of the fee-schedule claims, a mailing finding supported by standard-practice authority.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
Similar decisions
- Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51863(U))The insurer established full payment under the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule for services billed under CPT codes 97813 and 97814.
- Acupuncture Now, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51643(U))The insurer established full payment of CPT codes 97810 and 97811 under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors' acupuncture.
- Megacure Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51291(U))The insurer proved full fee-schedule payment for earlier acupuncture services and lack of medical necessity for later services.
- Live In Grace Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51360(U))The insurer established full fee-schedule payment for acupuncture services billed under CPT codes 97813 and 97814.
- RAZ Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51826(U))The insurer established that it had fully paid the disputed acupuncture claims under the workers' compensation fee schedule.