• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
June 19, 2015

Interboro Ins. Co. v Tahir (2015 NY Slip Op 05378)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/interboro-ins-co-v-tahir-2015-ny-slip-op-05378/

Court
Appellate Division, Fourth Department
Decided
June 19, 2015
Citation
2015 NY Slip Op 05378 · 129 AD3d 1687
Posture
Default or vacatur
Outcome
Split result
Later treatment
Distinguished in 1 and followed in 1 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Jurisdiction and service Defaults and vacatur Timeliness and preclusion
Cite as
Interboro Ins. Co. v Tahir, 129 AD3d 1687 (4th Dept 2015)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer's default motion was granted on appeal only against the corporate provider, given deficient service on the other two defendants. In this no-fault declaratory action, the insurer proved breach of the policy's timely accident-notice condition and defaults, satisfying those elements of CPLR 3215 (f). Delivery to the corporation's authorized agent satisfied CPLR 311 (a) (1). The injured claimant's nail-and-mail service lacked due diligence under CPLR 308 (4), and service on the LLC provider lacked strict compliance with Limited Liability Company Law § 304 (e)'s filing requirements. The Appellate Division, Fourth Department, modified the order and judgment to grant a default against the corporate provider and otherwise affirmed, leaving denial intact for the claimant and LLC provider.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Interboro Ins. Co. v Tahir (2015 NY Slip Op 05378)

Interboro Ins. Co. v Tahir
2015 NY Slip Op 05378 [129 AD3d 1687]
June 19, 2015
Appellate Division, Fourth Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 5, 2015

[*1]

  Interboro Insurance Company, Appellant, v Fatima Tahir et al., Defendants, and Bushra Naz et al., Respondents.

Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C., Garden City (Jason Tenenbaum of counsel), for plaintiff-appellant.

Appeal from an order and judgment (one paper) of the Supreme Court, Onondaga County (Deborah H. Karalunas, J.), entered April 24, 2014. The order and judgment, among other things, denied that part of plaintiff’s motion for leave to enter a default judgment against defendants Bushra Naz, Cliffside Park Imaging & Diagnostic Center and Kimba Medical Supply, LLC.

It is hereby ordered that the order and judgment so appealed from is unanimously modified on the law by granting that part of the motion for leave to enter a default judgment against defendant Cliffside Park Imaging & Diagnostic Center and as modified the order and judgment is affirmed without costs.

Memorandum: Plaintiff appeals from an order and judgment that, inter alia, denied its motion pursuant to CPLR 3215 for leave to enter a default judgment against defendants Bushra Naz, Cliffside Park Imaging & Diagnostic Center (Cliffside), and Kimba Medical Supply, LLC (Kimba). Defendants Naz and Fatima Tahir made claims for no-fault benefits arising from injuries they allegedly sustained in an automobile accident covered by an insurance policy issued to plaintiff’s policyholder. Naz and Tahir assigned their rights to collect no-fault benefits to certain medical providers, including Cliffside and Kimba, each of which made claims for services rendered to Naz and Tahir as a result of the alleged accident. Plaintiff disclaimed coverage based on the failure of Naz and Tahir to provide timely written notice of the accident pursuant to the insurance policy, and thereafter commenced this action seeking a declaration that there is no coverage. Plaintiff subsequently moved for leave to enter a default judgment against each defendant on the ground that the summons and verified complaint had been properly served and defendants did not timely serve an answer or otherwise appear in the action. Supreme Court denied the motion with respect to Naz, Cliffside, and Kimba, and otherwise granted the motion.

“On a motion for leave to enter a default judgment pursuant to CPLR 3215, the movant is required to submit proof of service of the summons and complaint, proof of the facts constituting its claim, and proof of the defaulting party’s default in answering or appearing” (Atlantic Cas. Ins. Co. v RJNJ Servs., Inc., 89 AD3d 649, 651 [2011]; see CPLR 3215 [f]). Here, plaintiff submitted sufficient proof of the facts constituting its claim through the affidavit of a claims representative establishing that Tahir and Naz failed to satisfy the notice requirement of the insurance policy, which constitutes a failure to comply with a condition precedent and vitiates the contract as a matter of law (see generally New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 17 NY3d 586, 592-593 [2011]; Great Canal Realty Corp. v Seneca Ins. Co., Inc., 5 NY3d 742, 743 [2005]; Matter of Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. [Heath], 41 AD3d 1321, 1322 [2007]). Plaintiff also submitted proof of default in the form of “an affirmation from its attorney regarding . . . defendant[s’] default in appearing and answering” (599 Ralph Ave. Dev., LLC v 799 Sterling Inc., 34 AD3d 726, 726 [2006]).

[*2] We further conclude, however, that plaintiff submitted sufficient proof of service of process, the remaining required element of proof, only with respect to Cliffside, a corporation, and thus the court erred in denying plaintiff’s motion to that extent. We therefore modify the order and judgment accordingly. Pursuant to CPLR 311 (a), “personal service on a corporation may be accomplished by, inter alia, delivering the summons ‘to an officer, director, managing or general agent, or cashier or assistant cashier or to any other agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive service’ ” (Rosario v NES Med. Servs. of N.Y., P.C., 105 AD3d 831, 832 [2013]). Here, “[t]he process server’s affidavit, which stated that the corporate defendant was personally served by delivering a copy of the summons and complaint to its ‘[authorized] agent’ and provided a description of that person, constituted prima facie evidence of proper service pursuant to CPLR 311 (a) (1)” (McIntyre v Emanuel Church of God In Christ, Inc., 37 AD3d 562, 562 [2007]; see Miterko v Peaslee, 80 AD3d 736, 737 [2011]; see generally Halas v Dick’s Sporting Goods, 105 AD3d 1411, 1413-1414 [2013]).

Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the court properly denied its motion with respect to Naz, who was allegedly served by the “nail and mail” method of service. CPLR 308 (4) allows that method of service only “when service pursuant to CPLR 308 (1) and (2) cannot be made with due diligence” (Austin v Tri-County Mem. Hosp., 39 AD3d 1223, 1224 [2007]) and, although a process server’s affidavit of service ordinarily constitutes prima facie evidence of proper service, here the process server’s affidavit submitted by plaintiff fails to demonstrate the requisite due diligence (see D’Alesandro v Many, 137 AD2d 484, 484 [1988]; see generally Matter of El Greco Socy. of Visual Arts, Inc. v Diamantidis, 47 AD3d 929, 929-930 [2008]). The affidavit failed to indicate whether there was an attempt to effectuate service at Naz’s actual “dwelling place or usual place of abode” (CPLR 308 [4]), and there is no indication that the process server made genuine inquiries to ascertain Naz’s actual residence or place of employment (see Prudence v Wright, 94 AD3d 1073, 1074 [2012]; Earle v Valente, 302 AD2d 353, 353-354 [2003]).

We also reject plaintiff’s contention that the court erred in denying its motion with respect to Kimba, a limited liability company. Plaintiff alleged that Kimba was served pursuant to Limited Liability Company Law § 304. That statute is substantively identical to Business Corporation Law § 307, and both statutes apply to foreign business entities not authorized to do business in New York. We conclude that, just as strict compliance with the procedures set forth in Business Corporation Law § 307 is required pursuant to Flick v Stewart-Warner Corp. (76 NY2d 50, 54-55, 57 [1990], rearg denied 76 NY2d 846 [1990]), strict compliance is likewise required for the procedures set forth in Limited Liability Company Law § 304 (see Elzofri v American Express Co., 29 Misc 3d 898, 901 [2010]). Here, plaintiff failed to establish that it strictly complied with the filing requirements of Limited Liability Company Law § 304 (e). Present—Smith, J.P., Peradotto, Carni, Valentino and Whalen, JJ.

Cited in this decision

  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 07149)A timely proof of claim does not satisfy the 30-day accident-notice requirement when submitted after that period expires.
  • Matter of Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (Heath) (2007 NY Slip Op 05091)The insurer's payment of no-fault benefits did not establish waiver of the notice requirements governing the injured claimant's UM claim.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v Jamaica Wellness Med., P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 07850) DistinguishedAn EUO nonappearance defense is subject to preclusion when the insurer fails to issue a timely denial.
  • Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Surgery Ctr. of Oradell, LLC (2017 NY Slip Op 06065) FollowedThe insurer's default judgment motion failed because it did not timely file the required affidavit of compliance and return receipt.

Similar decisions

  • Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Excel Prods., Inc. (2019 NY Slip Op 02569)The provider's conclusory denial of receiving process failed to support vacatur of the insurers' default declaratory judgment.
  • Global Liberty Ins. Co. v W. Joseph Gorum, M.D., P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 06680)The insurer's affirmed peer review supported a default judgment despite lacking an original signature.
  • IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. v Stracar Med. Servs., P.C. (2014 NY Slip Op 02902)The providers' unexcused EUO nonappearances materially breached a condition precedent to indemnity and warranted summary judgment for the insurer.
  • Jennings v Metropolitan Transp. Auth. (2024 NY Slip Op 01801)The injured claimant's no-fault claim was dismissed for untimely notice to the self-insurers without a clear and reasonable justification.
  • Hertz Vehicles, LLC v Best Touch PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 04854)The insurer failed to prove timely EUO requests for default relief against providers but established one claimant's failure to sign an EUO. The motion omitted receipt dates for the providers' verification forms and another claimant's application, preventing assessment of the 15-business-day deadline under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (a) and (b).
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.