December 19, 2017
Healthway Med. Care, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2017 NY Slip Op 51807(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/healthway-med-care-p-c-v-global-liberty-ins-2017-ny-slip-op51807u/
- Decided
- December 19, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51807(U) · 58 Misc 3d 135(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Healthway Med. Care, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2017 NY Slip Op 51807(U))
| Healthway Med. Care, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51807(U) [58 Misc 3d 135(A)] |
| Decided on December 19, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on December 19, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M.
SOLOMON, JJ
2015-516 Q C
against
Global Liberty Insurance, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C., for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Jodi Orlow, J.), entered February 5, 2015. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the third through tenth causes of action and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing those causes of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through tenth causes of action are denied; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from so much of an order as denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the third through tenth causes of action and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing those causes of action.
With respect to the third cause of action, plaintiff correctly argues that defendant failed to establish its defense that the fees charged exceeded the amounts set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co., 23 Misc 3d 132[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50732[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Therefore, [*2]defendant is not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the third cause of action.
With respect to the fourth through tenth causes of action, plaintiff correctly argues that defendant failed to establish that the initial and follow-up letters scheduling independent medical examinations (IMEs) had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). As a result, defendant failed to demonstrate that the IMEs had been properly scheduled and, thus, that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 722 [2006]). Consequently, defendant is not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the fourth through tenth causes of action.
However, plaintiff is not entitled to summary judgment on these causes of action, as plaintiff failed to establish that the claims at issue had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued timely denials of these claims that were conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the third through tenth causes of action are denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 19, 2017
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider failed its prima facie burden because it did not show the claims had not been timely denied or that timely denials were conclusory, vague or without merit.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer failed to establish that the initial and follow-up IME scheduling letters had been timely mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the IME no-show defense unproved because, without proof the scheduling letters were timely mailed, the insurer could not show the IMEs were duly scheduled.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial
Held the insurer failed to establish its defense that the fees charged on the third cause of action exceeded the fee schedule, so its summary judgment motion was denied.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 85 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50732(U)) FollowedThe insurer's peer review report was not competent evidence, and its fee-schedule proof was insufficient.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Sama Physical Therapy, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2017 NY Slip Op 51736(U))The insurer failed to prove timely IME notices, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to judgment on its claims.
- Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51239(U))The provider's mailing affidavit raised a factual issue over receipt of verification, and the insurer failed to prove fee-schedule payment.
- Compas Med., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51228(U))The insurer failed to establish a timely denial of the fourth claim but proved full fee-schedule payment of the first and fifth claims.
- Compas Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50307(U))The insurer failed to establish IME nonappearance, excessive fees, duplicate billing, or nonreceipt, and timely claim submission remained disputed.
- Healthway Med. Care, P.C. v American Commerce Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50733(U))The insurer's EUO requests were nullities because its initial request was sent more than 30 days after receipt of the claims.