• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
November 9, 2018

Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51590(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/active-care-med-supply-corp-v-hartford-ins-co-2018-ny-slip-op51590u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
November 9, 2018
Citation
2018 NY Slip Op 51590(U) · 61 Misc 3d 139(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Priority, other coverage
Cite as
Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Hartford Ins. Co., 61 Misc 3d 139(A), 2018 NY Slip Op 51590(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer's summary judgment on lack of no-fault coverage because of a workers' compensation award was affirmed. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order granting the insurer's motion and denying the provider's cross motion for the reasons stated in the companion appeal decided the same day, No. 2016-189 K C. The award concerned the assignor's injuries from the accident underlying the claims.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51590(U))

[*1]
Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Hartford Ins. Co.
2018 NY Slip Op 51590(U) [61 Misc 3d 139(A)]
Decided on November 9, 2018
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on November 9, 2018

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, DAVID ELLIOT, JJ
2016-158 K C
Active Care Medical Supply Corp., as Assignee of Aquino, Gertrudis, Appellant,

against

Hartford Insurance Company, Respondent.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. The Law Office of Tobias & Kuhn (Marisa Villeda of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Richard J. Montelione, J.), entered December 17, 2015. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment. The court found that defendant had established that there was no coverage for no-fault benefits because defendant had demonstrated that the Workers’ Compensation Board had awarded workers’ compensation benefits to plaintiff’s assignor for injuries she had sustained in the accident which gave rise to the claims at issue.

For the reasons stated in Active Care Med. Supply Corp., as Assignee of Holland, Monique v Hartford Ins. Co. (__ Misc 3d ___, 2018 NY Slip Op _____ [appeal No. 2016-189 K C], decided herewith), the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 09, 2018

Similar decisions

  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50825(U))The insurer's motion for summary judgment dismissing the provider's complaint for assigned no-fault benefits was granted.
  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC, Inc. (2018 NY Slip Op 50826(U))The self-insurer established timely mailing of its denial, and the provider's remaining argument was raised for the first time on appeal.
  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51902(U))The insurer's summary judgment dismissal for the provider's EUO nonappearance was affirmed.
  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 52058(U))MVAIC's summary judgment motion based on outstanding verification was denied, and the provider's cross motion for summary judgment was granted.
  • Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Global Liberty Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50257(U))The insurer obtained a new trial because the assignor's certified EUO transcript should have been considered on workers' compensation.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.