May 10, 2019
BQE Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50743(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/bqe-acupuncture-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2019-ny-slip-op-50743u/
- Decided
- May 10, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 50743(U) · 63 Misc 3d 151(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at BQE Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50743(U))
| BQE Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. |
| 2019 NY Slip Op 50743(U) [63 Misc 3d 151(A)] |
| Decided on May 10, 2019 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on May 10, 2019
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, DAVID ELLIOT, JJ
2016-2885 K C
against
GEICO Ins. Co., Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. The Law Office of Printz & Goldstein (Lawrence J. Chanice of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Richard J. Montelione, J.), entered August 31, 2016. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, arguing that it had properly used the workers’ compensation fee schedule applicable to chiropractors who render the same services as acupuncturists to reimburse plaintiff for the acupuncture services plaintiff had rendered. Plaintiff opposed the motion. The Civil Court granted defendant’s motion.
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the proof submitted by defendant in support of its motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the denial of claims forms had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Defendant further demonstrated that it had fully paid plaintiff for the services at issue in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors (see Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Consequently, defendant established its entitlement to judgment as a matter of law.
We note that plaintiff’s remaining contention is not properly before this court, as this argument is being raised for the first time on appeal, and we decline to consider it (see Joe v Upper Room Ministries, Inc., 88 AD3d 963 [2011]; Gulf Ins. Co. v Kanen, 13 AD3d 579 [2004]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: May 10, 2019
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the insurer fully paid the acupuncture services at the chiropractor acupuncture rate of the workers' compensation fee schedule, entitling it to dismissal.
Of the 285 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 147 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejected the provider's contention and held the insurer's proof sufficient to raise a presumption that the denial of claim forms had been timely mailed.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
Similar decisions
- BQE Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51260(U))An insurer may use the workers' compensation fee schedule for acupuncture by chiropractors to reimburse a licensed acupuncturist.
- Acupuncture Now, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51643(U))The insurer established full payment of CPT codes 97810 and 97811 under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors' acupuncture.
- Health Needles Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51864(U))The insurer established full payment for the disputed acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors.
- Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51337(U))The insurer established full payment of acupuncture claims under the workers' compensation fee schedule for services performed by chiropractors.
- Ying E. Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51805(U))The insurer established timely denials and proper use of the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule, defeating the provider's summary judgment.