November 1, 2019
Acupuncture Now, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 51796(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/acupuncture-now-p-c-v-global-liberty-ins-2019-ny-slip-op-51796u/
- Decided
- November 1, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 51796(U) · 65 Misc 3d 146(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Fee schedule
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Acupuncture Now, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 51796(U))
| Acupuncture Now, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. |
| 2019 NY Slip Op 51796(U) [65 Misc 3d 146(A)] |
| Decided on November 1, 2019 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 1, 2019
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-962 K C
against
Global Liberty Insurance, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Jason Tenenbaum of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Harriet L. Thompson, J.), entered February 22, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from and as limited by the brief, denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
The proof submitted by defendant in support of its cross motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the denial of claim forms at issue had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Defendant also demonstrated that it had fully paid plaintiff for the services at issue in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors (see Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition.
In view of the foregoing, we reach no other issue.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 01, 2019
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the insurer showed it fully paid the acupuncture services at the chiropractor acupuncture fee schedule rate, and the provider raised no triable issue.
Of the 285 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 147 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's proof sufficient to give rise to a presumption that its fee schedule denials were timely mailed.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
Cited by
- Balance Art Acupuncture P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 22061)MVAIC established proper payment at chiropractic acupuncture rates, and the provider failed to show that physician rates should apply.
Similar decisions
- Acupuncture Now, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51643(U))The insurer established full payment of CPT codes 97810 and 97811 under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors' acupuncture.
- GL Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51698(U))The insurer established timely denial and full payment under the fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors.
- Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51337(U))The insurer established full payment of acupuncture claims under the workers' compensation fee schedule for services performed by chiropractors.
- Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51863(U))The insurer established full payment under the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule for services billed under CPT codes 97813 and 97814.
- BQE Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50743(U))The insurer established full payment for acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule applicable to chiropractors.