September 17, 2021
Heavenly Points Acupuncture v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50895(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/heavenly-points-acupuncture-v-integon-natl-ins-co-2021-ny-slip-op50895u/
- Judge
- Wendy Changyong Li, J.
- Decided
- September 17, 2021
- Citation
- 2021 NY Slip Op 50895(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Heavenly Points Acupuncture v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50895(U))
Heavenly Points
Acupuncture A/A/O ALLEN, Plaintiff(s),
against Integon National Insurance Company, Defendant(s). HEAVENLY POINTS ACUPUNCTURE A/A/O ALLEN, Plaintiff(s), against INTEGON NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant(s). |
Index No. CV-723275-19/QU
Plaintiff’s counsel:
Mandell & Santora PC
29 Broadway
Lynbrook, NY 11563
Defendant’s counsel:
Rosillo & Licata LLP 355
Post Avenue, Suite 204
Westbury, NY 11590
I. Papers
The following papers were read on Defendant’s motions for summary judgment dismissing Plaintiff’s complaint in each action:Papers/Numbered
Defendant’s Notice of Motion and Affirmation in Support for summary judgment dismissing Plaintiff’s complaint under index number CV-723275-19/QU dated February 10, 2020 (“Motion 1“) and file stamped by the court on February 13, 2020. 1
Plaintiff’s Affirmation in Opposition under index number CV-723275-19/QU dated May 19, 2020 (“Opposition 1“) and electronically filed with the court on May 20, 2020. 2
Defendant’s Reply Affirmation under index number CV-723275-19/QU dated April 27, 2021 (“Reply 1“) and electronically filed with the court on May 12, 2021. 3
Defendant’s Notice of Motion and Affirmation in Support for summary judgment dismissing Plaintiff’s complaint under index number CV-723253-19/QU dated February 10, 2020 (“Motion 2“, together with Motion 1, the “Motions“) and file stamped by the court on February 13, 2020. 4
Plaintiff’s Affirmation in Opposition under index number CV-723253-19/QU dated May 19, 2020 (“Opposition 2“) and electronically filed with the court on May 20, 2020. 5
Defendant’s Reply Affirmation under index number CV-723253-19/QU dated April 27, 2021 (“Reply 2“) and electronically filed with the court on May 12, 2021. 6
II. BackgroundIn a summons and complaint under index number CV-723275-19/QU filed on October 31, 2019, Plaintiff sued Defendant insurance company to recover $1,110.36 in unpaid first party No-Fault benefits for medical services provided to Plaintiff’s assignor Allen from June 29, 2019 to July 18, 2019, plus attorneys’ fees and statutory interest (see Motion 1, Aff. of Scozzari, Ex. A). In a summons and complaint under index number CV-723253-19/QU filed on October 31, 2019, Plaintiff sued Defendant to recover $970.96 in unpaid first party No-Fault benefits for medical services provided to Allen from August 14, 2019 to August 30, 2019 (see Motion 2, Aff. of Scozzari, Ex. A). In both actions, Defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing Plaintiff’s complaints on the ground that the services Plaintiff rendered to Allen were not medically necessary. Plaintiff opposed Defendant’s Motions. An oral argument by both parties was conducted before this Court on September 1, 2021. Both parties agreed that the arguments in both actions were identical except for the dates of service and the respective amounts claimed. For judicial efficiency, this Court decides both motions together because they raise identical issues of law within a virtually identical factual background.
III. Decision
Insurers must pay or deny No-Fault benefit claims within thirty (30) days of receipt of proof of the claim (Insurance Law § 5106[a]; 11 NYCRR § 65-3.8[c]; Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498, 501 [2015]; Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d 556, 563 [2008]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312, 317 [2007]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of NY v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997]). Failure to establish timely denial of claim precludes insurer from offering evidence of its defense to non-payment (Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d at 506; Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d at 563; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d at 318; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of NY v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d at 281-86). Here, the affidavits of Defendant’s No-Fault examiner Dougert sworn February 6, 2020, which were appended to the Motions, establishing Defendant’s regular office mailing procedures showed Defendant timely denied Plaintiff’s claim (Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George, 183 AD3d 755, 757 [2d Dept 2020]; see Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Infinite Ortho Prods, Inc., 127 AD3d 1050, 1051 [2d Dept 2015]).
CPLR 3212 provides that “a motion for summary judgment shall be supported by affidavit, by a copy of the pleadings and by other available proof, such as depositions and written admissions” (CPLR 3212[b]). “Mere conclusions, expressions of hope or unsubstantiated allegations or assertions are insufficient” (Zuckerman v. City of New York, 49 NY2d 557, 562 [1980]). “A defendant moving for summary judgment [seeking an order dismissing plaintiff’s complaint] has the initial burden of coming forward with admissible evidence, such as affidavits by persons having knowledge of the facts, reciting the material facts and showing that the cause of action has no merit” (GTF Mktg. v Colonial Aluminum Sales, 66 NY2d 965, 967 [1985]; Anghel v Ruskin Moscou Faltischek, P.C., 190 AD3d 906, 907 [2d Dept 2021], see Jacobsen v. New York City Health & Hosps. Corp., 22 NY3d 824, 833 [2014]). A motion for summary judgment “shall be granted if, upon all the papers and proof submitted, the cause of action or defense shall be established sufficiently to warrant the court as a matter of law in directing judgment in favor of any party” (CPLR 3212[b]; Zuckerman v. City of New York, at 562, see GTF Mktg. v Colonial Aluminum Sales, 66 NY2d at 968).
In our instant matters, Defendant based its denials of Plaintiff’s claims on lack of medical necessity. Defendant presented the sworn peer review report of Dr. T. McLaughlin, an acupuncturist and chiropractor, who reviewed Allen’s chiropractic examination report, pain fiber nerve conduction study, initial physical examination report, physical therapy progress notes, and physical therapy prescription from March 2019 (see Motions, Scozzari Aff., Ex. B). Dr. McLaughlin also performed a physical examination of Allen on April 30, 2019, in which he specified the tests he performed. Dr. McLaughlin tested Allen’s range of motion in the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine and the upper and lower extremities which revealed normal ranges of motion as compared to the maximum range and no other abnormalities. Dr. McLaughlin’s evaluation of Allen under traditional Chinese medicine also revealed normal findings. Here, Dr. McLaughlin’s report established lack of medical necessity for the services Plaintiff provided (Jaga Med. Servs., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 56 Misc 3d 134[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50954[U] *1 [App Term 2d Dept 2017]; Westcan Chiropractic, P.C. v Hertz Claim Mgt., 48 Misc 3d 133[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51066 * 1 [App Term 2d Dept 2015]; Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, [*2]P.C. v Great N. Ins. Co., 47 Misc 3d 143[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50680 *1 [App Term 2d Dept 2015]; Ayoob Khodadadi, M.D., MRI, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., 37 Misc 3d 130[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 51968 * 1 [App Term 2d Dept 2012]).
In opposition, Plaintiff presented an affidavit dated May 4, 2020, in which Winslow, LA, who treated Allen, attested that she “reviewed the IME Report of Dorothy McLaughlin, DC, dated April 30, 2019.” (Opposition 1 and Opposition 2, Aff. of Nof, Ex. A at 1). Initially, this Court assumes that the reference to “Dorothy McLaughlin” in Winslow’s report was a typographical error. Based on review of medical records and treatment notes, Winslow attested that Allen had “reduced range of motion, continued complaints of pain and weakness, and reduced muscle strength, and continued complaints of tenderness and spasm,” (Id.) which indicated that Allen required further treatment. Winslow also attested that her treatment notes contradicted Dr. McLaughlin’s opinion, and concluded that additional physical therapy after the IME was medically necessary. Winslow’s affidavit “did not meaningly refer to, or discuss” Dr. McLaughlin’s report, so is insufficient to raise factual issues regarding medical necessity of the services Plaintiff provided (Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 137[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50884[U] *2 [App Term 2d Dept 2010]; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] *2 [App Term 2d Dept 2009]). Similarly, Winslow’s statement that her treatment notes contradicted Dr. McLaughlin’s opinion was conclusory (Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 2010 NY Slip Op 50884 *2; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] *2), particularly since Plaintiff did not present the notes to which she referred.
It is well established that “expert’s affidavit must contain four elements: (1) the expert’s qualification; (2) the facts underlying the expert’s opinion; (3) the technical, scientific or other authoritative basis supporting the opinion; and (4) the opinion itself” (Avoiding the Conclusory When Preparing Experts’ Affidavits, Feb. 27, 2015 N.Y.L.J.) and that conclusory opinions in expert affidavits lack probative value (Sparks v Detterline, 86 AD3d 601, 602 [2d Dept 2011]; Borras v Lewis, 79 AD3d 1084, 1085 [2d Dept 2010]). Once a moving party establishes its prima facie case in a motion for summary judgment, the burden then shifts to the non-moving party to defeat moving party’s showing (De Lourdes Torres v Jones, 26 NY3d 742, 763 [2016]; Hutchinson v Sheridan Hill House Corp., 26 NY3d 66, 79 [2015]). Here, in our instant matters, Defendant’s expert applied various facts, i.e., Allen’s medical history and current complaint, experts’ physical examination on Allen, Allen’s range of motion and Allen’s medical condition at cervical spine, upper extremities, thoracic, lower extremities and lumbar, to western modern medical science, technology and cited authorities, as well as to traditional Chinese medicine, and had come to a conclusion that Allen’s treatment was not medically necessary. On the contrary, Plaintiff’s expert omitted the requirements of an expert’s affidavit, i.e., the underlying facts and the scientific basis upon which her opinion relied, but simply stated a conclusion/an opinion that Allen’s treatment by her was medically necessary. Here, Plaintiff’s expert affidavit failed to sufficiently rebut Defendant’s expert affidavit, and thus failed to defeat Defendant’s prima facie showing.
This Court finds that Defendant has presented prima facie admissible evidence proving that there is no material issue of fact, that the controversy regarding Plaintiff’s claims in both actions can be decided as a matter of law (CPLR 3212 [b]; Jacobsen v New York City Health and Hosps. Corp., 22 NY3d 824 [2014]; Brill v City of New York, 2 NY3d 648 [2004]), that Plaintiff has failed to raise factual issues requiring a trial (Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. [*3]Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 2010 NY Slip Op 50884 *2; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] *2), and that Defendant is entitled to dismissal of Plaintiff’s complaints in both actions.
IV. Order
Accordingly, it is
ORDERED that Defendant’s motions for summary judgment are granted and that Plaintiff’s complaints are dismissed in both actions, and it is further
ORDERED that the part clerk is directed to mark the index numbers in both actions disposed for all purposes.
This constitutes the Decision and Order of the court.
Dated: September 17, 2021
Queens County Civil Court
____________________________________
Honorable Wendy Changyong Li,
J.C.C.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the sworn peer review and examination report, which found normal range of motion and normal findings, established lack of medical necessity; the provider's affidavit was conclusory and did not meaningfully discuss that report, so the insurer won summary judgment.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the no-fault examiner's affidavits describing the insurer's regular office mailing procedures established that the denials were timely mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787)A provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946)An insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067)An insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
- Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. v George (2020 NY Slip Op 02801) FollowedThe insurer proved timely EUO notices, two nonappearances by each assignor, and timely denials; the providers raised no factual issue.
- Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Infinite Ortho Prods., Inc. (2015 NY Slip Op 03340)The insurers failed to establish timely and proper mailing of denials based on missing verification and EUO nonappearance.
- Jaga Med. Servs., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50954(U))The insurer proved proper fee-schedule reductions and lack of medical necessity, and the provider failed to rebut the peer review.
- Westcan Chiropractic, P.C. v Hertz Claim Mgt. (2015 NY Slip Op 51066(U))The provider's treating-doctor affidavit rebutted the peer review and raised a triable issue of medical necessity.
- Lenox Hill Radiology & MIA, P.C. v Great N. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50680(U))The provider's doctor's affirmation raised a triable issue of medical necessity in response to the insurer's peer review report.
- Ayoob Khodadadi, M.D.,MRI, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51968(U))The insurer's peer review reports established lack of medical necessity, and the provider submitted no medical evidence raising a triable issue.
- Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50884(U)) FollowedThe treating doctor's conclusory reaffirmation of medical necessity failed to rebut the insurer's sworn peer review and IME reports.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U)) FollowedThe provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
Cited by
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Right Choice Supply, Inc. (2023 NY Slip Op 23039)A no-fault arbitrator need not apply summary judgment rules requiring a provider's medical evidence to specifically rebut an insurer's peer review.
Similar decisions
- Apazidis, M.D., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50498(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion failed on hearsay proof of good cause and verification notices naming a different provider.
- Optimum Health Acupuncture, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50068(U))The provider failed to raise factual issues on fee-schedule reductions and medical necessity because its expert affidavits were missing.
- Jiang Acupuncture PC v State Farm Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 50961(U))The insurer failed to prove good cause for licensing verification with admissible evidence supporting summary judgment.
- Advanced Recovery E. & S. v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 51035(U))MVAIC established that the assignor failed to satisfy the notice-of-claim and accident-reporting conditions for coverage.
- Tandingan PT PC v State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50869(U))Three provider claims were barred by a declaratory judgment, and the insurer proved fee schedule payment of the fourth.