June 17, 2022
Lefferts Gardens Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50599(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lefferts-gardens-chiropractic-p-c-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2022-nyslip-op-50599u/
- Decided
- June 17, 2022
- Citation
- 2022 NY Slip Op 50599(U) · 75 Misc 3d 140(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Verification requests
- Legal questions
- Outstanding verification and premature actions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Lefferts Gardens Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50599(U))
| Lefferts Gardens Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. |
| 2022 NY Slip Op 50599(U) [75 Misc 3d 140(A)] |
| Decided on June 17, 2022 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on June 17, 2022
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., MICHELLE WESTON, WAVNY TOUSSAINT, JJ
2019-1303 K C
against
New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Appellant.
Nightingale Law, P.C. (Michael S. Nightingale of counsel), for appellant. Zara Javakov, P.C. (Zara Javakov and Victoria Tarasova of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Odessa Kennedy, J.), entered May 28, 2019. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court denying defendant’s motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that the action is premature, as plaintiff failed to respond to defendant’s timely requests for additional verification.
The proof submitted by defendant was sufficient to demonstrate that verification requests had been timely sent to plaintiff (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [l]; St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) and that defendant had not received a response to the verification letters from plaintiff. Contrary to plaintiff’s contentions, the follow-up verification requests issued by defendant were proper (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]). In any event, “[a]ny confusion on the part of [] plaintiff as to what was being sought should have been addressed by further communication, not inaction” (Westchester County Med. Ctr. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 262 AD2d 553, 555 [1999]; see Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 58 Misc 3d 137[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51828[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]).
Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
ALIOTTA, P.J., WESTON and TOUSSAINT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: June 17, 2022
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature
Granted the insurer summary judgment dismissing the action as premature because its timely, proper initial and follow-up requests went unanswered, and confusion about what was sought called for communication, not inaction.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 151 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's proof sufficient to show its verification requests were timely sent.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51828(U))The insurer's follow-up verification requests were proper, supporting dismissal of the provider's no-fault action as premature.
Similar decisions
- Remedy Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50935(U))The provider failed to raise a factual issue that it supplied outstanding verification or reasonably justified withholding it.
- Northshore Chiropractic Diagnostics, P.C. v A. Cent. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51825(U))The insurer's verification requests were timely, but a factual issue remained as to whether the provider adequately responded.
- Active Chiropractic, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51850(U))The insurer's 30-day period to pay or deny the appealed claim had not begun because timely requested verification remained outstanding.
- Harbor Chiropractic, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50959(U))The provider failed to show that requested verification was supplied before suit, leaving its action premature.
- JOA Chiropractic, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50598(U))The insurer's letters stating that it awaited documents did not establish proper verification requests to the provider.