• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
August 6, 2008

Woolfson v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28290)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/woolfson-v-government-empls-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-28290/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County
Judge
Bluth, J.
Decided
August 6, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 28290 · 20 Misc 3d 948
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Timeliness and preclusion Policy issues
Cite as
Woolfson v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 948 (Civ Ct, New York County 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer need not produce the policy to enforce the mandatory 45-day claim deadline when the policy is subject to the new regulations. The Civil Court, New York County, entered judgment for the insurer after trial and dismissed the complaint with prejudice. The parties stipulated that the policy was issued after April 5, 2002, the provider submitted claims more than 45 days after the final service date, and the insurer timely denied them. Under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 (b) and Insurance Law § 3103 (a), the mandatory endorsement applied even if omitted from the policy. The policy's issuance date, rather than the claim submission date, determined whether the new regulations applied.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Woolfson v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28290)

Woolfson v Government Empls. Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 28290 [20 Misc 3d 948]
August 6, 2008
Bluth, J.
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, New York County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, October 8, 2008

[*1]

Dana Woolfson, LMT, as Assignee of Tania Rega, Plaintiff,
v
Government Employees Insurance Company, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County, August 6, 2008

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Law Offices of Teresa M. Spina, Woodbury, for defendant. Baker, Sanders, Barshay, Grossman, Fass, Muhlstock & Neuwirth, LLC, Mineola, for plaintiff.

{**20 Misc 3d at 948} OPINION OF THE COURT

Arlene P. Bluth, J.

{**20 Misc 3d at 949}At trial, the parties stipulated to the following facts: The underlying accident occurred on July 31, 2006. The policy covering this accident was issued after April 5, 2002. Plaintiff submitted the claims to defendant more than 45 days after the final date of service and defendant timely denied the claims.

11 NYCRR 65-1.1 (b), part of the Superintendent of Insurance’s regulations (new regulations), requires that all policies issued on or after April 5, 2002 contain a mandatory personal injury protection endorsement (Endorsement). Automobile policies have a one-year term (see Insurance Law § 3425 [a] [8]), and both parties agree that at the time the instant policy was issued the new regulations were in effect. The portion of the Endorsement relevant here requires that claims be submitted to insurers within 45 days after services are rendered.

Plaintiff admits that she failed to fulfill the requirements of the Endorsement, and sent the bills after the 45-day time limit. At the trial, the defendant did not produce the policy. Plaintiff asserts that it was defendant’s burden to produce the policy in order to establish that the policy actually included the Endorsement; defendant asserts that because the Endorsement is mandatory under the new regulations, it applies whether or not the policy actually contains it, and so it is not necessary to produce the policy. This court agrees with defendant and finds the introduction of the policy at trial is not necessary to prove that it contained the mandatory Endorsement.

The parties were given an opportunity to submit posttrial memoranda of law. In support of its position, the defendant relies upon the very recent Appellate Term, Second Department case Eagle Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (19 Misc 3d 129[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 50525[U] [2008]), which holds that because the policy was issued after April 5, 2002, the Endorsement was mandatory and the defendant need not prove that the policy contained the Endorsement. Plaintiff did not distinguish Eagle on its facts, and indeed, on page four of her posttrial memorandum, acknowledges that if this court were bound to follow Eagle, then defendant would win. Instead, plaintiff claims that the law is different in this department. Plaintiff maintains that this court must follow SZ Med. P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (9 Misc 3d 139[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51842[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2005]), which requires a finding for plaintiff.

Plaintiff asserts that SZ Med. requires that a defendant always produce the policy in order to support its position that{**20 Misc 3d at 950} the new regulations apply. By taking language out of context, plaintiff misreads the holding of SZ Med. Indeed, there is no split between the Appellate Terms because SZ Med. and Eagle both hold that once it is established that the policy was issued on or after April 5, 2002, then the new regulations must apply.

In SZ Med., plaintiff moved for summary judgment on its prima facie case for claims submitted between December 2002 and April 2003; defendant opposed, claiming the new regulations applied. The trial court denied summary judgment, finding that because plaintiff submitted the claims after April 5, 2002, the new regulations applied. In reversing, the Appellate Term simply made clear that the date the policy was issued determines if the new regulations are applicable, not the date when plaintiff submits its claims. The defendant in that case did not come forward with proof of when the policy was issued, and there is no indication that this crucial date could have otherwise been determined; the Appellate Term granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.

Here the defendant need not produce proof that the policy was issued after April 5, 2002, because the parties stipulated to that fact. Had there been no stipulation, however, the fact remains that the earliest date that the policy covering this July 31, 2006 accident could have been issued was July 31, 2005; this was more than three years after the effective date of the new regulations. Even if the insurance policy lacked the mandatory Endorsement, then the applicable provisions of the Insurance Law or the applicable regulation, which “has the force of law” (Raffellini v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 196, 201 [2007]), are deemed to be part of the policy as though written into it. (See also Insurance Law § 3103 [a] [even if the policy or provision is “in violation of the requirements or prohibitions of this chapter it shall be enforceable as if it conformed with such requirements or prohibitions”]; Trizzano v Allstate Ins. Co., 7 AD3d 783 [2d Dept 2004] [auto policy]; TAG 380, LLC v ComMet 380, Inc., 10 NY3d 507 [2008] [fire policy].)

Where, as here, it is clear that the policy is subject to the new regulations, the mandatory Endorsement is read into the policy and the defendant is not required to produce it. Accordingly, after trial, the court awards judgment in favor of defendant Government Employees Insurance Company and against plaintiff Dana Woolfson, LMT. The complaint is dismissed with prejudice.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Eagle Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50525(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not prove a policy contains the mandatory 45-day claim deadline when an older endorsement could no longer apply.
  • SZ Med. P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51842(U)) DistinguishedThe insurer's EUO defense failed because it did not establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the denial of the providers' summary judgment motion, granted the motion, and remanded for statutory interest, attorney fees, and entry of judgment.
  • Raffellini v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 08777) FollowedA SUM endorsement's serious injury exclusion for noneconomic loss from a New York accident is enforceable.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Hastava & Aleman Assoc., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51818(U)) FollowedCertified mailing of EUO notices does not impose a higher threshold for the presumption of receipt than regular mailing.

Similar decisions

  • Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25336)The insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue based on a founded belief that the collision furthered insurance fraud.
  • Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
  • New York Craniofacial Care v Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24025)The assignor had no duty to attend an EUO under the no-fault regulations governing this claim before the revised EUO provisions took effect.
  • Rigid Med. of Flatbush, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50582(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing policy endorsement or proper EUO notices, leaving its denial untimely.
  • West Tremont Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51374(U))The insurer failed to establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. The provider proved submission of a claim stating the fact and amount of the loss and overdue payment under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.