February 11, 2013
Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50197(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/viviane-etienne-med-care-p-c-v-geico-gen-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op50197u/
- Decided
- February 11, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 50197(U) · 38 Misc 3d 139(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50197(U))
| Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 50197(U) [38 Misc 3d 139(A)] |
| Decided on February 11, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and SOLOMON, JJ
2010-3153 K C.
against
Geico General Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), dated June 22, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from, granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for dates of service July 13, 2006, August 1, 2006 through August 28, 2006, October 10, 2006 through October 31, 2006, November 3, 2006 through November 27, 2006, December 7, 2006 through December 18, 2006, and January 11, 2007 through January 16, 2007.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court dated June 22, 2010 as granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon claims for dates of service July 13, 2006, August 1, 2006 through August 28, 2006, October 10, 2006 through October 31, 2006, November 3, 2006 through November 27, 2006, December 7, 2006 through December 18, 2006, and January [*2]11, 2007 through January 16, 2007.
Insofar as is relevant to this appeal, the affidavit submitted by defendant was sufficient to establish the timely mailing of the denial of claim forms (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]), which denied plaintiff’s claims on the ground of lack of medical necessity. Defendant also submitted an affirmed peer review report and an affirmed independent medical examination report, each of which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the conclusion that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services at issue. Consequently, defendant established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Defendant’s showing that the services rendered to plaintiff’s assignor were not medically necessary was unrebutted by plaintiff (see Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]).
Plaintiff’s remaining contentions lack merit (see Quality Health Prods. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 157[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50415[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]; Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 140[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50987[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: February 11, 2013
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the affirmed peer review and IME reports set forth a factual basis and medical rationale, and the provider left that showing unrebutted, so the insurer's cross motion was properly granted.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavit sufficient to establish timely mailing of the denial of claim forms based on lack of medical necessity.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51502(U)) FollowedThe insurer's examining physician supplied an unrebutted factual basis and medical rationale that the billed MRI was unnecessary.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52455(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U)) FollowedThe provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
- Quality Health Prods. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50415(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review report supplied a factual basis and medical rationale for denying the supplies as medically unnecessary.
- Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50987(U))The insurer established premature claims for unanswered verification and lack of medical necessity for the remaining claims.
Similar decisions
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50579(U))The provider's objections to the EUO requests were not heard because it did not claim to have responded to those requests.
- New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51808(U))The provider failed to establish that the insurer's denials were untimely or legally insufficient, defeating its prima facie showing.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50199(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial of one claim or its fee schedule defense to another, requiring denial of dismissal as to both.
- New Life Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51061(U))The provider's practitioner failed to meaningfully rebut two peer review reports establishing lack of medical necessity.
- Right Aid Diagnostic Medicine, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50901(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer reviews established lack of medical necessity and warranted summary judgment dismissing the provider's claims.