October 27, 2017
T & S Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51453(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/t-s-med-supply-corp-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op51453u/
- Decided
- October 27, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51453(U) · 57 Misc 3d 145(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · Outstanding verification and premature actions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at T & S Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51453(U))
| T & S Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51453(U) [57 Misc 3d 145(A)] |
| Decided on October 27, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on October 27, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M.
SOLOMON, JJ
NO. 2014-2160 K C
against
New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Gullo & Associates, LLP (Tasnim Hassanali, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Devin P. Cohen, J.), entered July 18, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that the action was premature because plaintiff had failed to provide requested verification.
As plaintiff argues, its affidavit in opposition to defendant’s motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the requested verification had been mailed to, and received by, defendant (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). In light of the foregoing, there is a triable issue of fact as to whether the action is premature (see Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 152[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51776[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]).
Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: October 27, 2017
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof established mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response
Held the provider's opposing affidavit sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the requested verification was mailed to and received by the insurer, which defeated the insurer's prematurity motion by raising a triable issue.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 106 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Fact issues remain on whether the verification defense applies
Held a triable issue existed whether the action was premature because the provider's affidavit raised a presumption that the requested verification had been mailed and received.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51776(U)) FollowedThe provider raised a factual issue on verification, but the insurer proved IME nonappearance warranting dismissal of the remaining claims.
Similar decisions
- T & S Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51597(U))The provider's owner's affidavit raised a factual issue about receipt of verification and whether the action was premature.
- TAM Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51248(U))The provider's affidavit created a presumption of verification receipt and raised a triable issue concerning prematurity.
- Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51408(U))The provider's opposing affidavit raised a triable issue as to whether its action was premature for outstanding verification.
- TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51251(U))The provider's affidavit raised a triable issue as to verification receipt and defeated the insurer's prematurity motion.
- Medex Health Supply, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51261(U))The provider's mailing affidavit raised a factual issue over verification receipt despite the insurer's prima facie showing of prematurity.