September 2, 2008
Supple Mind Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51856(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/supple-mind-acupuncture-p-c-v-state-farm-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op51856u/
- Decided
- September 2, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 51856(U) · 20 Misc 3d 144(A)
- Posture
- Trial
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Supple Mind Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51856(U))
| Supple Mind Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 51856(U) [20 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on September 2, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and STEINHARDT, JJ
2007-569 Q C.
against
State Farm Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from a decision of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Lee A. Mayersohn, J.), dated August 15, 2006, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered January 11, 2007 (see CPLR 5520 [c]). The judgment, after a nonjury trial, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $2,228.36.
Judgment affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the parties stipulated that plaintiff proved its prima facie case, that defendant timely and properly denied the claims and that the claims were denied based upon an injury causation analysis prepared by defendant’s expert witness. The sole issue at trial was whether plaintiff’s assignor’s alleged injuries were caused by the accident. The only witness was defendant’s expert, who testified, without objection, that the force of the impact was minimal and that plaintiff’s assignor’s injuries could not have been caused by the accident. He further stated that his opinion was based upon his review of the police accident report, which included statements by the drivers of the vehicles, photographs of the vehicles and a repair estimate. The court entered judgment for plaintiff, holding that because the expert’s testimony and report relied almost exclusively upon statements and documents which were hearsay, defendant failed to sustain its burden of proof. This appeal by defendant ensued.
“[A]n expert may rely on out-of-court material if it is of a kind accepted in the profession as reliable in forming a professional opinion’ ” (Hambsch v New York City Tr. Auth., 63 NY2d 723, 726 [1984], quoting People v Sugden, 35 NY2d 453, 460 [1974]). The proponent of such testimony may satisfy its “burden of showing acceptance in the profession . . . through the testimony of a qualified expert” (People v Goldstein, 6 NY3d 119, 124-125 [2005]). In the [*2]instant case, defendant did not elicit any testimony from its expert which could support a conclusion that the material he relied upon in forming his opinion was “of a kind accepted in the profession as reliable in forming a professional opinion” (Goldstein, 6 NY3d at 125; see also Sugden, 35 NY2d at 460). Consequently, the testimony of the expert witness and his report were inadmissible (Hambsch, 63 NY2d at 726).
Although defendant contends that it was nevertheless entitled to judgment dismissing the complaint because plaintiff did not object to the testimony by defendant’s expert, “[n]o judgment, even in a small claims action, can rest entirely on hearsay evidence” (Zelnik v Bidermann Indus. U.S.A., 242 AD2d 227, 228 [1997]; see also Arnold Herstand & Co. v Gallery: Gertrude Stein, Inc., 211 AD2d 77 [1995]; Levins v Bucholtz, 2 AD2d 351 [1956]; Prince, Richardson on Evidence § 8-108 [Farrell 11th ed] [citations omitted]). Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Steinhardt, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 02, 2008
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it
Held the insurer failed at trial to prove the injuries were not caused by the accident because its expert relied on hearsay materials not shown to be accepted in the profession as reliable, making his testimony and report inadmissible.
Of the 234 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited by
- Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50800(U))The insurer failed to establish lack of medical necessity because its substitute peer review expert did not prove the records' reliability.
Similar decisions
- Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51879(U))The provider's attorney affirmation failed to establish the admissibility of its claim forms or a prima facie entitlement to judgment.
- Impulse Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50498(U))The insurer's Maryland affidavit lacked a certificate of conformity, and the provider preserved its admissibility objection.
- North Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52523(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement through competent evidence and could not cure its moving papers in reply.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52300(U))The insurer's investigator raised a triable issue as to whether the assignor's injuries arose from an insured incident.
- Mind & Body Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50779(U))The insurer failed to establish timely mailing of its denials asserting that the provider's charges exceeded the fee schedule.