February 6, 2008
Stracar Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50277(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/stracar-med-servs-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op50277u/
- Decided
- February 6, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 50277(U) · 18 Misc 3d 136(A)
- Posture
- Default or vacatur
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Vacating a default: excuse and defense · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Stracar Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50277(U))
| Stracar Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 50277(U) [18 Misc 3d 136(A)] |
| Decided on February 6, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON PATTERSON, J.P. and RIOS, J.
2006-910 K C
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Bernard J. Graham, J.), entered March 2, 2006. The order granted defendant’s motion to vacate a default judgment.
Order reversed without costs and defendant’s motion to vacate a default judgment denied.
In order to vacate the default judgment entered in this action to recover assigned first-party
no-fault benefits, defendant was required to establish, pursuant to CPLR 5015 (a), both a
reasonable excuse for the default and a meritorious defense (see
Eugene Di Lorenzo, Inc. v Dutton Lbr. Co., 67 NY2d 138, 141 [1986]). A
motion to vacate a default judgment is addressed to the sound discretion of the motion court
(see Matter of Gambardella v Ortov Light., 278 AD2d 494 [2000]), and its determination
will generally not be disturbed unless it can be shown that the court improvidently exercised its
discretion (see Levy Williams Constr. Corp. v United States Fire Ins. Co., 280 AD2d 650
[2001]). Despite the strong public policy in favor of resolution of cases on the merits, upon a
review of the record, we are of the opinion that the court below improvidently exercised its
discretion in granting defendant’s motion to vacate the default judgment.
Defendant’s conclusory allegations that it possessed a meritorious defense were insufficient to warrant vacatur of the default judgment since defendant failed to show that its [*2]proffered defenses were set forth in timely denial of claim forms such that defendant is not precluded from interposing its defenses (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.5 [b]). The documentary proof annexed to defendant’s opposing papers was insufficient to give rise to a presumption that the denial of claim forms were timely mailed pursuant to a standard office practice or procedure (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547 [2006]; PDG Psychological, P.C. v Lumbermans Mut. Cas. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51343[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Moreover, defendant failed to establish that it possessed a reasonable excuse for its failure to timely serve its answer. Defendant’s claims representative merely assumed that defendant’s time to serve its answer was enlarged because she faxed a proposed stipulation to plaintiff granting defendant an enlargement of its time to answer. The claims representative never spoke to plaintiff’s counsel about such an extension, and she never received any indication that plaintiff agreed to extend defendant’s time to answer.
In light of the foregoing, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion to vacate the default
judgment is denied.
Weston Patterson, J.P. and Rios, J., concur.
Decision Date: February 06, 2008
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the defaulting party show a reasonable excuse (or lack of notice) and a potentially meritorious defense or claim?
This decision: Relief denied because the party showed neither a reasonable excuse nor a potentially meritorious defense or claim
Reversed vacatur because the insurer did not show timely mailed denials preserving its defenses, and its claims representative's unilateral assumption of an extension from an unanswered faxed stipulation was no reasonable excuse.
Of the 170 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 21 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's documentary proof insufficient to raise a presumption that its denials were timely mailed under a standard office practice, so it showed no meritorious defense to vacate its default; it also lacked a reasonable excuse.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558) FollowedThe providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
- PDG Psychological, P.C. v Lumbermans Mut. Cas. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51343(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denial and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity.
Similar decisions
- Astoria Wellness Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52008(U))The insurer failed to reasonably explain its failure to refile opposition papers after the clerk identified the filing error.
- Stracar Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51415(U))The provider could not challenge the reasonableness of EUO requests after failing to allege or prove any response to them.
- Neurology & Acupuncture Serv., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51755(U))The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for default because its attorney did not allege personal knowledge of the asserted excuse.
- Prompt Med. Supply, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50503(U))The insurer's default was excused based on possible withdrawal and the provider's assurance that no default proceedings would be commenced.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50243(U))The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for its default or a meritorious defense to the providers' claims.