July 10, 2020
St. Mark’s Med. Health Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50851(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/st-marks-med-health-care-pllc-v-21st-century-ins-co-2020-ny-slip-op50851u/
- Decided
- July 10, 2020
- Citation
- 2020 NY Slip Op 50851(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Effect of insurer's declaratory judgment (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at St. Mark’s Med. Health Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50851(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
21st Century Insurance Company, Appellant.
Law Offices of Buratti, Rothenberg & Burns (Bryan M. Rothenberg of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Oleg Rybak, Esq.), for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), entered October 15, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED, that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
Plaintiff commenced this action against “21st Century Insurance Company” in the Civil Court on June 22, 2017 to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits for services that had been provided to its assignor, who had allegedly been injured in an accident on June 7, 2011. Prior to the commencement of this action, 21st Century Advantage Insurance Company and 21st Century Security Insurance Company had brought a declaratory judgment action in the Supreme Court, New York County, against plaintiff and its assignor herein, among other parties, pertaining to the June 7, 2011 accident. By order dated June 3, 2014, the Supreme Court granted, on default, a motion by 21st Century Advantage Insurance Company and 21st Century Security Insurance Company for a default judgment against the provider and assignor herein and “ordered, adjudged and decreed” that 21st Century Advantage Insurance Company and 21st Century Security Insurance Company had “no duty to provide coverage” for the accident at issue (occurring on June 7, 2011); that the applicable insurance policy is null and void with respect to that accident; [*2]and that 21st Century Advantage Insurance Company and 21st Century Security Insurance Company are “not obligated to provide coverage for no-fault reimbursement based upon the failure of the defendants [in the Supreme Court action] to verify their claims.” A Supreme Court judgment, dated July 20, 2017, set forth the same declaration as stated in the June 3, 2014 order. Relying upon the Supreme Court’s order and judgment, defendant moved in the Civil Court for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Plaintiff opposed the motion on the grounds that there is no collateral estoppel or res judicata effect from the Supreme Court’s order and judgment, and that defendant had failed to establish a prima facie case. Plaintiff also cross-moved for summary judgment. Defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court, entered October 15, 2018, as denied defendant’s motion.
“Under the doctrine of res judicata, a final adjudication of a claim on the merits precludes relitigation of that claim and all claims arising out of the same transaction or series of transactions by a party or those in privity with a party” (Ciraldo v JP Morgan Chase Bank, N.A., 140 AD3d 912, 913 [2016]; see Matter of Hunter, 4 NY3d 260, 269 [2005]; Schuylkill Fuel Corp. v Nieberg Realty Corp., 250 NY 304, 306-307 [1929]). It is well settled that default judgments, which have not been vacated, can have res judicata effect (see Lazides v P & G Enters., 58 AD3d 607 [2009]; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. v Williams, 29 AD3d 688, 690 [2006]; Matter of Eagle Ins. Co. v Facey, 272 AD2d 399 [2000]; Ava Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 149[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50233[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]). In light of the Supreme Court declaratory judgment, entered on default, the Civil Court should have granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint (see EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins., 38 Misc 3d 1 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]), as any judgment in favor of plaintiff in the present action would destroy or impair rights or interests established by the judgment in the declaratory judgment action (see Schuylkill Fuel Corp., 250 NY 304; Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co., 42 Misc 3d 133[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50052[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]; EBM Med. Health Care, P.C., 38 Misc 3d 1).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
ALIOTTA, P.J., WESTON and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: July 10, 2020
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Does an insurer’s no-coverage declaratory judgment, or pending declaratory action, bar or stay a no-fault claimant’s action?
This decision: The DJ is given preclusive effect and bars every claim in the action that the court considered
Held the provider's action barred by res judicata because an unvacated default declaratory judgment against the provider and its assignor declared no duty to cover the accident, so any recovery would impair rights it established.
Of the 163 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 100 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Ava Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50233(U))An unvacated default declaratory order barring no-fault benefits is a final determination that can preclude a provider's action under res judicata.
- EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. (2012 NY Slip Op 22300) FollowedAn unvacated default declaratory judgment has res judicata effect in a provider's pending no-fault action.
- Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50052(U))The provider's no-fault action was barred by res judicata because a default declaratory judgment denied its right to benefits.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Trinity Medicine, P.C. v National Gen. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50197(U)) FollowedThe insurer's isolated failure to serve its answer was excusable, and a default declaratory judgment supplied a potentially meritorious defense.
Similar decisions
- SS Med. Care, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52057(U))The provider's premature judgment was vacated, but its summary judgment order survived because the insurer lacked a reasonable default excuse.
- Freedom Chiropractic, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50686(U))The provider's default judgment was vacated because its mailed motion gave the insurer less than the required 13 days' notice.
- ZG Chiropractic Care, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50079(U))The insurer justified vacating its default through an existing stay and obtained dismissal based on a preclusive declaratory judgment.
- Active Chiropractic, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50200(U))An order granting entry of a default judgment without declaring the parties' rights has no preclusive effect in a no-fault action.
- Greenway Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50039(U))A default declaratory order that has not been vacated may bar a provider's no-fault action under res judicata.