June 30, 2004
S&m Supply Inc. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50695(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/sm-supply-inc-v-lancer-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-50695u/
- Decided
- June 30, 2004
- Citation
- 2004 NY Slip Op 50695(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at S&m Supply Inc. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50695(U))
| S&M Supply v Lancer Ins. Co. |
| 2004 NY Slip Op 50695(U) |
| Decided on June 30, 2004 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM : 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT:McCABE, P.J., RUDOLPH and ANGIOLILLO, JJ.
NO. 2003-1075 N C
against
LANCER INSURANCE COMPANY, Appellant.
Appeal by defendant from an order of the District Court, Nassau County (J. Spinola, J.), entered April 23, 2003, which granted partial summary judgment in favor of plaintiff in the amount of $1,014.88, plus interest and attorney’s fees, deemed an appeal from the judgment of the same court, entered pursuant thereto on May 15, 2003, awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $1,014.88, plus interest and attorney’s fees (see Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]). [*2]
Judgment affirmed without costs.
Plaintiff, a medical supply house, instituted this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical supplies provided to its assignor. Thereafter, it moved for summary judgment on the ground that the denial of claim was untimely, the insurer having failed to pay or deny the claim within 30 days of its receipt, in violation of Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (c). Defendant opposed, on the ground that its requests for a comprehensive narrative from the referring physician and its notices of examinations under oath (EUOs) of plaintiff’s assignor were proper requests for verification, which tolled the commencement of the 30-day period within which defendant was obligated to pay or deny the claim. The court below granted plaintiff’s motion, finding that the denial was untimely inasmuch as the verification requests were not in proper form and therefore were ineffective to toll the 30-day period.
A review of the record indicates that plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to partial summary judgment by the submission of the statutory forms setting forth “the fact and amount of loss sustained” (Damadian MRI in Elmhurst, P.C. v Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128 [A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51700 [U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). The burden then shifted to defendant to show the existence of a triable issue of fact (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
Defendant failed to meet its burden, since its papers in opposition to plaintiff’s
motion for summary judgment did not establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs, pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 (d), which regulation became effective on April 5, 2002. In the absence of such a showing, defendant failed to demonstrate that its time to deny the claim was tolled (see S&M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., No. 2003-1087 N C decided herewith). Assuming, however, the existence of an appropriate endorsement provision, defendant’s opposition papers nonetheless were insufficient as they did not contain an affidavit of someone with personal knowledge that its verification requests were actually mailed, or describing the standard operating procedures used by defendant to ensure that its requests were properly addressed and mailed (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). Since defendant failed to establish by competent evidence that it timely mailed its verification requests, the commencement of the 30-day period in which it was required to pay or deny the claim was not tolled (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 226 AD2d 613 [1996]).
[*3]
We note that a request for additional verification may be made by letter and need not be on a prescribed form (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v American Tr. Ins. Co., 299 AD2d 338 [2002]; Nyack Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 296 AD2d 482 [2002]).
McCabe, P.J., and Rudolph, J., concur.
Angiolillo, J., taking no part.
Decision Date: June 30, 2004
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient
Rejected the tolling defense because the insurer did not show a policy endorsement authorizing EUOs and, in any event, did not prove its verification requests were mailed, so the 30-day period was not tolled.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 82 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established prima facie entitlement to partial summary judgment by submitting the statutory claim forms setting forth the fact and amount of the loss, shifting the burden to the insurer.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's opposition lacked an affidavit of someone with personal knowledge of the mailing or describing standard procedures to ensure proper addressing and mailing, so timely mailing of verification requests was not shown.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Damadian Mri In Elmhurst v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51700(U)) FollowedA provider need not submit additional medical-necessity evidence to obtain summary judgment when the insurer is precluded from that defense.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Contemp. Med. Diag. & Treatment, P.C. v Government Employees Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50254(U)) FollowedThe insurer's conclusory office-practice affidavit failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests.
- Star Med. Servs. P.C. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24482) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that the policy contained an endorsement authorizing EUOs. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed the order denying the provider's summary judgment motion, granted the motion, and remanded for statutory interest and attorney's fees under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25336) FollowedThe insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue based on a founded belief that the collision furthered insurance fraud.
- Function Supply v Progressive Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51755(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely mailing of verification requests, so the 30-day period to pay or deny was not tolled.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50474(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing endorsement or admissible support for its fraud defense.
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- Rigid Med. of Flatbush, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50582(U))The insurer failed to establish an EUO-authorizing policy endorsement or proper EUO notices, leaving its denial untimely.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50348(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of verification requests and waived its assignment and medical-necessity objections.
Similar decisions
- S & M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50693(U))The insurer's EUO defense was precluded by untimely denials, and its accident-fraud evidence was inadmissible.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U))The insurer failed to establish verification tolling because requests were untimely or unproved and its policy's EUO endorsement was not shown.
- S & M Supply v Geico Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50502(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of verification requests that would toll its 30-day period to pay or deny the claim.
- S & M Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50557(U))An EUO request does not toll the payment or denial period under the former regulation that did not require an injured person to submit to an EUO. The provider established submission of a complete proof of claim and nonpayment or denial within 30 days under Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and former 11 NYCRR 65.15.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51046(U))A provider's billing manager need not have personal knowledge that prescribed equipment was delivered to establish a prima facie case.