January 20, 2016
Renelique v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50095(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/renelique-v-state-wide-ins-co-2016-ny-slip-op-50095u/
- Decided
- January 20, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 50095(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Effect of insurer's declaratory judgment (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Renelique v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50095(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
State-Wide Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Maureen A. Healy, J.), entered September 3, 2013. The order, upon, in effect, treating defendant’s motion to dismiss the complaint as one for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, granted the motion.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In May 2012, plaintiff commenced this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits for services rendered to its assignor, who had allegedly sustained injuries in a motor vehicle accident which had occurred on November 14, 2011. Issue was joined in July 2012. Subsequently, defendant moved to dismiss the complaint, pursuant to CPLR 3211 (a) (5), contending that plaintiff’s cause of action was barred by virtue of an order entered on July 8, 2013 in a Supreme Court declaratory judgment action. The Supreme Court order, entered on default, declared that plaintiff herein and its assignor had no right to be reimbursed for services rendered to the assignor and that defendant herein had no obligation to provide coverage for no-fault claims with respect to the accident in question. Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion.
At the outset, we note that although defendant’s motion was denominated as one to dismiss the complaint pursuant to CPLR 3211 (a) (5), it was made after issue was joined (see generally CPLR 3211 [e]). In these circumstances, the CPLR requires the court to give “adequate notice to the parties” that it will treat defendant’s motion to dismiss as one for summary judgment (CPLR 3211 [c]). Here, however, an exception to the notice requirement was applicable, since defendant’s motion exclusively involved “a purely legal question rather than any issues of fact” (Mihlovan v Grozavu, 72 NY2d 506, 508 [1988]; Four Seasons Hotels v Vinnik, 127 AD2d 310, 320 [1987]). Consequently, it was proper for the Civil Court to, in effect, treat defendant’s motion to dismiss as one for summary judgment “without first giving notice of its intention to do so” (Four Seasons Hotels, 127 AD2d at 320.)
In light of the July 8, 2013 Supreme Court order, the present action is barred under the doctrine of res judicata (see Flushing Traditional Acupuncture P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co., 42 Misc 3d 133[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50052[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]; EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins., 38 Misc 3d 1 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]; Ava Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 149[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50233[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]), as any judgment in favor of plaintiff in this action would destroy or impair rights or interests established by the Supreme Court order (see Schuylkill Fuel Corp. v Nieberg Realty Corp., 250 NY 304, 306-307 [1929]; SZ Med., P.C. v Erie Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 126[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51221[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Moreover, the Supreme Court’s order is a conclusive final [*2]determination, notwithstanding that it was entered on default (see Lazides v P & G Enters., 58 AD3d 607 [2009]; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. v Williams, 29 AD3d 658, 690 [2006]; Matter of Eagle Ins. Co. v Facey, 272 AD2d 399 [2000]; Vital Meridian Acupuncture, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co., 46 Misc 3d 147[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50222[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]; EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins., 38 Misc 3d 1; Ava Acupuncture, P.C. v N Y Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 149[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50233[U]).
Plaintiff’s remaining contentions are not properly before this court, as they were raised for the first time on appeal.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Aliotta, J.P., Pesce and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: January 20, 2016
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Does an insurer’s no-coverage declaratory judgment, or pending declaratory action, bar or stay a no-fault claimant’s action?
This decision: The DJ is given preclusive effect and bars every claim in the action that the court considered
Held the action barred by res judicata because the unvacated default order in the insurer's declaratory judgment action declared no coverage for the accident and was a conclusive final determination.
Of the 163 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 100 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50052(U)) FollowedThe provider's no-fault action was barred by res judicata because a default declaratory judgment denied its right to benefits.
- EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. (2012 NY Slip Op 22300) FollowedAn unvacated default declaratory judgment has res judicata effect in a provider's pending no-fault action.
- Ava Acupuncture, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50233(U)) FollowedAn unvacated default declaratory order barring no-fault benefits is a final determination that can preclude a provider's action under res judicata.
- SZ Med., P.C. v Erie Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51221(U)) FollowedThe providers' no-fault action was barred by res judicata because a prior declaratory judgment resolved coverage for the same accident.
- Vital Meridian Acupuncture, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50222(U)) FollowedA default declaratory judgment conclusively determining no obligation to pay no-fault benefits bars a contrary recovery under res judicata.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Laga v Unitrin Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50906(U)) FollowedThe provider's benefits action was barred by collateral estoppel because a declaratory judgment had decided its entitlement to coverage.
- Active Chiropractic, P.C. v Allstate Ins. (2018 NY Slip Op 50201(U))An unpleaded res judicata defense may support summary judgment absent surprise or prejudice to the opposing party.
- BR Clinton Chiropractic, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 20291)The provider could pursue claims for services rendered before its sole shareholder's chiropractic license was revoked.
- Right Aid Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51120(U))The provider failed to acquire personal jurisdiction because the record showed no signed acknowledgment of mailed service or timely alternative service.
- Allay Med. Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2021 NY Slip Op 50086(U))The provider's action was barred by res judicata because the prior declaratory judgment covered the same claim and accident.
Similar decisions
- Renelique v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51357(U))The insurer's affidavits failed to establish an office mailing procedure ensuring timely mailing of its denial of claim.
- Renelique v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50254(U))The insurer raised a factual issue over fraudulent policy procurement but failed to establish material misrepresentation as a matter of law.
- Renelique v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50482(U))The provider's action was premature because timely requested verification had not all been supplied before suit began.
- St. Mark’s Med. Health Care, PLLC v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50851(U))An unvacated default declaratory judgment can bar a provider's later no-fault action under res judicata.
- Vital Meridian Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51007(U))An unvacated default order declaring noncoverage is a conclusive final determination that can bar a provider's action under res judicata.