November 29, 2013
Queens Arthroscopy & Sports Medicine v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co (2013 NY Slip Op 52021(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/queens-arthroscopy-sports-medicine-v-unitrin-direct-ins-co-2013-nyslip-op-52021u/
- Decided
- November 29, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 52021(U) · 41 Misc 3d 142(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Queens Arthroscopy & Sports Medicine v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co (2013 NY Slip Op 52021(U))
| Queens Arthroscopy & Sports Medicine v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 52021(U) [41 Misc 3d 142(A)] |
| Decided on November 29, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : RIOS, J.P., PESCE and SOLOMON, JJ
2012-1339 Q C.
against
Unitrin Direct Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Carmen R. Velasquez, J.), entered May 3, 2012, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered May 29, 2012 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the May 3, 2012 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion to dismiss the complaint, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $5,486.66
ORDERED that the judgment is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the record indicates that, subsequent to the assignment of benefits from plaintiff’s assignor to plaintiff and the provision of services by plaintiff to its assignor, plaintiff commenced this action in the Civil Court, and plaintiff’s assignor commenced an arbitration proceeding for a determination of whether defendant Unitrin Direct Insurance Company or Arch Insurance Company should provide no-fault coverage to him. On March 23, 2011, plaintiff moved in this action for summary judgment, and the following day, the arbitrator issued a decision, which stated that, based upon the credible evidence before him, either defendant or Arch Insurance Company [*2]would be the source of first-party no-fault benefits. The arbitrator directed Arch Insurance Company to commence processing plaintiff’s claims, because that insurer had received notice of the claims first. Defendant opposed plaintiff’s motion and, based on the arbitrator’s decision, cross-moved to dismiss the complaint pursuant to CPLR 3212 and CPLR 3211 (a) (5). Plaintiff submitted opposition. Defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted plaintiff’s motion and denied defendant’s cross motion. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which the appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
Contrary to defendant’s contention, we find that plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof of the submission to defendant of the claim forms, proof of the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and proof that defendant had failed to pay or deny the claims within the requisite 30-day period (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). Consequently, the burden shifted to defendant to raise a triable issue of fact (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
In opposition to plaintiff’s motion and in support of its own cross motion, defendant submitted the affirmation of its counsel, who argued, among other things, that plaintiff’s action is barred by the decision in the arbitration proceeding. However, plaintiff was not named in the arbitration and was not in privity with its assignor, who was a named party in that proceeding, as the assignment of benefits had been executed before the arbitration proceeding had been commenced, and plaintiff otherwise had no full and fair opportunity to appear and defend its interests in that proceeding. Consequently, the instant action is not subject to dismissal by virtue of the decision in the arbitration hearing (see Gramatan Home Invs. Corp. v Lopez, 46 NY2d 481 [1979]; Smooth Dental, P.L.L.C. v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co., 37 Misc 3d 67 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]). As a result, defendant’s cross motion to dismiss the complaint was properly denied and plaintiffs motion for summary judgment was properly granted.
Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.
Rios, J.P., Pesce and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: November 29, 2013
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejected the insurer's challenge and held the provider established its prima facie case by proof of submission of the claim forms, the fact and amount of the loss, and nonpayment or denial within 30 days.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483) FollowedThe provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
- Smooth Dental, P.L.L.C. v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22301) FollowedThe provider was not bound by a declaratory judgment against its assignor because the assignment preceded that action.
Similar decisions
- Dayna Physical Therapy, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50322(U))The provider's claims were not barred by the assignor's election to arbitrate because the assignment preceded that election.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50373(U))The insurer failed to prove a timely denial, and the provider failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
- Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51897(U))A declaratory judgment denying a provider's accident-related no-fault entitlement has preclusive effect even if entered on default.
- Alev Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51294(U))One provider's arbitration does not bar another provider's action on claims assigned by the same person and arising from the same accident.
- Brooklyn Hgts. Physical Therapy, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52406(U))The insurer established the assignor's IME nonappearance and defeated the provider's challenge to the duplicate denial requirement.