August 4, 2017
Promed Orthocare Supply, Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51264(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/promed-orthocare-supply-inc-v-geico-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op51264u/
- Decided
- August 4, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51264(U)
- Posture
- Trial
- Later treatment
- Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Promed Orthocare Supply, Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51264(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Geico Ins. Co., Appellant.
The Law Office of Printz & Goldstein (Lawrence J. Chanice, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn (Emilia I. Rutigliano, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from a judgment of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered October 1, 2015. The judgment, after a nonjury trial, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $1,051.81.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for the entry of a judgment in favor of plaintiff in the principal sum of $549.18 on the first cause of action, following a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees thereon, and for a new trial on the second cause of action.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits for various medical supplies it had provided to its assignor, a nonjury trial was held, limited to defendant’s defense of lack of medical necessity (see CPLR 3212 [g]). As to the medical necessity of the cervical traction unit for which recovery is sought in the second cause of action, which is the sole issue raised on appeal, defendant’s expert witness testified that he had reviewed the assignor’s medical records and that the cervical traction unit was not medically necessary. After awarding plaintiff a directed verdict on the first cause of action, the Civil Court stated, with regard to the second cause of action, that it had “no choice but to find in favor of the plaintiff,” as there was no proof as to the findings of the author of the peer review report upon which the denial of claim had been based, and therefore the court had no way of knowing whether defendant’s expert witness agreed or disagreed with the original peer reviewer. A judgment was subsequently entered awarding plaintiff $549.18 on the first cause of action and $502.63 on the second cause [*2]of action, as well as statutory interest and attorney’s fees.
The Civil Court erred in refusing to consider expert testimony from the witness who did not prepare the peer review report on the ground that the peer review report was not admitted into evidence, and in indicating that testimony from the author of the peer review report was required. Testimony of an expert witness who did not prepare the peer review report upon which an insurer’s denial of claim was based can be used to prove a lack of medical necessity (see e.g. Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v GEICO Ins. Co., 36 Misc 3d 141[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 51490[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]). Moreover, at trial, an insurer cannot use a peer review report to prove its defense of lack of medical necessity (see e.g. A-Quality Med. Supply v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co., 39 Misc 3d 24 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]). While the expert witness’s testimony should be limited to the basis for the denial as set forth in the peer review report (e.g. Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 154[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50349[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]), it is plaintiff’s burden to make an appropriate objection in the event the testimony goes beyond the basis for the denial and, if necessary, produce the peer review report. As plaintiff here failed to make an appropriate objection, it was error for the Civil Court to have disregarded the testimony of defendant’s witness. Consequently, a new trial is required on the second cause of action.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for the entry of a judgment in favor of plaintiff in the principal sum of $549.18 on the first cause of action, following a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees thereon, and for a new trial on the second cause of action.
WESTON, J.P., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: August 04, 2017
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Trial ruling on burden or admissibility of the insurer's proof; matter sent back without a finding
Ordered a new trial on the traction unit claim because the trial court wrongly disregarded testimony from an expert who had not written the peer review; the provider bore the burden to object to testimony beyond the denial's basis.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 32 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Metropolitan Med. Supplies, LLC v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51490(U)) FollowedAn insurer's medical expert may testify without having prepared the peer review, but must stay within the denial's stated basis.
- A-Quality Med. Supply v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23088) FollowedAn insurer's peer review report is inadmissible at trial to prove lack of medical necessity.
- Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50349(U)) FollowedAn insurer's trial expert may testify on medical necessity without having authored the peer review, within the original report's denial basis.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Radiology Today, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51768(U)) FollowedAn insurer may present substitute expert testimony on medical necessity without admitting the peer review report for its truth.
- Staten Is. Advanced Surgical Supply v GEICO Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51895(U)) FollowedAn insurer's medical expert may testify to lack of medical necessity without having authored the peer review underlying the denial.
- Trimed Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51957(U)) FollowedAn insurer's trial expert may differ from the peer reviewer, but testimony must remain within the original report's denial grounds.
- Nova Chiropractic Servs., P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51688(U)) FollowedAn insurer's medical expert may testify about lack of medical necessity even if another expert prepared the peer review report.
- North Am. Partners In Anesthesia, LLP v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50683(U)) FollowedAn insurer's expert may testify to lack of medical necessity without having prepared the underlying peer review report.
- Jamaica Med. Plaza, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51837(U))An insurer's substitute medical expert may testify on lack of medical necessity within the grounds stated in the original peer review report.
Similar decisions
- Promed Durable Equip., Inc. v Geico Ins. (2014 NY Slip Op 50772(U))The provider failed to rebut a peer review finding that an existing physical therapy plan rendered the disputed supplies unnecessary.
- Main St. Medcare, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50686(U))The provider's directed verdict on medical necessity was reversed after the insurer's substitute expert was excluded as hearsay.
- Med-Tech Prods., Inc. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52111(U))The insurer's affirmed peer reviews raised a triable issue concerning the medical necessity of equipment supplied to the assignors.