• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
November 5, 2009

Popular Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52355(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/popular-imaging-p-c-v-state-farm-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op-52355u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Judge
Levine, J.
Decided
November 5, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 52355(U) · 25 Misc 3d 1230(A)
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Trial and evidence Medical necessity
Legal questions
Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Cite as
Popular Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 1230(A), 2009 NY Slip Op 52355(U) (Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider could not challenge the reliability of referring-physician records it relied on to perform the MRI. The Civil Court, Richmond County, rendered judgment for the insurer after a trial on medical necessity. The provider objected that the reviewing neurosurgeon's opinion relied on records not in evidence. Because the provider performed the MRI on the treating physician's referral and returned the results, it could not dispute those records' reliability and authenticity. The expert also established professional acceptance and reliability under Wagman v Bradshaw and Hambsch v N.Y.C. Transit Auth. The expert found no clinical basis justifying the lumbar MRI, and the provider offered no rebuttal evidence. The court found it unnecessary to rule on the other reviewed doctors' reports, though it indicated the expert could also rely on them.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Popular Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52355(U))

[*1]
Popular Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 52355(U) [25 Misc 3d 1230(A)]
Decided on November 5, 2009
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Richmond County
Levine, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on November 5, 2009

Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County



Popular Imaging, P.C., Plaintiff,

against

State Farm Ins. Co., Defendant.

13134/07

Counsel for Plaintiff:

Joseph Sparacio

2555 Richmond Avenue

Staten Island, New York 10314

(718) 966-0055

Counsel for Defendant:

Diamond, Rutman, Costello & Si

291 Broadway, Suite 1100

New York, New York 10007

(212) 267-4731

Katherine A. Levine, J.

This case calls upon the court to again examine whether an expert witness called by a defendant insurance company may rely upon medical records, prepared by an entity other than the plaintiff medical service provider, to formulate an opinion as to the medical necessity of services provided by the plaintiff.

Plaintiff Popular Imaging, P.C., (“plaintiff” or “Popular Imaging”), a medical service provider, seeks to recover r payments from defendant State Farm Insurance Co. (“defendant” or “State Farm”) for an MRI of the lumbar spine that it provided to the assignor Belquis Perez (“assignor” or “Perez”) as a result of the injuries that she sustained in an automobile accident. Defendant claims that the services were medically unnecessary. At the trial, the parties stipulated to plaintiff’s prima facie case and to defendant’s timely denial of the claim. Therefore, the only issue before the court was whether the medical services provided was medically necessary. [*2]

Dr .James B. Sarno (“Dr. Sarno”), who is a board certified neurosurgeon, prepared a peer review report and testified that the MRI performed on the assignor’s lumbar spine was medically unnecessary. At the outset of Dr. Sarno’s testimony, plaintiff refused to stipulate into evidence the peer review report prepared by and medical records reviewed by Dr. Sarno, contending that this court should not consider Dr. Sarno’s opinion since it was based upon medical records and reports that were not in evidence and for which no evidence was submitted as to their reliability. pursuant to the leading case of Wagman v. Bradshaw, 292 AD2d 84 ( 2d Dpt 2002). The court reserved decision on this objection to Dr. Sarno’s testimony.

Dr. Sarno’s testimony referred, for the most part, to the records and reports of Dr. Noel Fleisher, a board certified neurologist, who was the assignor’s treating physician and who referred the assignor to the plaintiff for an MRI. On August 23, 2002, Dr. Fleisher issued a report as to the results of his neurological consultation with the assignor some two weeks after the accident. He set forth as his impressions post concussion syndrome, traumatic cervical radiculopathy, traumatic lumbar radiculopathy, and myofacial pain syndrome. He indicated that he would consider a MRI scan and/or EMG studies. He listed the prognosis as guarded. Dr. Sarno also listed on his peer review the March 7, 2003 letter from plaintiff to Dr. Fleisher explaining the results of the MRI of the lumbar spine.The peer review report also lists a number of other reports, letters or diagnosis from other entities that were independent of both Dr. Fleisher and plaintiff (“independent reports’) such as New York Neurology, P.C.; Central Park Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, etc.

It is well settled that when records are prepared by a plaintiff medical service provider’s own principal, who treated the claimant and conducted the tests in questions, a plaintiff cannot viably argue that a defendant’s expert opinion “was not derived from a professional reliable source or to otherwise challenge the reliability of its own medical records and reports which were used as proof of its claim”. Andrew Carothers, M.D. (Martinez) v. GEICO, 2008 NY Slip Op 50456U, 18 Misc 3d 1147A (Civil Ct., Kings Co. 2008);. See, Cross Continental Medical v. Allstate, 13 Misc 3d 10 (App. Term 1st Dept. 2006).

In Velen Medical Supply Inc. V. Travelers Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 781 (Civil Ct., Queens Co. 2008), the court extended this ruling to permit testimony by a defendant’s expert based upon medical records and reports prepared by entities other than the plaintiff. The court first found that the records at issue fell within the fourth category of admissible opinion evidence set forth in the leading case of Wagman v. Bradshaw. 292 AD2d 84, 86-87 ( 2d Dept. 2002) : “material not in evidence provided the out- of-court material is accompanied by evidence establishing its reliability.” The court then cited to Hambsch v. N.Y.C. Transit Auth., 63 NY2d 723, 726 (1884) where the Court of Appeals held that an expert “may rely on out-of-court material if it is of a kind accepted in the profession as reliable in forming a professional opinion’ or if it comes from a witness subject to full cross examination.'”.

As to the Wagman issue, the Velen court found that in the context of no-fault, a plaintiff could not challenge the reliability of the assignors’ medical records and reports, even if those [*3]reports were not prepared by the plaintiff, if they were provided by plaintiff in response to defendant’s verification requests and were affirmatively relied upon by plaintiff as proof of claim. 20 Misc 3d at 784.See, Home Care Ortho. Med. Supply Inc., v. American MFRS. Mut. Ins. Co., 2007 NY Slip Op 50302[U] , 14 Misc 3d 139A (App. Term,1st Dept. 2007). Subsequently, Judge Sweeney extended this reasoning to the situation where the plaintiff’s assignor, rather than the plaintiff, provided the medical records to the defendant in response to a verification request. See, Primary Psychiatric Health, P.C., v. State Farm Mutual, 2007 NY Slip Op 50583U, 15 Misc 3d 1111A (Civil Ct., Kings Co. 2007). In fact, the Appellate Term has recently ruled that a defendant’s expert may not be precluded from testifying even though his opinion was based upon medical records prepared by physicians other than the plaintiff relating to treatment provided to the assignor. Bronx Expert Radiology v. NY Central Mutual, 2009 NY Slip Op 514575U, 2009 NY Misc. LEXIS 1796 ( App. Term, 1st Dept. 2009).

Here, the assignor’s physician, Dr. Fleisher , recommended that a MRI be performed; this is confirmed by Dr. Fleisher’s records. Dr. Sarno testified that in formulating an opinion he relied primarily upon Dr. Fleisher’s August 23, 2002 report of his neurological consultation with the assignor[FN1] and Dr. Fleisher’s EMG/NCV testing of September 13, 2002. Since plaintiff performed the MRI based upon the records and referral from the assignor’s treating physician, who apparently deemed the test to be medically necessary, and since plaintiff sent the results and explanation of the MRI back to Fleisher, plaintiff cannot now be heard to challenge the reliability and authenticity of Dr. Fleisher’s records.

As to the requirement that the material be generally accepted in the profession as reliable and there be evidence establishing its reliability, Dr. Sarno testified that these are the types of reports that a doctor would review to offer an opinion on the necessity of a lumbar MRI. Dr. Sarno uses other doctors’ reports in formulating a medical opinion about his own patients and that it is a generally accepted standard in the medical profession to form an opinion based in part on other doctors reports. He testified that he takes these reports at face value. Dr. Sarno’s testimony is consistent with set precedent that a physician’s office records are admissible as evidence at trial to the extent they are germane to diagnosis and treatment. Hazel Bruce Bishop v. Jafar, 302 AD2d 345 (2d Dept. 2003). Furthermore, an expert is entitled to rely upon facts set forth in medical records so long as he did not base his opinions upon the conclusions contained in the records. Meagan Murray v. Weisenfeld 37 AD3d 432, 434 (2d Dept. 2007); Bruce Bishop v. Jafar, supra. [*4]

Dr. Sarno then testified that it is generally accepted medical procedure to send a patient for a lumbar MRI where there is actual evidence of radiculopathy, irregularities in the neurological exam or failure to respond to conservative treatment. None of these factors were present in the documents reviewed by Dr. Sarno so as to justify the medical necessity of the lumbar MRI. On cross examination. Dr. Sarno reiterated that there were no actual neurological findings in the lower extremities to support a finding of radiculopathy He also testified that no EMG/NCV studies were even performed in the lumbar area of the body. Plaintiff presented no evidence or testimony in this matter, choosing instead to rely upon the aforementioned argument concerning the ability of Dr. Sarno to render an opinion and its cross examination of Dr. Sarno. Plaintiff has failed to refute the expert testimony and opinion and failed to produce evidence to rebut the lack of medical necessity for the lumbar MRI. As such, judgment is rendered in favor of defendant

.

Dated: November 5, 2009

KATHERINE A. LEVINE

JUDGE, CIVIL COURT

Footnotes

Footnote 1:(Since Dr. Sarno relied for the most part upon Dr. Fleisher’s records, it is not necessary for this court to render an opinion about the admissibility of the panoply of reports from other doctors that were reviewed by Dr. Sarno and which accompanied his peer review report. However, it appears that these reports were provided to Sarno by DND – a third party- who apparently received all the records from plaintiff as a result of defendant’s verification request (defendant’s 2). As such, in accordance with the aforementioned precedent, Dr. Sarno could also properly rely upon these records in formulating an opinion.

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Lack of medical necessity

Open the full map

Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?

This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it

After trial, held the insurer's expert could rely on the referring physician's records and credited his testimony that the lumbar MRI was unnecessary; the provider offered no rebuttal evidence, so judgment went to the insurer.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 521
  • Trial courtsTrial 87
2022, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer raised triable issue)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2022, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2021, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Trial error, new trial)2019, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (8 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient, 3 Trial error, new trial)2018, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (7 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2017, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (5 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 7 Trial error, new trial)2016, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (9 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2014, Appellate Term: 40 decisions (16 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 22 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2013, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (40 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 12 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 2 Trial error, new trial)2012, Appellate Term: 76 decisions (54 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 10 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 5 Trial error, new trial)2011, Appellate Term: 56 decisions (42 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 6 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 4 Trial error, new trial)2010, Appellate Term: 66 decisions (50 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2009, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (17 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (14 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 9 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2006, Appellate Term: 20 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 11 Insurer raised triable issue, 8 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (6 Insurer raised triable issue, 10 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 9 Insurer's proof insufficient)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 6 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2014, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Trial error, new trial)2012, Trial courts: 7 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 3 Insurer's proof insufficient)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2010, Trial courts: 10 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 7 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2009, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 2 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2008, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2006, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Trial courts: 9 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 6 Insurer's proof insufficient)2004, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 5 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2003, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2026, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)This decision
20052010201520202025
Unrebutted, insurer prevailsProvider's rebuttal sufficientInsurer raised triable issueInsurer's proof insufficientTrial error, new trialThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v GEICO Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50456(U)) FollowedThe insurer's expert established that MRIs performed less than a month after soft-tissue injuries lacked medical necessity.
  • Cross Cont. Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26322) FollowedA provider cannot challenge the reliability of its own principal's treatment records as the source of an insurer's expert opinion.
  • Velen Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28252) FollowedA provider may not challenge the reliability of its own medical records relied on by an insurer's peer reviewer.
  • Home Care Ortho. Med. Supply, Inc. v American Manufactures Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50302(U)) FollowedAn insurer's medical-necessity expert may testify without having performed the original peer review if testimony stays within its grounds.
  • Primary Psychiatric Health, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50583(U))A provider cannot challenge the reliability of information its assignors supplied during psychological IMEs requested as verification.

Cited by

  • Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50800(U))The insurer failed to establish lack of medical necessity because its substitute peer review expert did not prove the records' reliability.

Similar decisions

  • Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50053(U))A neurologist assessing the necessity of chiropractor-ordered MRIs must be shown familiar with generally accepted chiropractic practices.
  • Bajaj v GEICO (2012 NY Slip Op 51106(U))A substitute medical expert may support a medical necessity defense at trial without admission of the underlying peer review report.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Deerbrook Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50368(U))An insurer need not seek further verification when its medical experts have sufficient information to assess medical necessity.
  • IAV Med. Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50433(U))A substitute medical expert may testify to the original peer review's grounds for denial when available for full cross-examination.
  • Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v GEICO Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51775(U))The insurer's unrebutted expert testimony and peer review established that the cervical MRI was not medically necessary.
Beynenson Law

No-fault collections for healthcare providers across New York State, with billing available together with collections.

Request a free claims review
About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Services

  • No-Fault Collections
  • Billing and Collections
  • Provider Defense

Research & Data

  • All Research & Data
  • Search Case Law & Regulations
  • New Decisions
  • Decisions by Court
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations
  • Claim Process & Deadlines
  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Arbitration Results by Provider
  • Ask No-Fault AI

©2026 The Beynenson Law Group, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.