October 12, 2011
Parkway Imaging & Diagnostic, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51853(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/parkway-imaging-diagnostic-p-c-v-clarendon-natl-ins-co-2011-ny-slip-op51853u/
- Decided
- October 12, 2011
- Citation
- 2011 NY Slip Op 51853(U) · 33 Misc 3d 129(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- IME no-show
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Parkway Imaging & Diagnostic, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51853(U))
| Parkway Imaging & Diagnostic, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. |
| 2011 NY Slip Op 51853(U) [33 Misc 3d 129(A)] |
| Decided on October 12, 2011 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and STEINHARDT, JJ
2010-496 Q C.
against
Clarendon National Insurance Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.), entered December 8, 2009, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered January 19, 2010 (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the December 8, 2009 order denying defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $878.67.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, without costs, the order is vacated, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, finding that the affirmation of defendant’s independent medical examination (IME) doctor failed to establish the assignor’s nonappearance. We deem defendant’s appeal from the order to be from the judgment entered pursuant to the order (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]).
In support of its motion, defendant submitted an affidavit of the president of Media Referral, Inc., the independent medical review service retained by defendant to schedule IMEs, which affidavit sufficiently established that the IME requests had been timely mailed in accordance with Media Referral, Inc.’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). [*2]Defendant also submitted an affirmation of the doctor who was retained to perform the IMEs, which was sufficient to establish that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for the duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). In addition, an affidavit executed by defendant’s claims examiner demonstrated that the claim denial form, based on plaintiff’s assignor’s nonappearance at the IMEs, had been timely mailed pursuant to defendant’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16). Since an assignor’s appearance at an IME “is a condition precedent to the insurer’s liability on the policy” (Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d at 722; see also Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-1.1), defendant properly denied plaintiff’s claim based upon the assignor’s failure to satisfy a condition precedent to coverage and, thus, was not precluded from raising such issue (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2d Dept 2009]; but see Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559 [1st Dept 2011]). The opposing affirmation submitted by plaintiff’s counsel was insufficient to raise a triable issue of fact.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order is vacated, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Steinhardt, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: October 12, 2011
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held, reversing a contrary finding, that the scheduling service's affidavit established timely mailing of the IME requests and the IME doctor's affirmation established the assignor's nonappearance; counsel's opposition raised no triable issue.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer not precluded from its IME no-show defense because it showed timely mailing of the denial based on the nonappearance, applying the preclusion rule.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the scheduling service president's affidavit established timely mailing of the IME requests and the claims examiner's affidavit established timely mailing of the denial under standard practices.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011 NY Slip Op 01948) Contrasted (cf., but see)An assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.
Similar decisions
- Proscan Imaging Buffalo v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51855(U))The insurer's affidavits established timely IME notices and denials and the assignor's nonappearances, requiring dismissal.
- Park Slope Med. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52062(U))An assignor's appearance at a duly scheduled IME is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- Padova Physical Rehab. Medicine, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51862(U))The insurer's proof established timely IME notices and denials and the assignor's nonappearances, warranting summary judgment.
- Axis Chiropractic, PLLC v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50753(U))The insurer established timely mailing of IME notices and denials and the assignors' failure to appear for the scheduled IMEs. In the provider's action for assigned no-fault benefits, affidavits from the scheduling company's president established timely mailing through standard office practices and procedures.
- Triangle R, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51854(U))The insurer established the assignor's IME nonappearances and timely mailing of notices and the denial, warranting dismissal.