• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
August 12, 2022

Parisien v Allstate Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 22262)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/parisien-v-allstate-ins-co-2022-ny-slip-op-22262/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
August 12, 2022
Citation
2022 NY Slip Op 22262 · 76 Misc 3d 14
Posture
Default or vacatur
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Defaults and vacatur
Cite as
Parisien v Allstate Ins. Co., 76 Misc 3d 14 (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2022)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer established grounds to vacate its default through counsel's prompt action and an undisputed lack-of-coverage defense. The insurer failed to forward the complaint to counsel but had previously told the provider it did not insure the assignor. After notice of the default judgment, it sought withdrawal of the action and referred the matter to counsel, which promptly answered and moved to vacate. Applying CPLR 5015 (a) (1), the majority relied on the absence of a pattern of neglect, the undisputed defense, no claimed prejudice from the brief delay, and the policy favoring decisions on the merits. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed vacatur; a dissent considered the default intentional and inexcusable and would have denied the motion.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Parisien v Allstate Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 22262)

Parisien v Allstate Ins. Co.
2022 NY Slip Op 22262 [76 Misc 3d 14]
Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, October 19, 2022

[*1]

Jules Francois Parisien, M.D., as Assignee of Emma Pierre-Louis, Appellant,
v
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.

Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, 2d, 11th and 13th Judicial Districts, August 12, 2022

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell and Richard Rozhik of counsel) for appellant.

Abrams, Cohen & Associates, P.C. (Frank Piccininni of counsel) for respondent.

{**76 Misc 3d at 15} OPINION OF THE COURT

Memorandum.

Ordered that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits from the alleged insurer of its assignor, defendant failed to appear or answer the complaint, and a default judgment was entered on July 26, 2018. On September 6, 2018, defendant served an answer and, in November 2018, it moved to vacate the default judgment. Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court entered October 21, 2019, granting defendant’s motion, finding that defendant had demonstrated a reasonable excuse for its default and a meritorious defense.

In its moving papers, defendant explained that its default had been due to its own failure to forward the complaint to its attorneys. However, it asserted that it had not ignored the matter, but rather had informed plaintiff several months prior to the commencement of the action that it was not the insurance carrier for plaintiff’s assignor—an assertion which plaintiff has never contradicted. Upon receiving notice of the default judgment, defendant requested that the action [*2]be “withdrawn.” Defendant thereafter referred the matter to its counsel, which promptly served an answer and then moved to vacate the default judgment.

A defendant seeking to vacate a default judgment pursuant to CPLR 5015 (a) (1) must demonstrate a reasonable excuse for the default and a potentially meritorious defense to the action (see Eugene Di Lorenzo, Inc. v A.C. Dutton Lbr. Co., 67 NY2d 138, 141 [1986]). The determination of what constitutes a reasonable{**76 Misc 3d at 16} excuse for a default generally lies within the sound discretion of the motion court (see Nationstar Mtge., LLC v Ramnarine, 172 AD3d 886, 886 [2019]). Here, in light of the absence of an evident pattern of neglect and counsel’s prompt actions, upon entering the case, in seeking to vacate the default (see Barajas v Toll Bros., 247 AD2d 242, 242-243 [1998]), the meritorious defense of lack of coverage, which plaintiff has never disputed, plaintiff’s failure to claim any prejudice by reason of the brief delay involved (see New York Univ. Hosp. Tisch Inst. v Merchants Mut. Ins. Co., 15 AD3d 554, 555 [2005]; see also Matter of A&F Scaccia Realty Corp. v New York City Dept. of Envtl. Protection, 200 AD3d 875, 878 [2021]; Allstate Ins. Co. v North Shore Univ. Hosp., 163 AD3d 745, 746 [2018]), and the public policy favoring the resolution of cases on the merits (see Allstate Ins. Co. v North Shore Univ. Hosp., 163 AD3d at 746; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hartford Cas. Ins. Co., 58 AD3d 832, 833 [2009]; Legion Ins. Co. v James, 27 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50593[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]), we conclude that the Civil Court providently exercised its discretion in granting defendant’s motion.

Accordingly, the order is affirmed.

Weston, J. (dissenting and voting to reverse the order and deny defendant’s motion to vacate the default judgment in the following memorandum).

When defendant was served with a summons and complaint on May 29, 2018, it elected not to forward the matter to its attorney to serve and file an answer because it believed that plaintiff’s claim is meritless. Defendant did not answer until September 6, 2018, approximately six weeks after a default judgment had been entered on July 26, 2018, and more than three months after service. A party may not choose when to answer and, given the lengthy delay in answering, it is clear that defendant’s default was intentional and, therefore, inexcusable (see Fok v Insurance Co. of N. Am., 151 AD2d 722, 722 [1989]). Since defendant failed to establish a reasonable excuse for its default in answering the complaint, defendant’s motion should have been denied without the need to consider whether defendant demonstrated the existence of a potentially meritorious defense (see Nationstar Mtge., LLC v Ramnarine, 172 AD3d 886, 887 [2019]; New Century Mtge. Corp. v Adeyan-Ju, 139 AD3d 683, 684 [2016]).

Accordingly, I vote to reverse the order and deny defendant’s motion to vacate the default judgment.{**76 Misc 3d at 17}

Aliotta, P.J., and Buggs, J., concur; Weston, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.

Cited in this decision

  • New York Univ. Hosp. Tisch Inst. v Merchants Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 01332)The insurer established a reasonable excuse for its default and a meritorious defense of exhausted no-fault benefits.
  • Allstate Ins. Co. v North Shore Univ. Hosp. (2018 NY Slip Op 05268)The provider's reasonable excuse and potentially meritorious defense warranted vacating its default in the insurer's de novo action.
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hartford Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 00528)The insurers showed an excusable default and a potentially meritorious defense based on partial exhaustion of policy limits.
  • Legion Ins. Co. v James (2010 NY Slip Op 50593(U))The defendant's motion to vacate the reinstated default judgment in the insurer's no-fault subrogation action was granted and affirmed.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Trinity Medicine, P.C. v National Gen. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50197(U)) FollowedThe insurer's isolated failure to serve its answer was excusable, and a default declaratory judgment supplied a potentially meritorious defense.

Similar decisions

  • Pierre J. Renelique Physician, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 29225)The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for default by citing the absence of a record of receiving process.
  • A.H. Physical Therapy, P.C. v 21st Century Advantage Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21355)The insurer's detailed claims-clerk affidavit rebutted the process server's affidavit and required a traverse hearing on service.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Bruno Med. Supply, Inc. (2026 NY Slip Op 01332)The provider's contradictory and conclusory allegations of law office failure did not reasonably excuse its default in answering.
  • Art of Healing Medicine, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 51471(U))The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for its default based on nonreceipt of process or pandemic-related staffing reductions.
  • V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29226)The provider's conclusory claim that counsel failed to calendar the trial date did not reasonably excuse its default.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.