November 12, 2015
Palafox PT, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51653(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/palafox-pt-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2015-ny-slip-op51653u/
- Decided
- November 12, 2015
- Citation
- 2015 NY Slip Op 51653(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 9 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Palafox PT, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51653(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered January 31, 2013. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Civil Court found that defendant had timely and properly denied the claims at issue on the ground that plaintiff had failed to comply with a condition precedent to coverage, in that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs). On appeal, plaintiff argues that defendant failed to prove that it had mailed its EUO scheduling letters and denial of claim forms, or that plaintiff had failed to appear for the EUOs; that defendant lacked justification for its EUO requests; that defendant’s motion should have been denied pursuant to CPLR 3212 (f), as plaintiff had not received discovery regarding the reasonableness of defendant’s EUO requests; and that defendant failed to prove that plaintiff had willfully obstructed defendant’s investigation.
Contrary to plaintiff’s arguments, the affidavits submitted by defendant established that the EUO scheduling letters and the denial of claim forms had been timely mailed in accordance with defendant’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). In addition, the affirmation submitted by defendant’s attorney, who was present in his office to conduct the EUO of plaintiff on the scheduled dates, was sufficient to establish that plaintiff had failed to appear.
With respect to plaintiff’s contention that defendant failed to demonstrate justification for its EUO requests, the Appellate Division, Second Department, has held that where an insurer moves for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that a provider’s assignor failed to appear for an EUO, to establish its prima facie case, the insurer need only establish “as a matter of law that it twice duly demanded an [EUO] from the [provider’s] assignor, who had allegedly been injured in a motor vehicle accident, that the assignor twice failed to appear, and that the [insurer] issued a timely denial of the claims arising from the [provider’s] treatment of the assignor” (Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d 596, 597 [2014]). Moreover, a review of the record in Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon (113 AD3d 596) reveals that in that case, the provider argued, as does plaintiff herein, that the insurer’s motion should have been denied pursuant to CPLR 3212 (f), as the provider had not received discovery regarding the reasonableness of defendant’s EUO requests, and that, even if there had been a failure to appear for two duly scheduled EUOs, the insurer had to show that the failure to appear constituted willful obstruction of the insurer’s investigation. In finding for the insurer, the Appellate Division, Second [*2]Department, stated the following:
“the [providers] failed to establish that summary judgment was premature in light of outstanding discovery. A party who contends that a summary judgment motion is premature is required to demonstrate that discovery might lead to relevant evidence or [that] the facts essential to justify opposition to the motion were exclusively within the knowledge and control of the movant’ (Cajas-Romero v Ward, 106 AD3d 850, 852 [2013]; see CPLR 3212 [f]). Here, in support of their contention that the [insurer’s] motion was premature, the [providers] did not establish what information they hoped to discover that would demonstrate the existence of a triable issue of fact” (113 AD3d at 597).
Similarly, in the instant case, plaintiff did not establish what information it hoped to discover that would demonstrate the existence of a triable issue of fact (cf. American Tr. Ins. Co. v Jaga Med. Servs., P.C., 128 AD3d 441 [2015]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: November 12, 2015
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it
Applied the rule requiring a timely denial as part of the EUO no-show case and rejected the provider's challenge, holding the denial forms were shown timely mailed.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Rejected the provider's argument and held the insurer's affidavits of standard office practices established timely mailing of the EUO scheduling letters and the denial of claim forms.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the EUO no-show defense established by proof of mailing and the conducting attorney's affirmation of nonappearance; no objective justification or willfulness was required, and no CPLR 3212 (f) need for discovery was shown.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon (2014 NY Slip Op 00092) FollowedThe assignor's two EUO nonappearances supported a declaration that the providers were not entitled to no-fault benefits.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Jaga Med. Servs., P.C. (2015 NY Slip Op 03925) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's summary judgment motion based on the claimant's EUO nonappearance was denied because essential discovery remained outstanding.
Cited by (34)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Professional Health Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50698(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The provider could not challenge the reasons for EUO requests in litigation after failing to object during claims processing.
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v Geico Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51518(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not state objective reasons for requesting EUOs to establish prima facie entitlement to summary judgment for nonappearance.
- NL Quality Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 50997(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved timely mailing of EUO notices and denials and the provider's nonappearance through an attorney's affirmation.
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50864(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not state objective reasons for requesting EUOs to establish entitlement to summary judgment for EUO nonappearance.
- Avalon Radiology, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26182) FollowedAn insurer must supply specific objective justification for a provider's EUO when the provider timely requests that justification.
- Stracar Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51415(U)) FollowedThe provider could not challenge the reasonableness of EUO requests after failing to allege or prove any response to them.
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51594(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not state objective reasons for requesting EUOs to establish prima facie entitlement to summary judgment for nonappearance.
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50678(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely mailing of the follow-up EUO notice for the first cause of action.
- LMS Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Automotive Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50696(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not state objective reasons for requesting EUOs to obtain summary judgment based on a provider's nonappearance.
- Bronx Chiropractic Care, P.C. v State Farm Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 50700(U)) FollowedAn insurer need not state objective reasons for requesting EUOs to establish entitlement to summary judgment based on nonappearance.
Show all 34 citing decisions
- Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50760(U))
- Professional Health Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51026(U))
- New Way Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51158(U))
- Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51038(U))
- 21st Century Pharm., Inc. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51629(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51684(U))
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v Zipcar (2021 NY Slip Op 50844(U))
- Professional Health Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50997(U))
- NY Rehab Pain Mgt. & Med. Servs., PC v State Farm Auto Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50821(U))
- Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50759(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51161(U))
- Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51865(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50837(U))
- Pavlova v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51632(U))
- LMS Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51655(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs.; Lyonel F. Paul, M.D. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51773(U))
- Actual Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 50421(U))
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50744(U))
- Actual Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 51552(U))
- Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51956(U))
- Pavlova v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50559(U))
- ACH Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50795(U))
- Sloan v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50997(U))
Similar decisions
- Vladenn Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50928(U))The insurer proved timely mailing and the provider's EUO nonappearances, while the provider failed to justify further discovery.
- Flatlands Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50071(U))The provider's EUO nonappearances defeated coverage, and its objections to the requests could not be considered absent any alleged response.
- First Class Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50593(U))The insurer established two EUO nonappearances and timely denials, warranting dismissal with prejudice rather than dismissal as premature.
- Flatbush Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51880(U))The provider's failure to respond to EUO requests foreclosed its objections and made discovery on their reasonableness unnecessary.
- Dynamic Balance Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. (2019 NY Slip Op 50171(U))The provider's challenge to the EUO demands failed because it offered no proof of mailing its objection letter.