February 3, 2006
Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50140(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ocean-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-allstate-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-50140u/
- Decided
- February 3, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 50140(U) · 10 Misc 3d 145(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Distinguished in 1 and followed in 1 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50140(U))
| Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2006 NY Slip Op 50140(U) [10 Misc 3d 145(A)] |
| Decided on February 3, 2006 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and BELEN, JJ
2005-27 K C. NO. 2005-27 K C
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Manuel J. Mendez, J.), entered November 15, 2004. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Order reversed without costs, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
Contrary to the determination of the court below, in this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to its assignors for injuries they sustained in accidents in February and May 2003, plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted claims, setting forth the fact and the amounts of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 4 Misc 3d 86 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Since defendant failed to seek verification of any of the assignments, and did not allege any deficiency in the assignments in its denial of claim forms, it waived any defenses with respect thereto (see New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 640 [2004]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Aetna Cas. & [*2]Sur. Co., 233 AD2d 433 [1996]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 70 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).
Defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact as to the $912 claim (see Alvarez v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320 [1986]). It is uncontroverted that defendant received plaintiff’s $912 claim in July 2003, for which it requested, in October 2003, additional verification in the form of an examination under oath. Since defendant failed to show how its October request was timely made (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]), we find that said
[*3]
request was untimely and the 30-day statutory period within which it had to pay or deny the claim was not tolled (see e.g. Struhl v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 138[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50864 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). Assuming, arguendo, that the additional verification request was timely, defendant would have, nonetheless, failed to raise a triable issue of fact since it did not provide plaintiff with a follow-up request after the assignor did not appear for the scheduled examination (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]). By not providing plaintiff with a follow-up request, defendant abandoned its verification request and may not, as a matter of law, use the failure of the plaintiff to provide said verification as a basis to deny the claim (see King’s Med. Supply v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 128[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50450 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Consequently, defendant is precluded from raising most defenses as to the $912 claim, and plaintiff is entitled to summary judgment thereon.
In support of its motion for summary judgment to recover its $2,670.40 claim for MRIs provided to its assignor, plaintiff submitted defendant’s timely denial of claim form which included an unsworn peer review report dated March 2003, asserting the lack of medical necessity for the MRIs based upon a review of a doctor’s report dated March 19, 2003. However, also in support of its motion, plaintiff submitted another report from the same doctor, dated February 26, 2003, which asserted in sufficient detail the
[*4]
medical necessity for the MRIs. Since plaintiff’s moving papers asserted, in admissible form, the medical necessity of the MRIs, and defendant’s opposition papers failed to address plaintiff’s proof as set forth in the sworn February doctor’s report, defendant failed to raise any triable issue with respect to the lack of medical necessity. Consequently, plaintiff is entitled to summary judgment on its $2,670.40 claim.
In view of the foregoing, the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees thereon pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Pesce, P.J., and Belen, J., concur.
Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.
[*5]
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and BELEN, JJ.
OCEAN DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING P.C.
a/a/o Salena Harrell
Jose Batiz,
Appellant,
-against-
ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent.
Golia, J., concurs with the result only, in the following memorandum:
While I agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority, I wish to emphasize that I disagree with certain propositions of law set forth in the cases cited therein which are inconsistent with my prior expressed positions and generally contrary to my views.
I must also note an important precept of law that has been properly applied in this case but is all too often forgotten. Once a party affirmatively and properly establishes an issue of fact, it is incumbent upon the other side to oppose it either factually or on “legal’ grounds. Failure to do so will result in that particular issue being determined in favor of the proponent (Millennium Med. Instruments v NYC Trans. Auth., 10 Misc 3d 139[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 52205[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). It must be remembered that this precept must be applied equally to both sides.
In the case at bar, the plaintiff presented a medical report in its motion for summary judgment by a Dr. Raufov dated February 26, 2003. That document effectively rebutted the findings of the defendant’s peer review doctor who did not consider the February 26, 2003 report when making his findings that resulted in a denial of benefits form being served on the claimant.
Inasmuch as the defendant failed to address this issue in its opposing papers, the majority was correct in holding that plaintiff’s prima facie showing of medical necessity went unrebutted and therefore was deemed proven.
[*6]
Decision Date: February 03, 2006
Legal questions (5)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the provider established its prima facie case by proof that it submitted claims stating the fact and amount of the losses and that payment was overdue, contrary to the lower court.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements
Held the insurer's EUO request, made in October on a claim received in July, untimely under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (b). Even if timely, the insurer sent no follow-up after the nonappearance, so the no-show could not support denial.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's medical-necessity proof failed (conclusory, no factual basis or rationale, inadmissible, not credited)
Held the insurer raised no triable issue on the MRIs' necessity because its unsworn peer review never addressed the provider's sworn doctor's report detailing why the MRIs were medically necessary.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient
Held the insurer's EUO verification request untimely, so it did not toll the 30-day period; even if it had been timely, the insurer abandoned it by sending no follow-up after the nonappearance.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 82 (this one included) are in the same category.
Could the insurer contest the validity of the provider’s assignment of benefits, or had it waived that defense?
This decision: Insurer barred from contesting the assignment because it did not timely object, verify, deny or plead on that ground (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer waived any defense based on the assignments because it never sought verification of them and alleged no deficiency in its denial of claim forms.
Of the 96 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 48 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24194)An insurer's timely medical-necessity denial does not replace admissible proof opposing a provider's summary judgment motion.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05626) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish mailing of assignment-verification requests and could not defeat the hospitals' summary judgment motion.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24506) FollowedThe providers' billing manager affidavit failed to establish submission of properly completed claim forms.
- Struhl v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50864(U))The insurer's admissible peer review raised a triable coverage issue despite its untimely denial and failure to prove verification tolling.
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50450(U)) FollowedThe insurer's failure to follow up a missed post-claim IME invalidated its denial based on nonappearance.
- Millennium Med. Instruments Inc. v NYC Tr. Auth. (2005 NY Slip Op 52205(U))The self-insurer established a lack of causal nexus between the accident and the injuries through an unrebutted bus driver's affidavit.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Sea Side Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26246) DistinguishedA verification follow-up sent only 28 days after the initial request does not preserve the insurer's time to pay or deny a claim.
- All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28207) FollowedA preclaim EUO set beyond 30 days after claim receipt must be rescheduled within that period to support a nonappearance defense.
Similar decisions
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50743(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME requests and failed to follow up on unanswered verification requests.
- Accessible & Advance Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51599(U))The insurer's timely denials lacked a factual basis, and it failed to prove timely sending of the referenced peer review.
- Radiology Today P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50472(U))An insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that the provider failed to submit its bill within the applicable 180-day period.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51747(U))The insurer's untimely EUO request did not toll its denial deadline, and its staged-accident defense lacked admissible proof.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.