February 16, 2018
Motionpro Physical Therapy v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50251(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/motionpro-physical-therapy-v-hereford-ins-co-2018-ny-slip-op50251u/
- Decided
- February 16, 2018
- Citation
- 2018 NY Slip Op 50251(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Motionpro Physical Therapy v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50251(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Hereford Insurance Co., Appellant.
Rubin, Fiorella & Friedman, LLP (Harlan R. Schreiber, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn, P.C., for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered April 8, 2016. The order granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and implicitly denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second cause of action is granted; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and implicitly denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Defendant correctly argues on appeal that plaintiff failed to make a prima facie showing of its entitlement to summary judgment, as plaintiff failed to establish that its claims had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued timely denial of claim forms that were conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Defendant acknowledged that it had received the claim underlying plaintiff’s first cause of action on July 9, 2014 and the claim underlying plaintiff’s second cause of action on August 6, 2014, and established the mailing of independent medical examination (IME) scheduling letters to the assignor (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]), which scheduled plaintiff’s assignor’s IME for August 29, 2014. Thus, contrary to defendant’s further argument, defendant did not demonstrate that it was entitled to summary [*2]judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action because the IME had not been scheduled to be held within 30 calendar days after defendant had received the claim underlying the first cause of action (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [d]).
With respect to the second cause of action, however, the IME was scheduled to be timely held. In addition to establishing that the IME scheduling letters had been mailed to the assignor, defendant established that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]) and that defendant had timely denied the claim underlying the second cause of action on that ground. Since defendant demonstrated that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to comply with a condition precedent to coverage (Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d at 722), and as plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second cause of action should have been granted.
Defendant’s remaining contentions lack merit.
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second cause of action is granted.
WESTON, J.P., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: February 16, 2018
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider failed to make a prima facie showing because it did not establish that its claims had not been timely denied or that timely denials were conclusory, vague or without merit.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held that, for the second claim, the insurer established mailing of IME letters, the assignor's nonappearance and a timely denial on that ground, entitling it to dismissal.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer established mailing of the IME scheduling letters to the assignor.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer failed to establish the defense for one claim because the IME was not scheduled within 30 days of receipt under 65-3.5 (d), but proved mailing, nonappearance and timing for the other claim.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Life Equip., Inc v Mid-Century Ins Co (2022 NY Slip Op 50877(U)) FollowedThe insurer's timely denials defeated the provider's request for judgment despite insufficient proof of the IME no-show defense.
- Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 20137)Timely IME no-show denials defeated the provider's motion where it did not show that the denials were legally insufficient.
- New Chiropractic Care, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 50652(U))A provider may not dictate an EUO location when the insurer designates a reasonably convenient place under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e).
Similar decisions
- Success Rehab, PT, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52031(U))The insurer's IME no-show defense failed on nine claims because the first IME was scheduled beyond 30 days after receipt.
- Spring Rehab, P.T., P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 51270(U))The insurer's letters did not establish proper verification requests, and the provider also failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
- TAM Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51318(U))The insurer established an IME nonappearance defense on the first claim but failed to prove a timely denial of the second.
- Sama Physical Therapy, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2017 NY Slip Op 51736(U))The insurer failed to prove timely IME notices, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to judgment on its claims.
- Total Chiropractic, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51362(U))The provider failed to establish its prima facie case, and the insurer failed to schedule the initial IME within the required 30 days.