December 19, 2017
Lynbrook PT & OT, PLLC v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51801(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lynbrook-pt-ot-pllc-v-ameriprise-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op51801u/
- Decided
- December 19, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51801(U) · 58 Misc 3d 134(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Lynbrook PT & OT, PLLC v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51801(U))
| Lynbrook PT & OT, PLLC v Ameriprise Ins. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51801(U) [58 Misc 3d 134(A)] |
| Decided on December 19, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on December 19, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M.
SOLOMON, JJ
2015-434 K C
against
Ameriprise Ins. Co., Respondent.
Korsunskiy Legal Group, P.C. (Michael Hoenig, Esq.), for appellant. Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP (Mitchell L. Kaufman, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Theresa M. Ciccotto, J.), entered January 9, 2015. The order, insofar as appealed from, granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for $72.92, $397.30, $208.30, $540.15, and $271.11, and denied the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon those claims.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for $72.92, $397.30, $208.30, and $540.15 are denied, and the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon those claims are granted; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for $72.92, $397.30, $208.30, $540.15 and $271.11 on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for examinations under oath (EUOs), and denied the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon those claims.
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the proof submitted by defendant in support of the branch of its motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon a claim seeking the sum of $271.11 was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the EUO scheduling letters and the denial of claim form had been timely mailed with respect to that claim (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]), and to demonstrate that plaintiff had failed to appear for the scheduled EUOs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). As a result, the Civil Court properly granted the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon that claim.
However, defendant’s moving papers failed to establish that the first EUO scheduling letter that defendant had sent to plaintiff had been timely with respect to the claims seeking to recover the sums of $72.92, $397.30, $208.30, and $540.15, since defendant stated that the letter had been sent more than 30 days after defendant had received the claims (see Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Ameriprise Auto & Home Ins., 48 Misc 3d 139[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51220[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]; O & M Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co., 47 Misc 3d 134[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50476[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]). Moreover, defendant’s moving papers did not demonstrate that those claims had been timely denied (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009]). In view of the foregoing, defendant failed to establish its entitlement to summary judgment with respect to those claims based upon plaintiff’s failure to comply with a condition precedent to coverage (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). As plaintiff established its prima facie case upon those claims (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), plaintiff is entitled to summary judgment upon those claims.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for $72.92, $397.30, $208.30, and $540.15 are denied, and the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon those claims are granted.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 19, 2017
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer failed to establish its EUO no-show defense for four claims because, besides the untimely initial request, its papers did not demonstrate that those claims had been timely denied.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Rejected the provider's challenge and held the insurer's proof raised a presumption that the EUO scheduling letters and denial for one claim were timely mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established its prima facie case on four claims and, the insurer's defense having failed, was entitled to summary judgment on them.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer proved mailing and nonappearance for one claim, but for four claims its own papers showed the first EUO letter was sent more than 30 days after receipt.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Ameriprise Auto & Home Ins. (2015 NY Slip Op 51220(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO requests were untimely because they followed receipt of the bills by more than 15 business days and 30 calendar days.
- O & M Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50476(U)) FollowedThe insurer's first EUO scheduling letter, mailed nearly three months after receipt of the claim, was a nullity.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
Similar decisions
- First Class Med., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50477(U))The insurer's EUO letters were sufficient because they identified the assignor, accident date and file number.
- K.O. Med., P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50687(U))The insurer's EUO request was a nullity for four claims because it was sent more than 30 days after receipt.
- Recover Med. Servs., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51892(U))EUO requests sent more than 30 days after receipt of bills are nullities as to those bills.
- A.C. Med., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51787(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denials and was precluded from asserting the provider's EUO nonappearance defense.
- Morris Med., P.C. v Amex Assur. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52260(U))The insurer's EUO defense failed on five untimely denied claims but supported dismissal of six claims that were timely denied.