December 7, 2022
Lancer Ins. Co. v Fishkin (2022 NY Slip Op 06921)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lancer-ins-co-v-fishkin-2022-ny-slip-op-06921/
- Decided
- December 7, 2022
- Citation
- 2022 NY Slip Op 06921 · 211 AD3d 719
- Posture
- Default or vacatur
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Defaults and vacatur
- Legal questions
- Vacating a default: excuse and defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Lancer Ins. Co. v Fishkin (2022 NY Slip Op 06921)
| Lancer Ins. Co. v Fishkin |
| 2022 NY Slip Op 06921 [211 AD3d 719] |
| December 7, 2022 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| Lancer Insurance Company,
Appellant-Respondent, v Zair Fishkin, Respondent-Appellant. |
Hollander Legal Group, P.C., Melville, NY (Allan S. Hollander and Brian Kaufman of counsel), for appellant-respondent.
The Wright Firm, LLC, Rochester, NY (Ronald F. Wright of counsel), for respondent-appellant.
In an action pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (c) for a de novo determination of claims for no-fault insurance benefits, the plaintiff appeals, and the defendant cross-appeals, from an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Steven M. Jaeger, J.), dated October 8, 2020. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the plaintiff’s motion for leave to enter a default judgment against the defendant. The order, insofar as cross-appealed from, denied the defendant’s motion to change venue of the action to Monroe County based upon the convenience of material witnesses.
Ordered that the order is reversed insofar as appealed from, on the law and in the exercise of discretion, and the plaintiff’s motion for leave to enter a default judgment against the defendant is granted; and it is further,
Ordered that the cross appeal is dismissed; and it is further,
Ordered that one bill of costs is awarded to the plaintiff.
The plaintiff, a no-fault insurance carrier, denied claims for reimbursement for medical treatment submitted by the defendant, a medical provider. Subsequently, the defendant commenced arbitration and was awarded the sum of $10,029.73. The plaintiff sought review of the award and the award was confirmed by a master arbitrator. The plaintiff thereafter commenced this action pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (c) for a de novo determination of claims for no-fault insurance benefits, in Nassau County, premised on the location of its headquarters and principal place of business. In the complaint, the plaintiff asserted that the defendant was not entitled to reimbursement as the services provided by the defendant were not medically necessary and were not related to the subject motor vehicle accident.
The plaintiff moved for leave to enter a default judgment against the defendant based upon the defendant’s failure to timely answer the complaint or appear in this action. The defendant failed to oppose the motion. Almost two months later, the defendant moved to change venue of the action to Monroe County pursuant to CPLR 510 (3), based upon the convenience of material witnesses. The plaintiff opposed the motion, contending that it was untimely and unsupported on [*2]the merits. In an order dated October 8, 2020, the Supreme Court denied both motions. As to the plaintiff’s motion, the court, in its discretion, found that the issuance of an award in the defendant’s favor, in light of the overall policy in favor of the resolution of litigation on the merits, warranted denial of the plaintiff’s motion. As to the defendant’s motion, the court determined that the defendant failed to satisfy any of the criteria set forth in CPLR 510 (3). The plaintiff appeals and the defendant cross-appeals.
Pursuant to CPLR 3215 (f), “[a]n applicant for a default judgment against a defendant must submit proof of service of the summons and complaint, proof of the facts constituting the claim, and proof of the defaulting defendant’s failure to answer or appear” (Countrywide Home Loans Servicing, L.P. v Vorobyov, 188 AD3d 803, 806 [2020]; see Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Haar Orthopaedics & Sports Med., P.C., 170 AD3d 1125, 1126 [2019]; Fried v Jacob Holding, Inc., 110 AD3d 56, 59 [2013]). To demonstrate the facts constituting the claim, the movant need only submit sufficient proof to enable a court to determine if the claim is viable (see Woodson v Mendon Leasing Corp., 100 NY2d 62, 71 [2003]; Fried v Jacob Holding, Inc., 110 AD3d at 60; Neuman v Zurich N. Am., 36 AD3d 601, 602 [2007]).
“In order to successfully oppose a motion for leave to enter a default judgment, a defendant who has failed to timely appear or answer the complaint must provide a reasonable excuse for the default and demonstrate the existence of a potentially meritorious defense to the action” (Maldonado v Mosquera, 186 AD3d 1352, 1353 [2020]). Where the defendant fails to demonstrate a reasonable excuse for its default, the court need not consider whether the defendant possesses a potentially meritorious defense to the action (see OneWest Bank v Schiffman, 175 AD3d 1543, 1545 [2019]). “[D]efaulters are deemed to have admitted all factual allegations contained in the complaint and all reasonable inferences that flow from them” (Rosenzweig v Gubner, 194 AD3d 1086, 1088 [2021] [internal quotation marks omitted]).
In support of its motion, the plaintiff submitted proof of service of the summons and complaint via delivery to an employee at the defendant’s actual place of business (see CPLR 308 [2]). In further support, the plaintiff submitted its attorney’s affirmation, inter alia, attesting to the defendant’s failure to answer or appear in this action, thereby admitting all traversable allegations (see Rokina Opt. Co. v Camera King, 63 NY2d 728, 730 [1984]; see also Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Haar Orthopaedics & Sports Med., P.C., 170 AD3d at 1126). The plaintiff also submitted, inter alia, a copy of the complaint verified by its counsel, its expert’s affirmed peer review, and the arbitration award and the master arbitration award affirming the original arbitration award, which were sufficient to establish that the plaintiff had a viable cause of action against the defendant (see Woodson v Mendon Leasing Corp., 100 NY2d at 71; Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Haar Orthopaedics & Sports Med., P.C., 170 AD3d at 1126).
Because the defendant failed to oppose the plaintiff’s motion, he failed to meet his burden of establishing a reasonable excuse. Accordingly, the Supreme Court’s denial of the plaintiff’s motion for leave to enter a default judgment against the defendant was an improvident exercise of discretion, and the plaintiff’s motion should have been granted.
In light of our determination, the cross appeal has been rendered academic. Rivera, J.P., Maltese, Ford and Taylor, JJ., concur.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the defaulting party show a reasonable excuse (or lack of notice) and a potentially meritorious defense or claim?
This decision: Relief denied because no reasonable excuse (or, under CPLR 317, no lack of actual notice) was shown; meritorious defense accepted or not reached
Held the defaulting provider, having failed to oppose the insurer's default-judgment motion, showed no reasonable excuse, so denying the motion on policy grounds because the provider held an arbitration award was an improvident exercise of discretion.
Of the 170 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 64 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Haar Orthopaedics & Sports Med., P.C. (2019 NY Slip Op 02317) FollowedThe insurer established service, the provider's default, and a viable claim for a default judgment in its de novo no-fault action.
Similar decisions
- Allstate Ins. Co. v North Shore Univ. Hosp. (2018 NY Slip Op 05268)The provider's reasonable excuse and potentially meritorious defense warranted vacating its default in the insurer's de novo action.
- Global Liberty Ins. Co. v Shahid Mian, M.D., P.C. (2019 NY Slip Op 04144)The provider's arbitration award established a potentially meritorious defense supporting vacatur of its default in the insurer's action.
- Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Excel Prods., Inc. (2019 NY Slip Op 02569)The provider's conclusory denial of receiving process failed to support vacatur of the insurers' default declaratory judgment.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Bruno Med. Supply, Inc. (2026 NY Slip Op 01332)The provider's contradictory and conclusory allegations of law office failure did not reasonably excuse its default in answering.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v MZY Acupuncture, P.C. (2026 NY Slip Op 02236)The provider failed to show that the insurer's noncompliance with discovery was willful or contumacious.