• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
February 16, 2024

Good Care Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50205(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/good-care-chiropractic-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2024-ny-slip-op-50205u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
February 16, 2024
Citation
2024 NY Slip Op 50205(U)
Posture
Other motion
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Defaults and vacatur
Cite as
Good Care Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 2024 NY Slip Op 50205(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2024)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer's delay in answering was excused based on the particular circumstances, lack of willfulness and absence of prejudice. In the provider's assigned-benefits action, the insurer sought to compel acceptance of its late answer under CPLR 3012 (d). Its employee attributed the delay to difficulty connecting the summons and complaint to an inactive policy and claim file, followed by a request that the provider voluntarily discontinue for lack of coverage. The provider rejected the answer as untimely and disputed the excuse. Finding no improvident exercise of discretion in accepting the excuse, the Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, granting the insurer's motion.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Good Care Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 50205(U))

[*1]
Good Care Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.
2024 NY Slip Op 50205(U)
Decided on February 16, 2024
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on February 16, 2024
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

PRESENT: : CHEREÉ A. BUGGS, J.P., LISA S. OTTLEY, PHILLIP HOM, JJ
2023-721 K C

Good Care Chiropractic, P.C., as Assignee of Valentine, Jemilah, Appellant,

against

State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.


The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Nicolini, Paradise, Ferretti & Sabella, PLLC (Francis J. Ammendolea of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Ellen E. Edwards, J.), dated February 22, 2023. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted defendant’s motion to compel plaintiff to accept defendant’s late answer.

ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.

Plaintiff commenced this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits for services rendered to its assignor as a result of a motor vehicle accident which occurred on April 22, 2015. Defendant was personally served with process at its Illinois office on September 29, 2020. Defendant did not timely appear or answer the complaint. It is undisputed that, in February 2021, defendant contacted plaintiff’s counsel and requested that the action be voluntarily discontinued on the ground that there was no coverage under the insurance policy, as the policy had been cancelled effective April 16, 2015 due to nonpayment of the premium. In an email sent on March 15, 2021, plaintiff’s counsel stated that it would not voluntarily discontinue the action. Defense counsel served an answer on March 25, 2021, and plaintiff rejected it as untimely.

By notice of motion dated June 16, 2021, defendant moved to compel plaintiff to accept defendant’s late answer, pursuant to CPLR 3012 (d), alleging, as is relevant to this appeal, that there was a reasonable excuse for its delay in answering. In support of its motion, defendant submitted an affidavit of its employee who averred that the delay was due to defendant’s [*2]difficulty in connecting the summons and complaint to the imsurance policy and claim file. The policy was inactive and defendant had been served in Illinois even though the policy was issued in Nevada, and New York was the site of the accident and lawsuit. Once the policy and claim file were identified, there was an additional delay in answering, as defendant contacted plaintiff’s counsel to request that the action be voluntarily discontinued on the ground that there was no active policy coverage at the time of the accident. In opposition, plaintiff argued that defendant had failed to proffer a reasonable excuse for its delay in answering, instead admitting to mere law office neglect. By order dated February 22, 2023, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, the Civil Court granted defendant’s motion to compel plaintiff to accept its late answer, finding that defendant had proffered a reasonable excuse for its delay in serving its answer.

A court may compel a plaintiff to accept a defendant’s late answer “upon such terms as may be just and upon a showing of a reasonable excuse for delay” in answering (CPLR 3012 [d]; see also Pain Mgt. Ctr. of N.J., P.C. v All Car Rent-A-Car, 57 Misc 3d 138[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51310[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]). “The determination of what constitutes a reasonable excuse lies within the trial court’s discretion” (New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 120 AD3d 1322, 1323 [2014]). Under the particular circumstances presented, as well as defendant’s lack of willfulness and the absence of any prejudice to plaintiff, we find that the Civil Court did not improvidently exercise its discretion in granting defendant’s motion to compel plaintiff to accept its late answer (see CPLR 3012 [d]; Pain Mgt. Ctr. of N.J., P.C. v All Car Rent-A-Car, 2017 NY Slip Op 51310[U]).

Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.

BUGGS, J.P., OTTLEY and HOM, JJ., concur.

ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: February 16, 2024

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Pain Mgt. Ctr. of N.J., P.C. v All Car Rent-A-Car (2017 NY Slip Op 51310(U)) FollowedThe defendant failed to rebut proof of proper corporate service or reasonably excuse its approximately three-month delay in answering.
  • New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 06188)The insurer's clerical-oversight affidavit and potentially meritorious defense justified vacating its default judgment.

Similar decisions

  • Trinity Medicine, P.C. v National Gen. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50197(U))The insurer's isolated failure to serve its answer was excusable, and a default declaratory judgment supplied a potentially meritorious defense.
  • Maximum Chiropractic, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50552(U))The insurer established a reasonable excuse for its late answer and a potentially meritorious medical-necessity defense.
  • Jacobson v State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 51540(U))The insurer's conclusory claim of a clerical email error did not establish a reasonable excuse for its default in answering.
  • Cautious Care Med., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50785(U))The insurer established a reasonable excuse for default through process-receipt procedures and records showing no record of the lawsuit.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v Bruno Med. Supply, Inc. (2026 NY Slip Op 01332)The provider's contradictory and conclusory allegations of law office failure did not reasonably excuse its default in answering.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.