October 8, 2013
Gl Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51748(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/gl-acupuncture-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op51748u/
- Decided
- October 8, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 51748(U) · 41 Misc 3d 131(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Fee schedule
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Gl Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51748(U))
| Gl Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 51748(U) [41 Misc 3d 131(A)] |
| Decided on October 8, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2012-370 K C.
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Pamela L. Fisher, J.), entered November 1, 2011, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered December 6, 2011 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the November 1, 2011 order granting defendant’s motion for summary judgment, dismissed the complaint.
ORDERED that the judgment is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which the appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
In support of its motion, defendant submitted affidavits by its claims representatives which sufficiently established the timely mailing of the denial of claim forms (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). The claims had been denied on the ground that they exceeded the amount permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule, and that defendant had fully paid plaintiff for the services billed for in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors. Contrary to plaintiff’s assertion, an affidavit by defendant’s claims representative established that defendant had properly used the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors to determine the amount which plaintiff was entitled to receive for the services at issue (see Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). The affirmation of plaintiff’s attorney did not raise a triable issue of fact in opposition to defendant’s motion.
Plaintiff’s remaining contentions either lack merit or are improperly raised for the first time on appeal. Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
[*2]
Decision Date: October 08,
2013
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the claims representative's affidavit established the insurer properly used the chiropractor acupuncture fee schedule and fully paid, and the provider's attorney affirmation raised no triable issue.
Of the 285 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 147 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the claims representatives' affidavits sufficiently established timely mailing of the denial of claim forms.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
Similar decisions
- Acupuncture Works, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51654(U))The insurer established full payment under the applicable acupuncture fee schedule and unrebutted lack of medical necessity for other claims.
- NYS Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51362(U))The insurer established full payment for acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors.
- GL Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51698(U))The insurer established timely denial and full payment under the fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors.
- GBI Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The insurer established full payment for acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule applicable to chiropractors.
- Charles Deng Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51460(U))The insurer established full payment for CPT codes 97810 and 97811 under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors' acupuncture.