September 27, 2016
Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/daily-med-equip-distrib-ctr-inc-v-allstate-ins-co-2016-ny-slip-op51410u/
- Decided
- September 27, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U) · 53 Misc 3d 133(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U))
| Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-410 Q C
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulysses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered January 28, 2014. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff correctly argues that defendant’s motion papers failed to establish that the denial of claim forms at issue had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Consequently, defendant failed to establish that it is entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff failed to demonstrate its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, as the proof submitted in support of its motion did not establish either that defendant had failed to deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 114 AD3d 33 [2013]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider's proof did not show that the insurer failed to deny the claim within 30 days or issued a conclusory, vague or meritless denial, so it did not make its prima facie showing.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer's motion papers failed to establish that its denial of claim forms had been timely mailed, so it was not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 08430) FollowedA provider need not prove a claim's merits for summary judgment where the insurer failed to timely and properly deny the claim.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51621(U))The insurer failed to prove IME nonappearance through a person with personal knowledge, while the provider failed to establish its prima facie case.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51356(U))The insurer failed to establish timely mailing of the denials supporting its EUO nonappearance defense.
- Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51443(U))The insurer failed to establish mailing of verification requests for two claims and entitlement to dismissal of a third claim.
- Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51607(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial mailing, and the provider failed to establish prima facie entitlement to payment.
- Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50929(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion asserting that the action was premature for failure to supply requested verification was denied on appeal.