March 5, 2012
Crotona Hgts. Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50401(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/crotona-hgts-med-p-c-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op50401u/
- Decided
- March 5, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 50401(U) · 34 Misc 3d 155(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Crotona Hgts. Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50401(U))
| Crotona Hgts. Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 50401(U) [34 Misc 3d 155(A)] |
| Decided on March 5, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2010-2438 K C.
against
New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Peter Paul Sweeney, J.), entered September 30, 2009. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, without costs, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order as denied its cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
The affidavit submitted by defendant in support of its cross motion for summary judgment established that defendant had timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) the claims at issue on the ground of lack of medical necessity. Defendant annexed to its motion papers an affirmed peer review report which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the peer reviewer’s [*2]determination that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services rendered (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). In opposition, plaintiff did not raise a triable issue of fact since it failed to submit an affirmation from a doctor rebutting the conclusions set forth in the peer review report (see Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 137[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 52321[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]).
The purpose of the peer review report submitted by defendant was not to attempt to prove that plaintiff’s assignor was injured as documented in her medical records, or that she was treated as set forth in those records, but to establish that, assuming the facts set forth therein were true, the treatment allegedly provided by plaintiff was not medically necessary (Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co., 27 Misc 3d 140[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50987[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]). Consequently, defendant was not required to demonstrate that the records fell within an exception to the rule against hearsay (id.). Thus, the Civil Court should have granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 05, 2012
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the affirmed peer review set forth a factual basis and medical rationale, needed no hearsay foundation for the records reviewed, and was unrebutted because the provider submitted no doctor's affirmation, so the insurer won summary judgment.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavit established that it timely denied the claims on the ground of lack of medical necessity.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer's examining physician supplied an unrebutted factual basis and medical rationale that the billed MRI was unnecessary.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52455(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- Innovative Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52321(U))The insurer established timely denials and lack of medical necessity, and the provider's chiropractor failed to rebut the insurer's showing.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U))The provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
- Urban Radiology, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50987(U)) FollowedThe insurer established premature claims for unanswered verification and lack of medical necessity for the remaining claims.
Cited by
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Right Choice Supply, Inc. (2023 NY Slip Op 23039)A no-fault arbitrator need not apply summary judgment rules requiring a provider's medical evidence to specifically rebut an insurer's peer review.
Similar decisions
- Medical Assoc., P.C. v Interboro Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50392(U))The provider's unsworn medical report failed to defeat the insurer's supported motion for summary judgment on lack of medical necessity.
- Crotona Hgts. Med., P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50473(U))The provider's claims failed because verification remained outstanding and its medical evidence did not rebut the insurer's peer reviews.
- Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50149(U))An insurer need not attach the records reviewed by its peer reviewer to establish lack of medical necessity on summary judgment.
- Neomy Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50769(U))The provider's physician failed to rebut the insurer's peer review because the affidavit did not specifically justify the additional studies.
- Radiology Today, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50148(U))The provider's owner's affirmation was improper under CPLR 2106 and failed to rebut the insurer's medical-necessity peer review.