February 8, 2013
Complete Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50220(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/complete-radiology-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op50220u/
- Decided
- February 8, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 50220(U) · 38 Misc 3d 140(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Complete Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50220(U))
| Complete Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 50220(U) [38 Misc 3d 140(A)] |
| Decided on February 8, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and SOLOMON, JJ
2011-259 Q C.
against
Geico Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Richard G. Latin, J.), entered December 23, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claim for $879.73 and found, pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), that defendant had timely denied that claim.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claim for $879.73 is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees as to that claim.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that it had timely and properly denied the claims in question based on a lack of medical necessity. The Civil Court denied both motions, and held that plaintiff had [*2]“established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g)” and that defendant had “timely and properly denied said bills.” The court further stated that the sole issue to be determined at trial was the medical necessity of the services that had been rendered to plaintiff’s assignor. Plaintiff appeals from so much of the order as denied the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claim for $879.73, and so much of the order as found, pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), that defendant had timely denied that claim.
To make a prima facie showing of entitlement to summary judgment, a no-fault provider must submit proof of the submission to the defendant of a claim form, proof of the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and proof that the defendant had either failed to pay or deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period, or that the defendant had issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]; see also New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 31 AD3d 512 [2006]).
By invoking CPLR 3212 (g) and by limiting the trial in this case to the issue of medical necessity, the court implicitly found that (1) the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and (2) the submission of the claim form to defendant, were “established for all purposes in the action” because they were “not in dispute” or were “incontrovertible” (CPLR 3212 [g]).
While the Civil Court also found, as incontrovertible, that defendant had timely denied plaintiff’s claim for $879.73, plaintiff correctly notes on appeal that, in defendant’s papers, defendant failed to even allege that it had mailed the denial of that claim. Plaintiff argues that, given the Civil Court’s CPLR 3212 (g) finding that, with respect to the claim for $879.73, plaintiff had established its prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, coupled with defendant’s failure to establish in its motion papers a timely denial of the claim, the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claim for $879.73 should have been granted.
In opposition, defendant argues, among other things, that the Civil Court’s finding that plaintiff had established its prima facie case was incorrect because plaintiff had not proven the fact and the amount of the loss sustained. Plaintiff responds by arguing that this finding is not reviewable because defendant did not cross-appeal.
Under the circumstances presented, we need not reach the question of whether defendant was required to cross-appeal in order to obtain review of the CPLR 3212 (g) finding which established, for all purposes in the action, the fact and the amount of the loss sustained since, contrary to defendant’s argument on appeal, plaintiff did establish the fact and the amount of the loss sustained by demonstrating that its claim form is admissible, pursuant to CPLR 4518 (a), as proof of the acts, transactions, occurrences and/or events recorded therein, and defendant did not rebut that showing. Thus, whether or not the CPLR 3212 (g) finding in question can be reviewed on this appeal, plaintiff is entitled to summary judgment on so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon its claim for $879.73.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon [*3]plaintiff’s claim for $879.73 is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees as to that claim.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: February 08, 2013
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the provider established the fact and amount of its loss because its claim form was shown admissible under CPLR 4518, rejecting the insurer's challenge to its prima facie case.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 05602)The insurer proved a timely denial but failed to establish that the provider's treatment was unrelated to the accident.
Similar decisions
- New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23360)The provider established claim submission through the insurer's denials and proved the loss through admissible claim forms.
- Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
- Rogy Med., P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50629(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for three claims and outstanding verification for two, but failed on two others.
- Clinton Place Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50963(U))The insurer proved its IME nonappearance defense for 13 claims but failed to establish timely denial of the fourteenth.
- Complete Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52079(U))The provider's summary judgment motion failed on medical necessity, but denial timeliness remained disputed for one claim.