• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
September 11, 2012

Cliffside Park Imaging v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51754(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/cliffside-park-imaging-v-preferred-mut-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op51754u/

Court
Appellate Term, First Department
Decided
September 11, 2012
Citation
2012 NY Slip Op 51754(U) · 36 Misc 3d 155(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Policy issues
Cite as
Cliffside Park Imaging v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co., 36 Misc 3d 155(A), 2012 NY Slip Op 51754(U) (App Term, 1st Dept 2012)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer established fraudulent procurement of coverage through the insured's false statement of residence on the insurance application. EUO transcripts showed that the insured listed a New York house owned by a parent while actually residing with the assignor and their child in a New Jersey apartment, which appeared on their tax returns. Residency required some permanence and intent to remain; mere intent to reside at an address was insufficient. The provider, standing in the assignor's shoes, raised no triable issue through conclusory testimony that the family lived in New Jersey only part time. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order and granted the insurer summary judgment dismissing the no-fault complaint.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Cliffside Park Imaging v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51754(U))

[*1]
Cliffside Park Imaging v Preferred Mut. Ins. Co.
2012 NY Slip Op 51754(U) [36 Misc 3d 155(A)]
Decided on September 11, 2012
Appellate Term, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on September 11, 2012

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT


PRESENT: Lowe, III, P.J., Shulman, Torres, JJ
570470/11.
Cliffside Park Imaging, a/a/o Lisa Ferrato, Plaintiff-Respondent, – –

against

Preferred Mutual Insurance Company, Defendant-Appellant.

Defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Bronx County (Fernando Tapia, J.), entered March 14, 2011, which denied its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Per Curiam.

Order (Fernando Tapia, J.), entered March 14, 2011, reversed, with $10 costs, motion granted and complaint dismissed. The Clerk is directed to enter judgment accordingly.

Summary judgment dismissal of plaintiff’s no-fault first-party benefit claim was warranted on the full record developed below. “The standard for determining residency for purposes of insurance coverage requires something more than temporary or physical presence and requires at least some degree of permanence and intention to remain” (Vela v Tower Ins. Co. of NY, 83 AD3d 1050, 1051 [2011], quoting Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. [Rapp], 7 AD3d 302, 303 [2004]). The mere intention to reside at certain premises is not sufficient (see Vela v Tower Ins. Co. of NY, 83 AD3d at 1051).

Here, defendant’s moving submission, including the properly considered (see Zalot v Zieba, 81 AD3d 935, 936 [2011], lv denied 17 NY3d 703 [2011]) transcripts of the examinations under oath (“EUO”) of plaintiff’s assignor and her husband, the named insured, established prima facie that the insured fraudulently procured insurance coverage by falsely listing a Pearl River, New York house owned by his father as his residence on the insurance application, when the insured and his wife (the assignor) actually resided, with their infant child, in an apartment in Cliffside Park, New Jersey, an address listed by the couple on their tax returns. In opposition, plaintiff, as assignee “stand[ing] in the shoes” of its assignor (see Long Is. Radiology v Allstate Ins. Co., 36 AD3d 763, 765 [2007]), failed to raise a triable issue of fact. Plaintiff’s reliance on a snippet of the insured’s EUO testimony, in which he stated conclusorily that he and his family merely lived “part-time” in the Cliffside Park apartment, was plainly insufficient to defeat summary judgment.

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
Decision Date: September 11, 2012

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Long Is. Radiology v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 00496) FollowedAn insurer may assert lack of medical necessity against a radiologist seeking assigned no-fault benefits for prescribed MRIs. The provider argued that the defense was unavailable because it performed MRIs on prescription without diagnosing patients, conducting physical examinations, or assessing necessity.

Similar decisions

  • Jamaica Dedicated Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50756(U))The insurer failed to establish that the assignor materially misrepresented residence to obtain insurance at reduced premiums.
  • Parkway Imaging & Diagnostic, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51853(U))The insurer's IME doctor's affirmation established the assignor's nonappearances, and the provider failed to raise a triable issue.
  • New Millennium Psychological Servs., P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52286(U))The insurer established a material residence misrepresentation that rendered the assignor ineligible for no-fault benefits under the policy.
  • Central Radiology Servs., P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50948(U))The insurer established that the assignor misrepresented the state of residence and was ineligible for no-fault benefits under the policy.
  • Center for Orthopedic Surgery, LLP v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50473(U))The insurer established mailing of the IME notices and the assignor's nonappearance, while the provider raised no triable issue.
Beynenson Law

No-fault collections for healthcare providers across New York State, with billing available together with collections.

Request a free claims review
About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Services

  • No-Fault Collections
  • Billing and Collections
  • Provider Defense

Research & Data

  • All Research & Data
  • Search Case Law & Regulations
  • New Decisions
  • Decisions by Court
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations
  • Claim Process & Deadlines
  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Arbitration Results by Provider
  • Ask No-Fault AI

©2026 The Beynenson Law Group, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.