March 20, 2013
Broad St. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50453(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/broad-st-acupuncture-p-c-v-american-tr-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op50453u/
- Decided
- March 20, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 50453(U) · 39 Misc 3d 129(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · No-show defense: insurer's proof · Proving a fee schedule defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Broad St. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50453(U))
| Broad St. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 50453(U) [39 Misc 3d 129(A)] |
| Decided on March 20, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2010-1791 K C.
against
American Transit Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), dated December 8, 2009. The order granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claims for $1,045 and $950 and its claim for $1,140 for services rendered January 28, 2008 through February 26, 2008 are denied, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim for $1,045 is granted to the extent of awarding defendant partial summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover the sum of $418.99 for services rendered November 12, 2007 through November 29, 2007 upon that claim, and the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim for $950 is granted to the extent of awarding defendant partial summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover the sum of $380.90 for services rendered November 30, 2007 though December 20, 2007 upon that claim; as so modified, the order is affirmed, [*2]without costs, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings with respect to the unpaid portions of those claims and the remaining claim.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Since defendant raises no issue on appeal with regard to plaintiff’s establishment of its prima facie case, we do not pass upon the propriety of the Civil Court’s implicit determination with respect thereto (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]).
The complaint seeks to recover upon claims in the principal sums of $1,045, $950, $1,140 (for services rendered December 27, 2007 through January 14, 2008) and $1,140 (for services rendered January 28, 2008 through February 26, 2008). A review of the record indicates that, with respect to plaintiff’s $1,045 claim, defendant timely (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) paid $418.99 and denied the remaining $626.01, and, with respect to the $950 claim, defendant timely (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16) paid $380.90 and denied the remaining $569.10. These claims were partially denied on the ground that the amount billed by plaintiff exceeded the fees allowed by the workers’ compensation fee schedule. As plaintiff concedes that defendant paid $418.99 and $380.90, respectively, of these claims, the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the paid portion of the claims should be granted. However, as there is an issue of fact as to whether plaintiff is entitled to recover the unpaid portion of these claims, $626.01 and $569.10, respectively, neither party is entitled to summary judgment with respect thereto (see East Coast Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 139[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 50344[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]).
With regard to the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as seeks to recover upon its $1,140 claim for services rendered December 27, 2007 through January 24, 2008, defendant failed to establish the proper mailing of the independent medical examination (IME) scheduling letters (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16), and that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at either of the duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 721 [2006]; Excel Radiology Serv., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 31 Misc 3d 138[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 50751[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). In light of the foregoing, defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact with respect to this claim, and we do not disturb so much of the order as awarded plaintiff summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon this claim.
With regard to plaintiff’s $1,140 claim for services rendered January 28, 2008 through February 26, 2008, the affidavit of defendant’s no-fault examiner was sufficient to overcome the presumption that a proper mailing had occurred and to raise a triable issue of fact as to whether defendant had received the claim (see Pomona Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co., 31 Misc 3d 127[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 50447[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). As [*3]a result, neither party is entitled to summary judgment with respect to this claim.
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon plaintiff’s claims for $1,045 and $950 and its claim for $1,140 for services rendered January 28, 2008 through February 26, 2008 are denied, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim for $1,045 is granted to the extent of awarding defendant partial summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover the sum of $418.99 for services rendered November 12, 2007 through November 29, 2007 upon that claim, and the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon the claim for $950 is granted to the extent of awarding defendant partial summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover the sum of $380.90 for services rendered November 30, 2007 though December 20, 2007 upon that claim; as so modified, the order is affirmed and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings with respect to the unpaid portions of those claims and the remaining claim.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 20, 2013
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: Different mailing results for different documents or claims in one decision
Held the insurer timely mailed its partial denials but failed to prove mailing of IME scheduling letters, and its examiner's affidavit rebutted the presumption that one claim was mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 55 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the insurer failed to establish proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters or the assignor's nonappearance, so it raised no triable issue on that claim.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held that triable issues remained on the unpaid, fee-schedule-denied portions of two partially paid claims, so neither party obtained summary judgment on them.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 85 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- East Coast Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 50344(U)) FollowedA billing provider cannot recover direct payment of assigned no-fault benefits for services rendered by an independent contractor.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604)An insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Excel Radiology Serv., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50751(U))The insurer's IME-based summary judgment motion was denied for failure to establish notice mailing and the assignor's nonappearance.
- Pomona Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50447(U)) FollowedThe provider's action was premature because it had not answered timely mailed verification requests before commencing suit.
Similar decisions
- Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50059(U))The insurer proved IME nonappearance for two claims but lacked proof of nonappearance or timely denial for the other three.
- Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
- Essential Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51623(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for three claims, but failed to conclusively prove its defenses to three others.
- First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))The provider's claims failed in part for outstanding verification and duplicate billing, while separate reimbursement remained disputed.
- Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Metropolitan Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U))The insurer established its EUO nonappearance defense to four claims but left the provider's awards on two other claims unchallenged.