February 1, 2013
Barakat Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50180(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/barakat-med-care-p-c-v-praetorian-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op50180u/
- Decided
- February 1, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 50180(U) · 38 Misc 3d 137(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Barakat Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50180(U))
| Barakat Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 50180(U) [38 Misc 3d 137(A)] |
| Decided on February 1, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2011-767 Q C.
against
Praetorian Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Leslie J. Purificacion, J.), entered January 13, 2011. The order, insofar as appealed from, granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009, and denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing that portion of the complaint. The appeal is deemed to be from a judgment of the same court entered February 4, 2011 awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $1,780.19 (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, so much of the order entered January 13, 2011 as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009, and denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing that portion of the complaint is vacated, that branch of plaintiff’s motion is denied, and that branch of defendant’s cross motion is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant [*2]appeals from so much of an order as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009, and denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing that portion of the complaint. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which this appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
The affidavit submitted by defendant in support of its cross motion for summary judgment established that defendant had timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; see also All Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 36 Misc 3d 135[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 51346[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]) plaintiff’s claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009 on the ground of lack of medical necessity. Defendant also annexed an affirmed peer review report and an affirmed independent medical examination (IME) report, each of which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the respective doctor’s determination that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services at issue. In opposition to the cross motion, plaintiff submitted an affidavit from a doctor which failed to meaningfully refer to, let alone rebut, the conclusions set forth in the peer review report and the IME report (see Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). As a result, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint insofar as it sought to recover upon claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009 should have been granted (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, so much of the order entered January 13, 2011 as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims for dates of service December 18, 2008 and May 18, 2009, and denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing that portion of the complaint is vacated, that branch of plaintiff’s motion is denied, and that branch of defendant’s cross motion is granted.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: February 01, 2013
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the affirmed peer review and IME reports set forth a factual basis and medical rationale, and the provider's doctor's affidavit failed to meaningfully refer to or rebut them, so the insurer won summary judgment.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavit established that it timely mailed its denials of the claims for the two dates of service on the ground of lack of medical necessity.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- All Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51346(U))A provider's appearance at a duly requested EUO is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U)) FollowedThe provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51502(U)) FollowedThe insurer's examining physician supplied an unrebutted factual basis and medical rationale that the billed MRI was unnecessary.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52455(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
Similar decisions
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50249(U))Seven provider claims were dismissed for IME nonappearance or unanswered verification; neither side established summary judgment on two others.
- Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
- Elite Med. NY, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for two claims and outstanding verification that rendered the third claim premature.
- Essential Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51623(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for three claims, but failed to conclusively prove its defenses to three others.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50196(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for several claims but failed to substantiate its fee-schedule defenses.