November 26, 2013
Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Metropolitan Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/arco-med-ny-p-c-v-metropolitan-cas-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op52001u/
- Decided
- November 26, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U) · 41 Misc 3d 140(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Metropolitan Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U))
| Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Metropolitan Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U) [41 Misc 3d 140(A)] |
| Decided on November 26, 2013 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ
2011-2494 K C.
against
Metropolitan Casualty Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Carolyn E. Wade, J.), entered August 18, 2011. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granted the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment with respect to so much of the complaint as sought to recover on a claim for $319.97 for services rendered on February 17, 2009 and a claim for $42.02 for services rendered from December 31, 2008 to January 28, 2009.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover on a claim for $249.96 for services rendered on January 19, 2009, a claim for $3,119.44 for services rendered on January 28, 2009, a claim for $230.09 for additional services rendered on January 28, 2009 and a claim for $272.92 for services rendered on February 17, 2009 are granted; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs. [*2]
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment. The Civil Court denied defendant’s motion and granted the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment with respect to so much of the complaint as sought to recover on a claim for $319.97 for services rendered on February 17, 2009, which claim defendant alleged it had never received, and a claim for $42.02, which was the balance found to be due after defendant had allegedly paid plaintiff for services rendered from December 31, 2008 to January 28, 2009 pursuant to the worker’s compensation fee schedule. The court otherwise denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
On appeal, defendant argues that its motion for summary judgment dismissing the
complaint should have been granted because it demonstrated that it had timely and
properly denied the claims at issue on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to
appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs). Defendant had raised
this defense in the Civil Court with regard to a claim for $3,119.44 for services rendered
on January 28, 2009, a claim for $230.09 for services rendered on January 28, 2009, a
claim for $249.96 for services rendered on January 19, 2009 and a claim for $272.92 for
services rendered on February 17, 2009. Defendant did not raise this defense in the Civil
Court with respect to the claim for $319.97 for services rendered on February 17, 2009
and the claim for $42.02 for services rendered from December 31, 2008 to January 28,
2009, nor did it establish that it had timely denied the latter claims on that ground. Since
defendant did not, in its appellate brief, proffer any argument as to why the Civil Court’s
award of summary judgment to plaintiff on these claims was in error, we do not disturb
the part of the order appealed from that granted summary judgment to plaintiff with
respect to so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon these two claims.
Defendant demonstrated that the first four claims listed above had been denied within 30 days of their receipt (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.8 [a]; see also St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled EUOs. The affidavits submitted by defendant established that its EUO scheduling letters had been mailed in accordance with its standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16), and that the EUOs had been properly scheduled (see ARCO Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 134[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52382[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Defendant also established that plaintiff had failed to appear at the duly scheduled EUOs, through both an affidavit by the investigator who had been assigned to conduct the EUOs, and statements made on the record by the same investigator (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). Since defendant demonstrated that plaintiff had failed to comply with a condition precedent to coverage, the branches of its motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon these claims should have been granted.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint [*3]as sought to recover upon a claim for $249.96 for services rendered on January 19, 2009, a claim for $3,119.44 for services rendered on January 28, 2009, a claim for $230.09 for additional services rendered on January 28, 2009 and a claim for $272.92 for services rendered on February 17, 2009 are granted.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: November 26, 2013
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer proved the EUO letters were mailed under its office practice, the EUOs properly scheduled, and nonappearance via the investigator's affidavit and on-the-record statements.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer showed it denied four claims within 30 days of receipt on the EUO no-show ground, entitling it to dismissal of those claims.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavits established that its EUO scheduling letters were mailed under its standard office practices and that its denials were issued within 30 days.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52382(U)) FollowedA follow-up EUO request is not premature when sent within 10 days after failure to appear for the initial scheduled examination.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Parisien v Ameriprise Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 50990(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved the provider's EUO nonappearances, including one at a location changed at the provider's request, and a timely denial.
- Allstate Ins. Co. v Pierre (2014 NY Slip Op 08921)Failure to attend requested EUOs breaches a no-fault coverage condition, regardless of denial timeliness or willfulness.
Similar decisions
- Morris Med., P.C. v Amex Assur. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52260(U))The insurer's EUO defense failed on five untimely denied claims but supported dismissal of six claims that were timely denied.
- Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52384(U))The provider obtained summary judgment on two untimely denied claims, but timely EUO requests and denials defeated judgment on five others.
- Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
- Essential Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v Amex Assur. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52259(U))The insurer's EUO defense failed on two untimely denied claims but supported dismissal of a third claim that was timely denied.
- Broad St. Acupuncture, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50453(U))The insurer obtained dismissal of paid portions of two claims, but inadequate IME proof left the provider entitled to judgment on another claim.