December 23, 2011
Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52384(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/arco-med-ny-p-c-v-lancer-ins-co-2011-ny-slip-op-52384u/
- Decided
- December 23, 2011
- Citation
- 2011 NY Slip Op 52384(U) · 34 Misc 3d 135(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 3 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52384(U))
| Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. |
| 2011 NY Slip Op 52384(U) [34 Misc 3d 135(A)] |
| Decided on December 23, 2011 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON, J.P., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2009-2223 K C.
against
LANCER INSURANCE COMPANY, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin D. Garson, J.), entered August 19, 2009. The order denied defendant’s motion to compel plaintiff to produce Gracia Mayard, M.D., and Richard Berardi, D.O., for depositions, and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon the claims for the sums of $403.72, $411.39, $230.09 (dated January 16, 2007), $71.49 and $1,065.16 are denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved to compel plaintiff to produce Gracia Mayard, M.D., and Richard Berardi, D.O., two of plaintiff’s principals, for depositions, and plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment upon the seven claims at issue in this action. Defendant opposed plaintiff’s cross motion, arguing that it had timely denied plaintiff’s claims on the sole ground that Dr. Mayard and Dr. Berardi had failed to appear for examinations under oath (EUOs). The Civil Court denied defendant’s motion and granted plaintiff’s cross motion. [*2]
On appeal, defendant argues that its motion to compel plaintiff to produce Dr. Mayard and Dr. Berardi for depositions should have been granted because the motion sought information regarding “treatment” and plaintiff’s “billing practices,” which information is material and necessary to the defense of this action. However, we find that these defenses are precluded (see Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co., 10 NY3d 556 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co., 15 Misc 3d 33 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]), and therefore defendant is not entitled to the discovery it seeks (see A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 71 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]).
Turning to plaintiff’s cross motion, since defendant raises no issue on appeal with regard to plaintiff’s establishment of a prima facie case, we do not pass upon the propriety of the Civil Court’s implicit determination with respect thereto (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]).
Defendant admits that it received plaintiff’s claims seeking the sums of $748.24 and $230.09 on December 16, 2006 and December 29, 2006, respectively, and it is undisputed that the claims were not paid or denied within 30 days of their receipt. Nor does defendant claim that the EUOs of Drs. Mayard and Berardi were requested, or pending, during that time. We note that defendant’s January 15, 2007 letter purporting to delay payment of the claims was not mailed within 15 days of defendant’s receipt of either of these claims and, in any event, is insufficient to toll the 30-day statutory time period within which a claim must be paid or denied (see Points of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 28 Misc 3d 133[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51338[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]). Accordingly, defendant failed to demonstrate that these two claims were timely denied and therefore has not established that its defenses as to these two claims are not precluded. Thus, the Civil Court properly granted the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment as to these claims.
However, the record establishes that defendant’s time to pay or deny the remaining claims, seeking the sums of $403.72, $411.39, $230.09 (dated January 16, 2007), $71.49 and $1,065.16, was tolled. The affirmation submitted by defendant’s attorney established that EUO scheduling letters had been mailed in accordance with his law firm’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Defendant’s February 13, 2007 request, which scheduled the EUOs for February 28, 2007, was timely with respect to these remaining claims (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.5 [b]; § 65-3.8 [j]), as was the March 7, 2007 follow-up request, which rescheduled the EUOs for March 21, 2007, after the doctors had failed to appear for the scheduled February 28, 2007 date (see Arco Med. NY, P.C. as Assignee of Isardat Jewdhan v Lancer Ins. Co., __ Misc 3d __, 2011 NY Slip Op _____ [Appeal No. 2009-2201 K C], decided herewith).
Defendant raised a triable issue of fact by demonstrating that the doctors had failed to appear for either of the scheduled EUOs (see W & Z Acupuncture, P.C. v Amex Assur. Co., 24 Misc 3d 142[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51732[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]) and that each of these five remaining claims had been timely denied on April 11, 2007 (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16). Since defendant is not precluded from interposing that defense with respect to these claims, the [*3]branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment with respect to the remaining five claims should have been denied.
In light of the foregoing, the order appealed from is modified by providing that the branches of plaintiff’s cross motion seeking summary judgment upon the claims for the sums of $403.72, $411.39, $230.09 (dated January 16, 2007), $71.49 and $1,065.16 are denied.
Weston, J.P., and Rios, J., concur.
Golia, J., taking no part.
Decision Date: December 23, 2011
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the insurer had not shown its EUO no-show defense was not precluded for two claims, which it received and neither paid nor denied within 30 days, as its late delay letter did not toll the time.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Proof on the no-show raises a question of fact; neither side wins the point as a matter of law
Held the insurer raised a triable issue on its EUO no-show defense for five claims by showing timely mailed initial and follow-up requests and the doctors' failure to appear at both scheduled EUOs.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 24 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's attorney's affirmation established that the EUO scheduling letters were mailed under the law firm's standard office practices, and that the denials of five claims were timely mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946) FollowedAn insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27088) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denials and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity on three claims.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26068) FollowedA defense of fraudulent corporate licensure is not precluded by an insurer's failure to timely deny no-fault claims.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Points of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51338(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved EUO nonappearance and timely notices for three claims, but failed to establish tolling for the remaining claims.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- W & Z Acupuncture, P.C. v Amex Assur. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51732(U)) FollowedThe insurer's counsel's affirmation established that the provider's owner failed to appear for duly scheduled EUOs. The provider sought summary judgment for assigned no-fault benefits, and the insurer cross-moved to dismiss based on the owner's nonappearance.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52178(U)) FollowedThe insurer's proof of timely EUO notices, nonappearance, and denial defeated the provider's summary judgment cross motion.
- Megacure Acupuncture, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51994(U)) FollowedThe insurer's untimely denials precluded defenses to three claims, while timely EUO denials defeated summary judgment on six others.
- Queens Med. Supply, Inc. v IDS Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51272(U)) FollowedThe provider established entitlement to payment where the insurer neither paid nor denied within 30 days and failed to prove tolling.
Similar decisions
- ARCO Med. N.Y., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52382(U))A follow-up EUO request is not premature when sent within 10 days after failure to appear for the initial scheduled examination.
- Arco Med. NY, P.C. v Metropolitan Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52001(U))The insurer established its EUO nonappearance defense to four claims but left the provider's awards on two other claims unchallenged.
- Morris Med., P.C. v Amex Assur. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52260(U))The insurer's EUO defense failed on five untimely denied claims but supported dismissal of six claims that were timely denied.
- Compas Med., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51857(U))The insurer proved lack of medical necessity for one claim but failed to establish its payment, late-submission and fee-schedule defenses.
- Compas Med., P.C. v ELRAC, Inc. (2015 NY Slip Op 50675(U))The provider was denied summary judgment because factual issues remained over denial timeliness and whether services were rendered.