July 28, 2011
Alrof, Inc. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51451(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/alrof-inc-v-nationwide-ins-co-2011-ny-slip-op-51451u/
- Decided
- July 28, 2011
- Citation
- 2011 NY Slip Op 51451(U) · 32 Misc 3d 134(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Alrof, Inc. v Nationwide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51451(U))
| Alrof, Inc. v Nationwide Ins. Co. |
| 2011 NY Slip Op 51451(U) [32 Misc 3d 134(A)] |
| Decided on July 28, 2011 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and STEINHARDT, JJ
2010-331 Q C.
against
Nationwide Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diane A. Lebedeff, J.), entered December 10, 2009, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered December 28, 2009 (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the December 10, 2009 order granting the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment with respect to plaintiff’s second and third cause of action and so much of the first cause of action as sought to recover the principal sum of $59.96, and granting defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint only with respect to the remainder of plaintiff’s first cause of action, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $1,777.96.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, without costs, so much of the order entered December 10, 2009 as granted the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon its second and third causes of action and upon the portion of its first cause of action that sought to recover the principal sum of $59.96, and as granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint only with respect to the remainder of plaintiff’s first cause of action is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied in its entirety and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted in its entirety.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Civil Court awarded plaintiff summary judgment upon its second and third causes of action, and, upon the first cause of action, awarded plaintiff only the sum of $59.96. [*2]The Civil Court also granted only so much of defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment as sought to dismiss the remainder of plaintiff’s first cause of action. We deem defendant’s appeal from the order to be from the judgment entered pursuant to the order (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]).
In support of its cross motion, defendant submitted an affidavit of an employee of the corporation which had mailed independent medical examination (IME) scheduling letters on defendant’s behalf, which sufficiently established that IME requests had been timely mailed in accordance with that corporation’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Defendant also submitted an affidavit from the receptionist of the doctor who was to perform the IMEs, which was sufficient to establish that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for the duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). In addition, affidavits executed by defendant’s employees demonstrated that the claim denial forms, based on plaintiff’s assignor’s nonappearance at the IMEs, had been timely mailed pursuant to defendant’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16). Since an assignor’s appearance at an IME “is a condition precedent to the insurer’s liability on the policy” (Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d at 722; see also Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-1.1), defendant is entitled to summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s second and third causes of action (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2d Dept 2009]; but see Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC, 82 AD3d 559 [1st Dept 2011]).
While the court awarded plaintiff the sum of $59.96 upon its first cause of action and dismissed the remaining portion of this cause of action based upon the workers’ compensation fee schedule, since the record demonstrates that defendant had previously timely paid this amount to plaintiff (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16), defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing this portion of plaintiff’s first cause of action.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, so much of the order as granted the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon its second and third causes of action and upon the portion of its first cause that sought to recover the sum of $59.96, and as granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint only with respect to the remainder of plaintiff’s first cause of action is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied in its entirety and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted in its entirety.
Pesce, P.J., Golia and Steinhardt, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: July 28, 2011
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer proved the IME no-show defense through the mailing company's affidavit and the examining doctor's receptionist's affidavit of nonappearance.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Granted summary judgment on the IME no-show defense after finding the denials on that ground timely mailed, following the Second Department preclusion rule while noting the contrary First Department view.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held office-practice affidavits sufficient to establish timely mailing of the IME scheduling letters and of the claim denial forms.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v Bayshore Physical Therapy, PLLC (2011 NY Slip Op 01948) Contrasted (cf., but see)An assignor's failure to attend required IMEs permits retroactive denial of no-fault claims regardless of denial timeliness.
Similar decisions
- Alrof, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52297(U))The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment, while the insurer lacked admissible proof of the assignor's IME nonappearances.
- Clinton Place Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50963(U))The insurer proved its IME nonappearance defense for 13 claims but failed to establish timely denial of the fourteenth.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Farmers New Century Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50379(U))The insurer's IME nonappearance defense was precluded on the first claim because it failed to deny within 30 days or establish tolling.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50249(U))Seven provider claims were dismissed for IME nonappearance or unanswered verification; neither side established summary judgment on two others.
- BR Clinton Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50880(U))The insurer proved the IME no-show defense for four causes of action, but its mailing affidavit omitted the third cause of action.