September 28, 2012
Alfa Med. Supplies v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51890(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/alfa-med-supplies-v-utica-mut-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op-51890u/
- Decided
- September 28, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 51890(U) · 37 Misc 3d 127(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Alfa Med. Supplies v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51890(U))
| Alfa Med. Supplies v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 51890(U) [37 Misc 3d 127(A)] |
| Decided on September 28, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2010-1964 K C.
against
Utica Mutual Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Kathryn E. Freed, J.), entered December 4, 2009, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered January 29, 2010 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the December 4, 2009 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $3,949.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, without costs, so much of the order as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on its claim for $2,199 for supplies provided to Jose Cayetano is vacated, and that branch of plaintiff’s motion is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which the appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
The affidavit submitted by defendant in opposition to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment established that defendant had timely denied the claim for $2,199 for supplies provided to Jose Cayetano on the ground of lack of medical necessity (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of [*2]Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Moreover, defendant annexed to its opposition papers an affirmed peer review report which was sufficient to demonstrate that the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on its $2,199 claim should have been denied (see Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]).
As to plaintiff’s claim for $1,750 for supplies provided to Argenis Plata-Gil, the denial submitted by defendant in opposition to plaintiff’s motion showed that defendant received the claim on January 29, 2007, but did not deny the claim until October 1, 2007, more than 30 days after the claim had been received (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.8). Defendant failed to demonstrate proper tolling of this claim. Accordingly, defendant did not establish that its denial was timely and, thus, that it is not precluded from raising its proffered defenses as to this claim (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of NY v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]). Defendant’s remaining contention lacks merit.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, so much of the order as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on its claim for $2,199 for supplies provided to Jose Cayetano is vacated, and that branch of plaintiff’s motion is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 28, 2012
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof was enough to defeat the provider's motion but not to win
Held the insurer's affirmed peer review, annexed to its opposition, was sufficient to require denial of the provider's summary judgment motion on the $2,199 supply claim.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's affidavit established that it timely denied the $2,199 claim on the ground of lack of medical necessity.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
Similar decisions
- Alfa Med. Supplies v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50064(U))The provider's doctor's affidavit raised a factual issue on medical necessity, defeating the insurer's summary judgment cross motion.
- Alfa Med. Supplies v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51733(U))The insurer established full payment of one claim and an unrebutted medical necessity defense to the remaining claim.
- Alfa Med. Supplies, Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51332(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer reviews defeated the provider's summary judgment motion on the three medical-supply claims under review.
- Alfa Med. Supplies v Eveready Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52282(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review report established that the medical supplies lacked medical necessity.
- Alfa Medical Supplies, Inc.. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51851(U))A peer review report is not inadmissible merely because the reviewer considered medical records from other providers.