September 25, 2008
A Plus Med., P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28381)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-plus-med-p-c-v-government-empls-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-28381/
- Judge
- Gold, J.
- Decided
- September 25, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 28381 · 21 Misc 3d 799
- Posture
- Trial
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A Plus Med., P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28381)
| A Plus Med., P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 28381 [21 Misc 3d 799] |
| September 25, 2008 |
| Gold, J. |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Wednesday, December 24, 2008 |
[*1]
| A Plus Medical, P.C., as Assignee of Sheresse O’Neill, Plaintiff, v Government Employees Insurance Co., Defendant. |
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County, September 25, 2008
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Israel, Israel & Purdy, Great Neck (Jennifer Raheb of counsel), for plaintiff. Law Office of Teresa Spina, Woodbury (Victoria Thomas of counsel), for defendant.
{**21 Misc 3d at 799} OPINION OF THE COURT
Lila Gold, J.
{**21 Misc 3d at 800}In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits in the amount of $878.67, for medical services rendered to its assignor, plaintiff and defendant stipulated to the proper and timely claim of the provider, thereby establishing a prima facie entitlement to payment. (Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003].) The plaintiff and defendant further stipulated that the denial of benefits was timely and that the only issue for trial was medical necessity based on a peer review. The stipulation additionally provided that the peer review and underlying medical records were to be admitted into evidence. Thus, the burden shifted to defendant to prove lack of medical necessity.
Defendant called Dr. Drew Stein, the author of the peer review dated July 6, 2007, who testified that the MRI of the right shoulder was not medically necessary. On cross-examination, Dr. Stein was asked to describe the purpose of a peer review. Dr. Stein’s answer was “to confirm or deny a prognosis.” He then was asked whether an MRI in this particular case was necessary in order to rule out a muscular-skeletal injury vis-à-vis a nerve root injury, to which he answered in the affirmative. In fact, the MRI did show possible nerve impingement.
Dr. Stein, who has been practicing medicine for only four years, was never qualified as an expert by defendant. Nor was his expertise established.
To rebut defendant’s witness, plaintiff called Dr. David Finkelstein who was deemed an expert by the court, without objection, in the field of neurology. Dr. Finkelstein testified that, based on his review of the medical records and the patient’s complaint of pain radiating from the neck to the right shoulder area, an MRI would be helpful to determine which body part should be treated, i.e., the neck or shoulder. He also indicated, from the muscular tests which were performed, there were signs of neurological involvement in that area which an MRI would clarify.
Although it is not the court’s opinion that the services were medically necessary per se, once the plaintiff had established its prima facie case, the burden shifted to the defendant to present sufficient evidence to establish a defense based on the lack of medical necessity. The court finds that Dr. Stein’s testimony was insufficient to establish a defense based on the lack of medical necessity, and, therefore, the burden never shifted back to plaintiff. (West Tremont Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 13 Misc 3d 131[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51871[U] [App Term, 2d &{**21 Misc 3d at 801} 11th Jud Dists 2006].) Thus, after hearing the evidence, and despite Dr. Finkelstein’s testimony, the court does not need to reach the issue of the sufficiency of plaintiff’s rebuttal. Rather, the court, as trier of the facts, is free to assess and reject the testimony as it sees fit and, therefore, finds that the evidence presented by defendant was insufficient to sustain its burden as to the issue of lack of medical necessity.
Wherefore, judgment is to be entered in favor of plaintiff as against defendant in the sum of $878.67, together with statutory interest and attorneys fees, plus costs and disbursements.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's medical-necessity proof failed (conclusory, no factual basis or rationale, inadmissible, not credited)
Held after trial that the insurer's peer reviewer, never qualified as an expert and conceding the MRI could help rule out nerve injury, did not establish lack of medical necessity, so the burden never shifted back.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U)) FollowedA provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- West Tremont Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51871(U)) FollowedA diagnostic provider performing prescribed MRIs remains subject to a lack-of-medical-necessity defense.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50693(U)) FollowedThe insurer's peer reviews failed to establish lack of medical necessity, and its affidavit failed to establish timely mailing of the denials.
- Consolidated Imaging P.C. (Rafailova) v Travelers Indem. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50159(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove lack of medical necessity because its peer review and expert testimony were unreliable.
- AP Orthopedics & Rehabilitation, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20082)An insurer may prove that an injury was not ascertainable within one year of the accident through a claims examiner without medical expert testimony.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50053(U))A neurologist assessing the necessity of chiropractor-ordered MRIs must be shown familiar with generally accepted chiropractic practices.
Similar decisions
- Williamsbridge Radiology & Open Imaging v Travelers Indem. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50224(U))An insurer contesting medical necessity at trial must show that the services departed from generally accepted medical practices.
- Park Neurological Servs. P.C. v GEICO Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 24210)The insurer's denial did not set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for lack of medical necessity, precluding its medical-necessity defense.
- Sunnyside Plus, Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25110)The insurer's peer reviewer was precluded from opining on medical necessity because the underlying reports lacked an evidentiary foundation.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51185(U))A medical necessity denial must state the factual basis and medical rationale with sufficient particularity, even when timely issued.
- Metropolitan Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2016 NY Slip Op 51815(U))The insurer's medical-necessity defense failed at trial because its peer-review doctor's testimony was found not credible.