• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
January 27, 2005

A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50076(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-prudential-prop-cas-ins-co-2005-ny-slip-op-50076u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
January 27, 2005
Citation
2005 NY Slip Op 50076(U)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Staged accidents, lack of coverage Assignments and standing Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Cite as
A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 2005 NY Slip Op 50076(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer's affidavit and EUO evidence raised a triable coverage issue despite untimely denials of certain claims. The Appellate Term, Second Department, modified the order, insofar as appealed from, to remove leave for two acupuncture providers to renew their summary judgment motion, and otherwise affirmed denial of the providers' motions. The litigation coordinator's affidavit and accompanying EUOs supported a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident. A timely denial alone did not dispense with admissible opposition proof. Lack of authentication of assignment signatures was not itself a defect, and the insurer waived assignment defenses by neither seeking verification nor identifying deficiencies in its denials. The coverage issue nevertheless defeated summary judgment and made renewal unwarranted.

Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50076(U))

[*1]
A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co.
2005 NY Slip Op 50076(U)
Decided on January 27, 2005
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on January 27, 2005

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: January 27, 2005 SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., PATTERSON and RIOS, JJ.
2004-420 K C
A.B. MEDICAL SERVICES PLLC, D.A.V. CHIROPRACTIC P.C. DANIEL KIM’S ACUPUNCTURE P.C. SOMUN ACUPUNCTURE P.C. SQUARE SYNAGOGUE TRANSPORTATION INC. S & M SUPPLY INC. a/a/o Larisa Pyatigorskaya, Appellants,

against

PRUDENTIAL PROPERTY & CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, Respondent.

Appeal by plaintiffs from so much of an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (S. Hinds-Radix, J.), entered on January 7, 2004, as denied the motion by plaintiffs A.B. Medical Services PLLC, D.A.V. Chiropractic P.C., Square Synagogue Transportation Inc. and S & M Supply Inc. for summary judgment, and which denied the motion by plaintiffs Daniel Kim’s Acupuncture P.C. and Somun Acupuncture P.C. for summary judgment with leave to renew.

Order insofar as appealed from unanimously modified by striking the provision granting plaintiffs Daniel Kim’s Acupuncture P.C. and Somun Acupuncture P.C. leave to renew their motion for summary judgment; as so modified, affirmed without costs.

A plaintiff health care provider establishes a prima facie entitlement to no-fault benefits by proof that it submitted the statutory claim form, setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). An [*2]insurer’s failure to timely pay or deny the claim within the 30-day statutory period precludes it from asserting most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N. Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]). However, contrary to defendant’s contention, and the apparent determination of the court below, a timely denial does not relieve an insurer opposing a motion for summary judgment from the necessity of submitting proof in admissible form to rebut a plaintiffs’ prima facie case (see e.g. A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 4 Misc 3d 86 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).

The court denied plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment on the ground that issues of fact exist with regard to the validity of the assignments. To the extent that the court’s decision may have been based on the lack of proof authenticating the signature of plaintiffs’ assignor on the assignment forms, it is erroneous. The lack of authentication of the assignor’s signature, in and of itself, does not constitute a defect in the absence of any statutory or regulatory requirement for the same (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., ___ Misc 3d ___, 2004 NY Slip Op 24506[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Even assuming arguendo that a lack of authentication constitutes a cognizable defect, defendant’s failure to seek verification of the assignments, or to allege any deficiency in the assignments in its denial of claim forms, constitutes a waiver of any defenses with respect thereto (see id; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 640 [2004]; Presbyterian Hosp. v Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 233 AD2d 433 [1996]; Park Health Ctr. v Eveready Ins. Co., 2001 NY Slip Op 40665[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).

We note that the revised insurance regulations, applicable to claims submitted on or after April 5, 2002, “no longer permit the assignment to health care providers of benefits for non-health-related services (typically housekeeping and transportation expenses) (11 NYCRR 65-3.11 [a]; Insurance Law § 5102 [a] [1])” (Matter of Medical Socy. of State of N.Y. v Serio, 100 NY2d 854, 871 [2003]). Accordingly, while “[s]uch reasonable and necessary expenses remain reimbursable (see Insurance Law § 5102 [a] [3] . . . [they are] nonassignable” (id). The record herein indicates that plaintiff Square Synagogue Transportation Inc. submitted its transportation costs prior to the effective date of the revised regulations.

Despite its untimely denial of certain of plaintiffs’ claims, defendant is not precluded from asserting the defense that the alleged injuries do not arise out of a covered accident (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195,
201 [1997]). The affidavit submitted by defendant’s litigation coordinator, and the accompanying examinations under oath, were sufficient to demonstrate that defendant’s denial was based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp., 90 NY2d at 199). Accordingly, since defendant demonstrated the existence of a triable issue of fact as to whether there was a lack of coverage (see id.; Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]), plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment was properly denied and renewal thereof would be unwarranted.
Decision Date: January 27, 2005

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried

Held the litigation coordinator's affidavit and accompanying examinations under oath sufficient to show a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from a covered accident, raising a triable issue that defeated the providers' motion.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 16
  • Appellate TermApp Term 171
  • Trial courtsTrial 46
2011, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Defense not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2017, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (2 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's motion fails, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense established)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Defense not shown)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (5 Defense established, 5 Triable issue, 3 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (13 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails, 8 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (21 Triable issue, 9 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 37 decisions (1 Defense established, 24 Triable issue, 12 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2007, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Defense established, 5 Defense not shown)2005, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 6 Defense not shown)2004, Trial courts: 5 decisions (5 Defense not shown)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 234 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24194)An insurer's timely medical-necessity denial does not replace admissible proof opposing a provider's summary judgment motion.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24506) FollowedThe providers' billing manager affidavit failed to establish submission of properly completed claim forms.
  • New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05626)The insurer failed to establish mailing of assignment-verification requests and could not defeat the hospitals' summary judgment motion.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Medwide Med. Supply Inc. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51078(U)) FollowedThe insurer's defenses failed because one denial was late, its medical reviews were incompetent, and assignment objections were waived.
  • Careplus Med. Medical Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51598(U)) FollowedThe insurer's affidavit raised triable issues of intentionally caused collisions despite its untimely denials.

Similar decisions

  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Encompass Ins. (2005 NY Slip Op 51892(U))Transportation benefits are nonassignable under the revised no-fault regulations for claims submitted on or after April 5, 2002.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51334(U))The insurer's incomplete denial and inadmissible fraud proof failed to defeat the health care providers' summary judgment motion.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51316(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME notices to the assignors, defeating its nonappearance defense to summary judgment.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Electric Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50542(U))The assignor's selective IME attendance established receipt of all listed requests and raised a medical-necessity issue on the no-show denials.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GMAC Ins. (2005 NYSlipOp 50602(U))Transportation benefits claimed under the revised no-fault regulations are reimbursable but cannot be assigned to a transportation provider.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.