• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
April 25, 2012

A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-american-tr-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op50764u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
April 25, 2012
Citation
2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U) · 35 Misc 3d 134(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage Discovery and procedure
Legal questions
Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Cite as
A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co., 35 Misc 3d 134(A), 2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2012)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The providers failed to show a proper workers' compensation application within the deadline imposed by the prior appellate order. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, denying the providers summary judgment and granting the insurer's cross motion dismissing the complaint. An earlier appeal required a prompt application to the Workers' Compensation Board and proof of that application within 90 days of entry of the appellate order. Absent compliance or good cause, the District Court was to deny the providers' motion and dismiss the complaint by reverse summary judgment. Citing Workers' Compensation Law § 33, the appellate court found no showing of a proper application within the prescribed period.

Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U))

[*1]
A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co.
2012 NY Slip Op 50764(U) [35 Misc 3d 134(A)]
Decided on April 25, 2012
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on April 25, 2012

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : IANNACCI, J.P., NICOLAI and MOLIA, JJ
.
A.B. Medical Services, PLLC and RW HEALTH PLUS CHIROPRACTIC, P.C. as Assignees of WILKENS LaGUERRE, Appellants, —

against

American Transit Insurance Company, Respondent.

Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, Third District (Andrea Phoenix, J.), dated November 22, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the branch of plaintiffs’ motion seeking summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.

In this action by providers to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiffs moved for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion and cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that it had timely denied plaintiffs’ claims based upon the assignor’s eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits, and that there was an issue as to whether plaintiffs’ assignor had been injured during the course of employment, thereby requiring that the matter be submitted to the Workers’ Compensation Board (Board). The District Court denied the motion and cross motion without prejudice and held the action in abeyance pending a determination by the Board, finding that there were mixed questions of law and fact regarding the availability of workers’ compensation benefits, over which the Board had primary jurisdiction. Plaintiffs appealed from so much of the order as denied without prejudice their motion for summary judgment and held the action in abeyance. On appeal, by order dated June 18, 2009, this court modified the District Court’s order “by striking the provision denying without prejudice plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment and by remitting plaintiffs’ motion to the District Court to be held in abeyance pending a prompt application to the Workers’ Compensation Board for a determination of the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law. In the event plaintiffs fail to file proof with the District Court of such application within 90 days of the date of the order entered hereon, the District Court shall deny plaintiffs’ motion and grant reverse summary judgment in favor of defendant dismissing the complaint unless plaintiffs show good cause why the complaint should not be dismissed” (A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 75, 76 [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2009]; see LMK Psychological Servs., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 64 AD3d 752 [2009]).

Thereafter, plaintiffs moved for leave to renew their prior motion for summary judgment. [*2]Defendant opposed plaintiffs’ motion and cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint pursuant to this court’s June 18, 2009 order. By order dated November 22, 2010, the District Court, insofar as is relevant to this appeal, denied the branch of plaintiffs’ motion seeking summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, finding that a proper application to the Board, pursuant to this court’s June 18, 2009 order, had not been made.

Since plaintiffs did not demonstrate that a proper application for workers’ compensation benefits had been made in accordance with the Workers’ Compensation Law (see e.g. Workers’ Compensation Law § 33) within the time provisions set forth in this court’s order dated June 18, 2009, they failed to establish that they had complied with this court’s order. Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.

Iannacci, J.P., Nicolai and Molia, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: April 25, 2012

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Workers' comp or other insurer primary

Open the full map

Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?

This decision: Workers' compensation is primary and the claim against the no-fault insurer is dismissed or denied

Affirmed dismissal of the complaint because the providers did not show that a proper workers' compensation application had been made within the time set by the earlier abeyance order.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 8
  • Appellate TermApp Term 42
  • Trial courtsTrial 19
2014, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown, 1 WC defense precluded)2007, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2024, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2019, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (4 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails, 1 WC defense precluded)2018, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 3 WC primary: claim fails)2017, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 WC defense precluded)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2014, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC primary: claim fails)2013, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2012, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 3 WC primary: claim fails)2011, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2010, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (3 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown, 2 WC defense precluded)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2005, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 1 First insurer must pay)2008, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2023, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 WC primary: claim fails, 2 WC defense not shown)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Referred to WC Board, 1 WC defense not shown)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 2 WC defense precluded)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 WC defense not shown, 1 WC defense precluded)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2026, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 WC defense precluded, 1 First insurer must pay)This decision
20052010201520202025
Referred to WC BoardWC primary: claim failsWC defense not shownWC defense precludedFirst insurer must payNo coverage, not priorityThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 69 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 10 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29271) FollowedThe insurer's proof raised a factual question about the assignor's employment status that required Workers' Compensation Board resolution.
  • LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06004)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine factual issues concerning workers' compensation coverage.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Alev Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52271(U)) FollowedThe provider's complaint was dismissed after it failed to show compliance with an order requiring a workers' compensation application.

Similar decisions

  • B.Y., M.D., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51902(U))The insurer's proof raised a factual question about employment at the time of the accident for the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve first.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50959(U))The insurer failed to show potential merit in its workers' compensation defense sufficient to warrant Workers' Compensation Board review.
  • A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Travelers Indem. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50246(U))A sua sponte order is not appealable as of right, and the providers had not obtained leave to appeal the dismissal of their complaint.
  • Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52053(U))The provider's complaint was dismissed because it failed to show compliance with an order requiring a Workers' Compensation Board application.
  • D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.