Reported in New York Official Reports at Stracar Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51415(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Dawn Jimenez Salta, J.), entered September 14, 2012. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Defendant’s motion was based on plaintiff’s failure to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs).
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, defendant sufficiently established plaintiff’s failure to appear for the two duly scheduled EUOs (see e.g. T & J Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 47 Misc 3d 130[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50406[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]; Natural Therapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 44 Misc 3d 141[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 51310[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]).
Plaintiff further argues that defendant’s motion was premature, in that plaintiff was entitled to discovery regarding the propriety of defendant’s EUO demands. However, plaintiff failed to allege, much less prove, that it had responded in any way to the EUO requests at issue, and therefore it cannot raise any objection to the reasonableness of those requests in litigation (see e.g. T & J Chiropractic, P.C., 47 Misc 3d 130[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50406[U]; Metro Health Prods., Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 47 Misc 3d 127[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50402[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]). Consequently, discovery relevant to the reasonableness of the EUO requests was not necessary for plaintiff to oppose defendant’s motion (see CPLR 3212 [f]; Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d 596 [2014]; Palafox PT, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 144[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51653[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]; T & J Chiropractic, P.C., 47 Misc 3d 130[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50406[U]; Metro Health Prods., Inc., 47 Misc 3d 127[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50402[U]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51413(U))
| Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51413(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-647 Q C
against
Travelers Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered February 27, 2014. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Contrary to plaintiff’s arguments on appeal, the proof submitted by defendant in support of its cross motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that initial and follow-up verifications requests had been properly mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]), and to demonstrate that defendant had not received the requested verification, and, thus, that plaintiff’s action is premature (see Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 24 AD3d 492 [2005]). However, plaintiff submitted an affidavit from plaintiff’s owner, which, as plaintiff argues, was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the requested verification had been mailed to, and received by, defendant (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). In light of the foregoing, there is a triable issue of fact as to whether this action is premature (see Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 152[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51776[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at GBI Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51412(U))
| GBI Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51412(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-505 Q C
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Carmen R. Velasquez, J.), entered February 19, 2014. The order, insofar as appealed from, granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second through tenth causes of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment on the second through tenth causes of action are denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as granted the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second through tenth causes of action. Defendant’s motion was based on the defense that it had fully paid plaintiff for the services at issue in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule.
Plaintiff correctly argues on appeal that the affidavits submitted by defendant did not sufficiently set forth a standard office practice or procedure that would ensure that the denial of claim forms had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Thus, defendant did not demonstrate its entitlement to summary judgment dismissing the second through tenth causes of action.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, and the branches of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment on the second through tenth causes of action are denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Treka Med., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51411(U))
| Treka Med., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51411(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-413 Q C
against
Travelers Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulysses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered January 30, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first, and third through seventh, causes of action.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first, and third through seventh, causes of action.
Contrary to plaintiff’s argument with respect to the claim underlying the first cause of action, defendant sufficiently described its practices and procedures for receipt of mail and demonstrated, prima facie, that it had not received this claim. Contrary to plaintiff’s further argument, plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact as to whether it had mailed this claim to defendant. While plaintiff submitted an affidavit by its owner, that affidavit alleges that this claim was mailed almost a month before the services set forth in that claim were provided. Moreover, while plaintiff attached to its opposition papers the claims allegedly sent to defendant, there was no claim attached matching the amount sought in the first cause of action.
Contrary to plaintiff’s arguments with respect to the third through seventh causes of action, the proof submitted by defendant in support of its motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that initial and follow-up verification requests had been properly mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]), and to demonstrate that defendant had not received the requested verification and, thus, that those causes of action are premature (see Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 24 AD3d 492 [2005]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U))
| Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51410(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-410 Q C
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulysses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered January 28, 2014. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff correctly argues that defendant’s motion papers failed to establish that the denial of claim forms at issue had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Consequently, defendant failed to establish that it is entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff failed to demonstrate its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, as the proof submitted in support of its motion did not establish either that defendant had failed to deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 114 AD3d 33 [2013]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Liberty Chiropractic, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51409(U))
| Liberty Chiropractic, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51409(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-399 Q C
against
21st Century Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (William A. Viscovich, J.), entered January 21, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Plaintiff properly argues on appeal that defendant failed to establish its defense, that the fees charged exceeded the amounts set forth in the workers’ compensation fee schedule, as a matter of law (see Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co., 23 Misc 3d 132[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50732[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). For example, defendant failed to demonstrate that it had used the correct conversion factor in calculating the reimbursement rate. In addition, defendant sought to demonstrate that plaintiff was not entitled to any payment for services rendered by plaintiff on specific dates because defendant had already paid another provider, Harvard Medical, P.C., for eight units of physical medicine procedures and/or modalities, the full number of units permitted by Physical Medicine Ground Rule 11, for each of those dates. However, the documents relied upon by defendant were attached to the motion papers without authentication, foundation or even discussion. Even if we were to take the documents at face value, they show only that Harvard Medical, P.C. had billed for a total of three units for each of the applicable dates.
Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Charles Deng Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51405(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered December 3, 2013. The order, insofar as appealed from and as limited by the brief, denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, granted the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action and, upon denying the remaining branches of defendant’s motion for summary judgment, made, in effect, a finding, for all purposes in the action, that defendant’s denial of claim forms had been timely and properly mailed.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action is denied and by vacating the finding, for all purposes in the action, that defendant’s denial of claim forms had been timely and properly mailed; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Civil Court denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, granted the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action, and, upon denying the remaining branches of defendant’s motion for summary judgment, made, in effect, a finding, among others, for all purposes in the action, that defendant’s denial of claim forms had been timely and properly mailed.
Plaintiff correctly argues on appeal that the affidavit submitted by defendant did not sufficiently set forth a standard office practice or procedure that would ensure that the denial of claim forms had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Thus, defendant did not demonstrate that the branch of its motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action, which was based upon defendant’s allegation that it had properly paid plaintiff for the services at issue in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule, should have been granted, or that it is entitled to a finding for all purposes in the action that its denial of claim forms were timely and properly mailed.
However, contrary to plaintiff’s contention, plaintiff failed to demonstrate its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, as the affidavit plaintiff submitted in support of its motion [*2]failed to establish that the claim at issue had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first cause of action is denied and by vacating the finding, for all purposes in the action, that defendant’s denial of claim forms had been timely and properly mailed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016
Reported in New York Official Reports at Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v K.O. Med., P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 06166)
| Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v K.O. Med., P.C. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 06166 [142 AD3d 875] |
| September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Division, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| Liberty Mutual Insurance Company et al.,
Respondents, v K.O. Medical, P.C., Appellant. |
Law Office of Melissa Betancourt, P.C., Brooklyn (Frank D’Esposito of counsel), for appellant.
Burke, Conway, Loccisano & Dillon, White Plains (Philip J. Dillon of counsel), for respondents.
Order, Supreme Court, Bronx County (John A. Barone, J.), entered on or about March 6, 2015, which, upon renewal, granted plaintiffs’ motion to amend the complaint, for summary judgment, and for a permanent injunction against any arbitration or court hearing on no-fault benefits between the parties, to the extent of declaring that defendant is not entitled to no-fault insurance benefits, unanimously modified, on the law, to deny the parts of the motion seeking summary judgment and leave to amend, to vacate the declaration, and to order that the denial of the parts of the motion seeking to amend the complaint and for a permanent injunction is without prejudice to renewal, and otherwise affirmed, without costs.
Plaintiffs seek, inter alia, a declaration that defendant is not entitled to no-fault insurance benefits because it failed to appear for examinations under oath (EUOs). However, plaintiffs failed to demonstrate that the EUOs were properly noticed (see e.g. Interboro Ins. Co. v Perez, 112 AD3d 483 [1st Dept 2013]). Counsel’s affirmation may be sufficient proof that the requests for EUOs were mailed (see Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Five Boro Med. Equip., Inc., 130 AD3d 465 [1st Dept 2015]), but neither the affirmation nor anything else in the record establishes that the requests were mailed in accordance with the time frames set forth in the no-fault implementing regulations. Under the circumstances, the timeliness of plaintiffs’ claim denials is immaterial (see Interboro Ins. Co., 112 AD3d 483).
Plaintiffs also failed to establish prima facie defendant’s failure to appear for the EUOs. The transcripts submitted to show defendant’s failure to appear on certain dates were uncertified and unsworn (see Rue v Stokes, 191 AD2d 245, 246-247 [1st Dept 1993]), and no evidence was submitted with respect to the other dates.
In support of their motion to amend, plaintiffs failed to include the proposed amended complaint or the proposed additional billings (see McBride v KPMG Intl., 135 AD3d 576, 581 [1st Dept 2016]). Thus, the motion is denied without prejudice to renewal before the trial court. The motion for an injunction against arbitration or further court proceedings also is denied without prejudice to renewal, and that motion should be addressed to Supreme Court in the first instance. Concur—Sweeny, J.P., Manzanet-Daniels, Feinman, Kapnick and Webber, JJ.
Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v USAA Gen. Indem. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51342(U))Reported in New York Official Reports at Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v USAA Gen. Indem. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51342(U))
[*1]| Healthy Way Acupuncture, P.C. v USAA Gen. Indem. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51342(U) [53 Misc 3d 128(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT
PRESENT: Shulman, J.P., Gonzalez, J.
570373/16
against
USAA General Indemnity Co., Defendant-Respondent.
Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Lynn R. Kotler, J.), dated May 13, 2014, which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Per Curiam.
Order (Lynn R. Kotler, J.), dated May 13, 2014, reversed, with $10 costs, defendant’s motion denied, and the complaint reinstated.
The defendant-insurer’s motion for summary judgment dismissing this first-party no-fault action should have been denied. While defendant submitted evidence showing that plaintiff’s assignor misrepresented his military status in the underlying insurance policy application, defendant is precluded from asserting that defense as a result of its untimely denial of the claim (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v GMAC Ins. Co. Online, Inc., 80 AD3d 603 [2011]; Gutierrez v United Servs. Auto. Assn., 47 Misc 3d 152[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50797[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists]).
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur I concur
Decision Date: September 27, 2016Renelique v MVAIC (2016 NY Slip Op 51408(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Renelique v MVAIC (2016 NY Slip Op 51408(U))
[*1]| Renelique v MVAIC |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 51408(U) [53 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 27, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 27, 2016
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2014-365 Q C
against
MVAIC, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Maureen A. Healy, J.), entered October 4, 2013, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered January 29, 2014 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the October 4, 2013 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $3,236.94.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, the order entered October 4, 2013 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (sued herein as MVAIC) appeals from an order of the Civil Court entered October 4, 2013 which granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. A judgment was subsequently entered, from which the appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
Since plaintiff and its assignor were aware of the identity of the owner of the vehicle in which the assignor had been a passenger at the time of the accident, plaintiff, as assignee, was required to exhaust its remedies against the vehicle’s owner before seeking relief from MVAIC (see Hauswirth v American Home Assur. Co., 244 AD2d 528 [1997]; Modern Art Med., P.C. v MVAIC, 22 Misc 3d 126[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52586[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]; Doctor Liliya Med., P.C. v MVAIC, 21 Misc 3d 143[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52453[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]). Here, plaintiff did not demonstrate that it had exhausted its remedies against the owner of the vehicle. In light of the foregoing, we reach no other issue.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order entered October 4, 2013 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: September 27, 2016