Reported in New York Official Reports at Compas Med., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51228(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
21st Century Insurance Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Bryan M. Rothenberg (Maryana Feigen, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Cheree A. Buggs, J.), entered April 2, 2014. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the first, fourth and fifth causes of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the fourth cause of action is denied; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant had fully paid plaintiff for the services underlying the first, fourth and fifth causes of action in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule, and that it had not received the claims underlying the remaining causes of action. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied plaintiff’s motion and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the first, fourth and fifth causes of action.
Plaintiff correctly argues that defendant failed to establish that its denial of the claim underlying the fourth cause of action was timely (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]) and that, therefore, its fee schedule defense as to that claim is not precluded (see Great Wall Acupuncture, [*2]P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 137[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 52308[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Consequently, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing this cause of action is denied. However, plaintiff failed to demonstrate its entitlement to summary judgment on this claim, as the proof submitted by plaintiff did not establish that the claim at issue had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim form that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Contrary to plaintiff’s further argument, defendant’s proof was sufficient to demonstrate, prima facie, that defendant had fully paid for the services charged under code 64550 of the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co., 23 Misc 3d 132[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50732[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Plaintiff failed to rebut that showing. Consequently, we do not disturb so much of the order as granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the first and fifth causes of action.
As to the remaining causes of action, we find, contrary to plaintiff’s argument, that there is a triable issue of fact as to whether defendant received the claims underlying those causes of action.
We note that plaintiff’s claim that one of defendant’s affidavits was not signed or notarized is contradicted by the record.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the fourth cause of action is denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017
Reported in New York Official Reports at AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U))
[*1]| AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U) [57 Misc 3d 131(A)] |
| Decided on September 22, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 22, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT
PRESENT: Shulman, J.P., Ling-Cohan, Gonzalez, JJ.
570154/17 Calendar No. 17-145
against
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America, Defendant-Appellant.
Defendant, as limited by its briefs, appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Debra Rose Samuels, J.), entered October 27, 2015, insofar as it found that plaintiff had established its prima facie case, denied, in part, defendant’s motion for summary judgment and directed a trial on the sole issue of whether Workers’ Compensation was the primary coverage for plaintiff’s assignor.
Per Curiam.
Order (Debra Rose Samuels, J.), entered October 27, 2015, insofar as appealed from, reversed, without costs, the order vacated and the matter remanded to Civil Court for a new determination of the parties’ respective motions for summary judgment following a prompt application to the Workers’ Compensation Board to determine the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
Defendant’s submissions in support of its motion for summary judgment dismissing this first-party, no-fault action, including the statement of plaintiff’s assignor, raised triable issues as to whether the assignor had been acting in the course of his employment at the time of the accident and that, therefore, workers’ compensation benefits might be available (see Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co., 71 AD3d 629 [2010]; Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 42 Misc 3d 145[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50340[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists, 2014]). Plaintiff’s present argument that the assignor’s statement is defective and inadmissible, is unpreserved, as it is improperly raised for the first time on appeal (see Jordan v City of New York, 126 AD3d 619 [2015]). The defects now alleged by plaintiff could have been corrected by defendant before the motion court, if raised at an earlier time (see DeJesus v Tavares, 140 AD3d 433 [2016]).
The Workers’ Compensation Board (Board) has primary jurisdiction to determine factual issues concerning coverage under the Workers’ Compensation Law (see Botwinick v Ogden, 59 NY2d 909 [1983]). Therefore, resolution of the factual questions presented on this record “is best suited for determination by the Board, given its expertise in the area” (Arvatz v Empire Mut. Ins. [*2]Co., 171 AD2d 262, 269 [1991]), and the parties’ respective summary judgment motions should have been held in abeyance pending a determination by the Board as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law to plaintiff’s claims (see LMK Psychological Serv., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 64 AD3d 752, 754 [2009]; Devonshire Surgical Facility, L.L.C. v Hereford Ins. Co., 30 Misc 3d 129[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 52297[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2010]). THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur I concurI concur
Decision Date: September 22, 2017XVV, Inc. v Farmington Cas. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51231(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at XVV, Inc. v Farmington Cas. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51231(U))
[*1]| XVV, Inc. v Farmington Cas. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51231(U) [57 Misc 3d 132(A)] |
| Decided on September 22, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 22, 2017
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M. SOLOMON, JJ
2014-918 Q C
against
Farmington Casualty Company, Respondent.
Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn, P.C. (Marina Josovich, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Aloy O. Ibuzor (Medgine Bernadotte, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Cheree A. Buggs, J.), entered April 3, 2014. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground of a lack of medical necessity.
Contrary to plaintiff’s argument on appeal, the peer review report submitted by defendant sufficiently set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the peer reviewer’s determination that there was a lack of medical necessity for the supplies at issue. However, as plaintiff further argues, the medical affidavit that plaintiff submitted in opposition was sufficient to raise a triable issue of fact as to medical necessity.
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017Greenway Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC, Inc. (2017 NY Slip Op 51236(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Greenway Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC, Inc. (2017 NY Slip Op 51236(U))
[*1]| Greenway Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC, Inc. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51236(U) [57 Misc 3d 132(A)] |
| Decided on September 22, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 22, 2017
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN SOLOMON, JJ
2014-1106 K C
against
ELRAC, Inc., Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Carman, Callahan & Ingham, LLP (Paul A. Barrett, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Carolyn E. Wade, J.), entered February 18, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that it had not received timely notice of the accident (see 11 NYCRR 65-2.4 [a], [b]).
For the reasons stated in Compas Med., P.C. v ELRAC, Inc. (53 Misc 3d 138[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 51497[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2016]), the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Omni Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51246(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Omni Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51246(U))
[*1]| TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Omni Indem. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51246(U) [57 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on September 22, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 22, 2017
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M. SOLOMON, JJ
2014-1838 Q C
against
Omni Indemnity Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Freiberg, Peck & Kang, LLP (Yilo J. Kang, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Sally E. Unger, J.), entered July 9, 2014. The order, insofar as appealed from, upon reargument and renewal, adhered to a prior order of the same court entered March 7, 2014 granting defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, by order entered March 7, 2014, the Civil Court granted a motion by defendant for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant had not issued an insurance policy covering the subject loss and, thus, that plaintiff had sued the wrong party. Plaintiff subsequently moved for leave to reargue and renew. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered July 9, 2014 as, upon reargument and renewal, adhered to the March 7, 2014 order.
For the reasons stated in TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Omni Indem. Co. (48 Misc 3d 142[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51294[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]), the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51258(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51258(U))
[*1]| Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51258(U) [57 Misc 3d 134(A)] |
| Decided on September 22, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 22, 2017
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M. SOLOMON, JJ
2014-2100 Q C
against
Omni Indemnity Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Freiberg, Peck & Kang, LLP (Yilo J. Kang, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered August 8, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant had not issued an insurance policy covering the subject loss and, thus, that plaintiff had sued the wrong party.
For the reasons stated in TAM Med. Supply Corp. v Omni Indem. Co. (48 Misc 3d 142[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51294[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]), the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 22, 2017Acupuncture Approach, P.C. v Tri State Consumer Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51170(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Acupuncture Approach, P.C. v Tri State Consumer Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51170(U))
| Acupuncture Approach, P.C. v Tri State Consumer Ins. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51170(U) [57 Misc 3d 129(A)] |
| Decided on September 19, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 19, 2017
PRESENT: Shulman, J.P., Ling-Cohan, Gonzalez, JJ.
570145/17
against
Tri State Consumer Ins. Co., Defendant-Respondent.
Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Andrea Masley, J.), entered June 27, 2013, which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Per Curiam.
Order (Andrea Masley, J.), entered June 27, 2013, modified by reinstating plaintiff’s claim for first-party no-fault benefits billed under CPT code 97039; as modified, order affirmed, with $10 costs.
Triable issues of fact are raised as to whether defendant-insurer properly denied plaintiff’s no-fault claim billed under CPT code 97039, thus precluding summary judgment dismissing this claim. Defendant’s submissions failed to establish prima facie its contention that the service is not reimbursable because it is a “physical medicine modality” and “outside the provider’s specialty” (see TC Acupuncture, P.C. v Tri-State Consumer Ins. Co., 52 Misc 3d 131[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50978[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2016]; VS Care Acupuncture v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 46 Misc 3d 141[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50164[U][App Term, 1st Dept 2015]; see also Forrest Chen Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 54 AD3d 996 [2008]). The remaining claims at issue on appeal were properly dismissed as premature, since it is undisputed that plaintiff failed to respond to the duly issued verification requests (see St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country Wide Ins. Co., 80 AD3d 599, 600 [2011]).
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur I concur I concur
Decision Date: September 19, 2017
Reported in New York Official Reports at Jj & R Chiropractic, P.C. v Interboro Mut. Indem. Ins. (2017 NY Slip Op 51201(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Interboro Mutual Indemnity Insurance, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Jason Tenenbaum, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Mandell and Santora (Michael J. Rago, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Terrence C. O’Connor, J.), entered September 29, 2015. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion to dismiss the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant answered the complaint and served demands for discovery, including a notice to take the deposition of plaintiff. Upon plaintiff’s failure to appear, defendant moved to, among other things, compel plaintiff’s treating doctor to attend a deposition or to preclude plaintiff from offering evidence at trial. By order entered April 20, 2015, the Civil Court, insofar as is relevant to this appeal, found that, upon plaintiff’s establishment of a prima facie case, the sole issues for trial would be limited to the medical necessity of the services rendered and whether the claims had been properly billed in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule. The court directed defendant to serve another notice of deposition and stated that plaintiff’s failure to appear would result in the preclusion of testimony at trial with respect to medical necessity and the fee schedule. Defendant did not appeal from the order entered April 20, 2015. Thereafter, defendant moved, pursuant to CPLR 3126 (3), to dismiss the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to comply with the demand for a deposition. Plaintiff opposed the motion and argued that the prior order of the Civil Court had not provided for dismissal of the complaint as a penalty for noncompliance. Defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered September 29, 2015 as denied defendant’s motion to dismiss the complaint. The order also precluded plaintiff from offering testimony at trial pertaining to the medical necessity of the services rendered and whether the services had been billed in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule.
While defendant argues that the complaint should have been dismissed, ” a trial court is [*2]given broad discretion to oversee the discovery process’ ” (Maiorino v City of New York, 39 AD3d 601, 601 [2007], quoting Castillo v Henry Schein, Inc., 259 AD2d 651, 652 [1999]). The determination of the nature and degree of the penalty to be imposed pursuant to CPLR 3126 for failing to comply with an order compelling disclosure lies within the discretion of the motion court (see Kihl v Pfeffer, 94 NY2d 118, 122-123 [1999]; Morano v Westchester Paving & Sealing Corp., 7 AD3d 495 [2004]; Jaffe v Hubbard, 299 AD2d 395 [2002]). The motion court’s determination of whether to impose sanctions for conduct which frustrates the disclosure scheme of the CPLR, and the terms and conditions of any sanctions imposed, should not be disturbed on appeal absent an improvident exercise of discretion (see Savin v Brooklyn Mar. Park Dev. Corp., 61 AD3d 954 [2009]).
Upon a review of the record before us, we find that the Civil Court did not improvidently exercise its discretion in declining to dismiss the complaint and, instead, precluding plaintiff’s testimony at trial with respect to the medical necessity of the services rendered and whether the claims had been properly billed in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see CPLR 3126 [2]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., WESTON and ALIOTTA, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 15, 2017
Reported in New York Official Reports at North Bronx Med. Health Care v Chubb Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51200(U))
| North Bronx Med. Health Care v Chubb Ins. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51200(U) [57 Misc 3d 131(A)] |
| Decided on September 15, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on September 15, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M. SOLOMON, JJ
2015-50 Q C
against
Chubb Insurance Company, Appellant.
Matthew Brew & Associates, LLC (Matthew Brew, Esq.), for appellant. The Gitelis Law Firm, P.C., for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulyssses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered July 21, 2014. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied defendant’s motion which sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint upon the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations.
For the reasons stated in Kappa Med., P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (___ Misc 3d ___, 2017 NY Slip Op ____ [appeal No. 2015-49 Q C], decided herewith), the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 15, 2017
Reported in New York Official Reports at Kappa Med., P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51199(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Chubb Indemnity Insurance Company, Appellant.
Matthew Brew & Associates, LLC (Matthew Brew, Esq.), for appellant. Law Office of Cohen & Jaffe, LLP (Aaron J. Perretta, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulyssses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered July 22, 2014. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and, upon denying plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, made, in effect, CPLR 3212 (g) findings in plaintiff’s favor.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that it had timely and properly denied the claims at issue based on the failure of plaintiff’s assignor to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs), and plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment. Defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied defendant’s motion and, upon denying plaintiff’s cross motion, made, in effect, CPLR 3212 (g) findings in plaintiff’s favor.
In support of its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, defendant submitted an affidavit from the doctor who was to perform the IMEs which failed to demonstrate upon personal knowledge (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]), or by any other appropriate means (see e.g. Quality Psychological Servs., P.C. v Interboro Mut. Indem. Ins. Co., 36 Misc 3d 146[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 51628[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]), that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for the IMEs. Thus, defendant failed to establish its entitlement to summary judgment dismissing the complaint (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d 720).
Furthermore, defendant fails to articulate a sufficient basis to strike the Civil Court’s CPLR 3212 (g) findings in plaintiff’s favor (see EMC Health Prods., Inc. v Geico Ins. Co., 43 Misc 3d 139[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50786[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists [*2]2014]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: September 15, 2017