Reported in New York Official Reports at Hertz Vehs. LLC v Significant Care, PT, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 00456)
| Hertz Vehs. LLC v Significant Care, PT, P.C. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 00456 [157 AD3d 600] |
| January 25, 2018 |
| Appellate Division, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| Hertz Vehicles LLC, Appellant, v Significant Care, PT, P.C., et al., Defendants, and Ksenia Pavlova, DO, Respondent. |
Rubin, Fiorella & Friedman LLP, New York (David F. Boucher Jr. of counsel), for appellant.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC, Brooklyn (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.
Order, Supreme Court, New York County (Barbara Jaffe, J.), entered August 17, 2017, which denied plaintiff Hertz Vehicles, LLC’s motion for summary judgment on the grounds that it failed to demonstrate that it timely requested examinations under oath (EUO), unanimously reversed, on the law, without costs, and the motion granted. The Clerk is directed to enter judgment declaring that Hertz owes no coverage for the no-fault services rendered by defendant Pavlova to defendant claimant Beard.
The affidavit of the Hertz claims handler personally assigned to this claim, as corroborated by the NF-10 denial of claim form (Wausau Bus. Ins. Co. v 3280 Broadway Realty Co. LLC, 47 AD3d 549, 549 [1st Dept 2008]; see also American Tr. Ins. Co. v Longevity Med. Supply, Inc., 131 AD3d 841, 842 [1st Dept 2015]), stated that the date Pavlova’s bill was received by the insurer was July 18, 2014. Hertz therefore established its compliance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (b) by generating the first EUO scheduling letter within 15 days of receipt of the provider’s bill, and compliance with 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b), by generating the second EUO scheduling letter less than 10 days after the first nonappearance on August 7, 2014.
Hertz also established proof of mailing because it included an affidavit of service, which was executed by the person who mailed the EUO notices and who attested that each was mailed by regular mail to the address provided on the claimant’s claim form, as well as to claimant’s attorney, in a “postpaid, properly addressed wrapper, in an official depository under the exclusive care and custody of the United States Postal Service within the State of New York” (see American Tr. Ins. Co. v Lucas, 111 AD3d 423, 424 [1st Dept 2013]; see also DeLuca v Smith, 146 AD3d 732, 732 [1st Dept 2017]).
Pavlova’s argument, raised for the first time on appeal, that the second EUO nonappearance date was not a non-appearance because the claimant’s counsel was present, and because there was a statement on the record which not only acknowledged claimant’s nonappearance, but also agreed to reschedule the EUO, is unpreserved and unavailing. Concur—Acosta, P.J., Renwick, Kapnick, Kahn, Kern, JJ.
Utopia Equip. Inc. v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50080(U))Reported in New York Official Reports at Utopia Equip. Inc. v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50080(U))
| Utopia Equip. Inc. v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50080(U) [58 Misc 3d 149(A)] |
| Decided on January 24, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 24, 2018
PRESENT: Shulman, P.J., Ling-Cohan, Gonzalez, JJ.
570688/17
against
Ocean Harbor Casualty Insurance Co., Defendant-Appellant.
Defendant appeals from that portion of an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Debra Rose Samuels, J.), dated May 9, 2017, which, upon renewal, adhered to a prior order denying its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Per Curiam.
Order (Debra Rose Samuels, J.), dated May 9, 2017, insofar as appealed from, reversed, with $10 costs, defendant’s motion granted and complaint dismissed. The Clerk is directed to enter judgment accordingly.
Defendant-insurer’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the underlying first-party no-fault action should have been granted. Defendant established, prima facie, that the underlying Florida automobile insurance policy had been properly rescinded ab initio, in accordance with Florida Law, and that there was therefore no coverage available to plaintiff’s assignor. Defendant’s submissions included an affidavit of its claims manager and other proof demonstrating that a rescission notice was sent to the assignor-insured and that defendant had tendered a check for premiums paid within a reasonable time after discovery of the grounds for rescinding the policy (see Utopia Equip., Inc. v Infinity Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 126[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50332[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2017]; Hu-Nam-Nam v Infinity Ins. Co., 51 Misc 3d 130[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50391[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th and 13th Jud Dists 2016]). Defendant was not required to establish the basis for the retroactive rescission, but rather had the burden of establishing that it complied with the law of the sister state which permits retroactive rescission (see Utopia Equip., Inc., v Infinity Ins. Co., 2017 NY Slip Op 50332[U]).
In opposition to defendant’s prima facie showing, plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact as to the validity of the retroactive rescission of the policy in accordance with Florida law (see Hu-Nam-Nam v Infinity Ins. Co., 2016 NY Slip Op 50391[U]).
We have considered plaintiff’s remaining arguments and find them unavailing.
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur I concur I concur
Decision Date: January 24, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50095(U))
| Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50095(U) [58 Misc 3d 151(A)] |
| Decided on January 19, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 19, 2018
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., MICHELLE WESTON, DAVID ELLIOT, JJ
2016-950 K C
against
Hereford Insurance Co., Appellant.
Law Office of Lawrence R. Miles (Thomas Wolf, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn, P.C. (Marina Josovich, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Theresa M. Ciccotto, J.), entered January 27, 2016, deemed from a judgment of that court entered April 7, 2016 (see CLPR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the January 27, 2016 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $1,103.32.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, the order entered January 27, 2016 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff seeks the unpaid balance of two claims for services that plaintiff rendered from May 7, 2014 through July 16, 2014. Plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff seeks to recover amounts which are in excess of the amounts permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule. Defendant supported its cross motion with an affidavit by its certified medical coder and biller, which affidavit was sufficient to establish, prima facie, that defendant had fully paid the claims in accordance with the fee schedule. In opposition, plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact, as plaintiff submitted only an affirmation by its counsel, who did not establish that she possessed personal knowledge of the facts. In an order entered January 27, 2016, the Civil Court granted plaintiff’s motion, and denied defendant’s cross motion on the ground that defendant was precluded from interposing its defense because defendant had failed to timely deny plaintiff’s claims.
As defendant argues, 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (g) (1) (ii); (2) provides that, effective April 1, 2013, “no payment shall be due for [] claimed medical services under any circumstances . . . for those claimed medical service fees that exceed the charges permissible pursuant to Insurance Law sections 5108 (a) and (b) and the regulations promulgated thereunder for services rendered [*2]by medical providers.” Thus, defendant was not required to establish that it had timely denied the claims in order to preserve its fee schedule defense, as the services at issue had been provided between May 7, 2014 and July 16, 2014 (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [g] [1] [ii]; [2]).
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order entered January 27, 2016 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
PESCE, P.J., WESTON and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 19, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Lotus Acupuncture PC v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50057(U))
| Lotus Acupuncture PC v Hereford Ins. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50057(U) [58 Misc 3d 148(A)] |
| Decided on January 18, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 18, 2018
PRESENT: Shulman, P.J., Ling-Cohan, Gonzalez, JJ.
570400/17
against
Hereford Ins. Co., Defendant-Respondent.
Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Jose A. Padilla, Jr., J.), entered August 29, 2014, which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Per Curiam.
Order (Jose A. Padilla, Jr., J.) entered August 29, 2014, modified to deny defendant’s motion for summary judgment and to reinstate the complaint; as modified, order affirmed, without costs.
This action, seeking recovery of assigned first-party no-fault benefits, is not ripe for summary disposition. The proof submitted by defendant was insufficient to establish, prima facie, that the amounts charged by plaintiff for the services rendered exceeded the rates set forth in the governing fee schedule (see Healthy Way Accupucture, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 127[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50345[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2017]; MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 35 Misc 3d 69 [2011]). The new arguments raised in defendant’s reply papers, even if properly considered (cf. Rozina v Casa 74th Dev. LLC, 89 AD3d 508 [2011]) failed to eliminate all triable issues of fact (see Winegrad v New York Univ. Med. Ctr., 64 NY2d 851, 853 [1985]; Devonshire Surgical Facility, LLC v Allstate Ins. Co., 38 Misc 3d 127[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 52351[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2012]), and, in any event, revealed additional matters in dispute.
We have considered the parties’ remaining arguments and find them unavailing.
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concur I concur I concur
Decision Date: January 18, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Atlantic Radiology Imaging, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2018 NY Slip Op 50053(U))
[*1]| Atlantic Radiology Imaging, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50053(U) [58 Misc 3d 148(A)] |
| Decided on January 18, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, First Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 18, 2018
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT
PRESENT: Shulman, P.J., Ling-Cohan, Gonzalez, JJ.
570322/17
against
Travelers Property Casualty Company of America, Defendant-Respondent.
Plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Alexander M. Tisch, J.), entered February 1, 2016, which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Per Curiam.
Order (Alexander M. Tisch, J.), entered February 1, 2016, affirmed, with $10 costs.
It being undisputed on this record that plaintiff failed to fully respond to the defendant-insurer’s verification requests, defendant established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment dismissing the underlying first-party no-fault claims as premature (see St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v. Country Wide Ins. Co., 80 AD3d 599, 600 [2011]). Even accepting plaintiff’s speculative assertion that defendant’s followup verification request was issued two days beyond the 10-day period prescribed by the regulation (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6), this does not, under the circumstances here presented, deprive defendant of the benefit of the tolling of the 30-day period during which an insurer must pay or deny the claim (see Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co., 67 AD3d 862 [2009]; Triangle R Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 30 Misc 3d 129[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 52294[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2010]).
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
I concurI concurI concur
Decision Date: January 18, 2018Precious Acupuncture Care, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50042(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Precious Acupuncture Care, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50042(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Hereford Insurance Company, Appellant.
Law Office of Lawrence R. Miles (Thomas Wolf, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn (Ilona Finkelshteyn, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Theresa M. Ciccotto, J.), entered November 13, 2015, deemed from a judgment of that court entered February 16, 2016 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the November 13, 2015 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $1,322.51.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, the order entered November 13, 2015 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff seeks the unpaid balance of five claims for services plaintiff rendered between December 2013 and April 2014. Plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff sought to recover amounts which were in excess of the amounts permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule. Defendant supported its cross motion with an affidavit by its certified medical coder and biller, which affidavit was sufficient to establish, prima facie, that defendant had fully paid the claims in accordance with the fee schedule. In opposition, plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact, as plaintiff submitted only an affirmation by its counsel, who did not establish that she possessed [*2]personal knowledge of the facts. In an order entered November 13, 2015, the Civil Court held that defendant was precluded from interposing such a defense because defendant had failed to timely deny plaintiff’s claims. As a result, the court granted plaintiff’s motion and denied defendant’s cross motion.
As defendant argues, 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (g) (1) (ii); (2) provides that, effective April 1, 2013, “no payment shall be due for [] claimed medical services under any circumstances . . . for those claimed medical service fees that exceed the charges permissible pursuant to Insurance Law sections 5108 (a) and (b) and the regulations promulgated thereunder for services rendered by medical providers.” As the services at issue were provided between December 2013 and April 2014, defendant was not required to establish that it had timely denied the claims in order to preserve its fee schedule defense (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [g] [1] [ii]; [2]).
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order entered November 13, 2015 is vacated, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
WESTON, J.P., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 12, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at One To One Rehab PT, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50041(U))
| One To One Rehab PT, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50041(U) [58 Misc 3d 147(A)] |
| Decided on January 12, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 12, 2018
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHELLE WESTON, J.P., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, DAVID ELLIOT, JJ
2016-463 Q C
against
Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Peter C. Merani, P.C. (Eric M. Wahrburg, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Joseph J. Esposito, J.), entered January 19, 2016. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion and cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant did not provide insurance coverage for the vehicle in question on the date of the accident at issue. By order entered January 19, 2016, the Civil Court denied plaintiff’s motion and granted defendant’s cross motion.
In support of its cross motion and in opposition to plaintiff’s motion, defendant submitted an affidavit by its employee who described the details of her search of defendant’s records and stated that her search had revealed that there was no coverage by defendant for the vehicle in question on the date of the accident. We find that defendant’s affidavit was sufficient to demonstrate, prima facie, that plaintiff’s claims did not arise out of a covered incident (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). As plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition to defendant’s cross motion, the Civil Court properly denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for [*2]summary judgment dismissing the complaint (see Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
WESTON, J.P., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 12, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Greenway Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50039(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
American Transit Ins. Co., Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell, Esq.), for appellant. Law Office of Daniel J. Tucker, for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Richard Montelione, J.), entered October 8, 2015. The order granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied, as academic, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits arising out of an accident which occurred on April 19, 2010, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. Defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that the action is barred by the doctrine of res judicata, in that, by order entered April 3, 2013 on default, the Supreme Court, New York County, found that defendant is not obligated to honor or pay claims for reimbursement to the assignor and provider herein, among others, which had no rights “with respect to the April 20 [sic], 2010 alleged accident.” Plaintiff opposed defendant’s cross motion solely on the ground that the Supreme Court’s order had no collateral estoppel effect, as it had been entered on default. In reply papers, defendant proffered a subsequent order of the Supreme Court, dated April 2, 2015, which “vacated, resettled and corrected” the April 3, 2013 order to indicate that the date of the accident at issue was April 19, 2010. By order entered October 8, 2015, the Civil Court granted defendant’s cross motion based on res judicata and denied plaintiff’s motion as academic. Plaintiff argues, for the first time on appeal, that the April [*2]3, 2013 Supreme Court order has no preclusive effect because it applies to an accident on April 20, 2010, whereas the accident at issue in this case occurred on April 19, 2010. Plaintiff further argues that the “revised” April 2, 2015 order should not be considered as it was first submitted in reply papers.
The April 3, 2013 Supreme Court order did not have res judicata effect, as that order was vacated by the April 2, 2015 order. However, the April 2, 2015 order, which was attached to defendant’s reply papers, replaced the April 3, 2013 order and set forth the correct accident date of April 19, 2010, and a court “may, in general, take judicial notice of matters of public record” (Headley v New York City Tr. Auth., 100 AD3d 700, 701 [2012]). Furthermore, contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the April 2, 2015 Supreme Court order is a conclusive final determination, notwithstanding that it was entered on default, and res judicata applies to an order taken by default which has not been vacated (see Lazides v P & G Enters., 58 AD3d 607 [2009]; Matter of Allstate Ins. Co. v Williams, 29 AD3d 688 [2006]; Matter of Eagle Ins. Co. v Facey, 272 AD2d 399 [2000]; Ava Acupuncture P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 149[A], 2012 NY Slip Op 50233[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]).
Accordingly, we do not disturb the Civil Court’s order granting defendant’s cross motion (see EBM Med. Health Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins., 38 Misc 3d 1 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]), as any judgment in favor of plaintiff in the present action would destroy or impair rights or interests established by the judgment in the declaratory judgment action (see Schuylkill Fuel Corp. v Nieberg Realty Corp., 250 NY 304, 306-307 [1929]; Flushing Traditional Acupuncture, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co., 42 Misc 3d 133[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50052[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
ELLIOT, J.P., PESCE and ALIOTTA, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 12, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Zayas Physical Therapy, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50038(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Auto One Ins. Co., Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Jason Tenenbaum, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Ilona Finkelshteyn, P.C., for the respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered May 14, 2015. The order denied defendant’s motion to vacate (1) an order of that court entered January 16, 2014 granting, upon the consent of the parties, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, and (2) a judgment of that court, entered February 20, 2014 pursuant to the January 16, 2014 order, awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $1,246.50, and, upon such vacatur, in effect, to deny plaintiff’s motion and for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order entered May 14, 2015 is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. Defendant did not submit written opposition to the motion. By order entered January 16, 2014, the Civil Court granted the motion, stating that “[b]oth sides agreed [that plaintiff may enter judgment] and will not appeal the order.” A judgment in the principal sum of $1,246.50 was entered pursuant to that order on February 20, 2014. Thereafter, defendant moved to vacate the January 16, 2014 order and the judgment entered pursuant thereto, arguing that it had a reasonable excuse of law office failure for its default and a meritorious defense to the action (see CPLR 5015 [a] [1]), and, upon such vacatur, in effect, to deny plaintiff’s motion and for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. By order entered May 14, 2015, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion on the ground that defendant had failed to offer a reasonable excuse for its failure to submit written opposition to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
As the January 16, 2014 order was entered on consent, defendant bore the burden of establishing grounds sufficient to set aside a stipulation (see Healthworx Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 140[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50559[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]; see also Hallock v State of New York, 64 NY2d 224 [1984]; Matter of Frutiger, 29 NY2d 143, 150 [1971]; CCU, LLC v Steier, 44 Misc 3d 130[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 51030[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]). Defendant failed to make such a showing.
Accordingly, the order entered May 14, 2015 is affirmed.
ELLIOT, J.P., PESCE and ALIOTTA, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: January 12, 2018
Reported in New York Official Reports at Advanced Recovery Equip. & Supplies, LLC v Maya Assur. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50022(U))
[*1]| Advanced Recovery Equip. & Supplies, LLC v Maya Assur. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 50022(U) [58 Misc 3d 1209(A)] |
| Decided on January 3, 2018 |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Queens County |
| Love, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on January 3, 2018
Advanced Recovery
Equipment & Supplies, LLC a/a/o Maria Brea, Plaintiff,
against Maya Assurance Company, Defendant. |
708820/16
For Plaintiff:
Jonathan Brett Seplowe, Esq.
1501 Newkirk Ave, Ste 585,
Brooklyn, NY 11226
(718) 229-6100
For Defendant:
De Martini & Yi, LLP
45-18 Court Square, Ste 300,
Long Island City, NY 11101
(516) 294-1333
Larry L. Love, J.
Recitation, as required by CPLR §2219 (a), of the papers considered in the review of this Motion. Papers Numbered:
Notice of Motion and Affidavits Annexed 1
Opposing Affidavits 2
Replying Affidavits 3
Upon the foregoing cited papers, the Decision/Order on defendant’s motion for summary judgment, dismissing the complaint, is as follows:
This is an action to recover assigned no-fault benefits for Durable Medical Equipment rented to plaintiff’s assignor for the period of June 25, 2016 through August 5, 2016. Defendant seeks an order dismissing this action based upon plaintiff’s alleged failure to submit the claims at issue pursuant to the proper fee schedule as set forth in 11 NYCRR §65-3.8(g). It appears that this specific issue is a case of first impression for the Court.
In support of its motion, defendant submits the affidavits of Silas Catwell, Jr., a claims manager employed by plaintiff and Jeffrey Futoran, a Certified Professional Coder, together with supporting documentation. Mr. Catwell’s affidavit establishes as follows: On August 9, 2016, defendant received a bill from plaintiff in the amount of $1,045.50 for dates of service June 25, 2016 through July 22, 2016 for rental of a water circulating cold pad with pump under treatment code E0218. On September 15, 2016, defendant mailed a partial denial of said bill, paying a total of $613.50 and denying the remainder of $432.00 based upon the fee schedule. On August 9, 2016, defendant received a bill from plaintiff in the amount of $2,380.00 for dates of service June 25, 2016 through July 22, 2016 for rental of a CPM device under treatment code E0936. On September 15, 2016, defendant mailed a partial denial of said bill, paying a total of $85.00 and denying the remainder of $2,295.00 based upon the fee schedule. On August 9, 2016, defendant received a bill from plaintiff in the amount of $504.00 for dates of service July 23, 2016 through August 5, 2016 under treatment code E0218. On September 14, 2016, defendant mailed a partial denial of said bill, paying a total of $36.00 and denying the remainder of $468.00 based upon the fee schedule. On August 9, 2016, defendant received a bill from plaintiff in the amount of $1,190.00 for dates of service July 23, 2016 through August 5, 2016 E0936. On September 14, 2016, defendant mailed a complete denial of said bill based upon the fee schedule. In sum, plaintiff submitted a total of $5,119.50 in bills, 734.50 of which was paid, leaving $4,385.00 in dispute.
As discussed in Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v. Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 (2015)”Where an insurer fails to pay or deny a claim within the requisite 30 days under the statute and regulations following its receipt of the proof of claim, the insurer is subject to ‘substantial consequences,’ namely, preclusion ‘from asserting a defense against payment of the claim.'” The Court notes that under this standard, all four of defendant’s denials are untimely on their face. However, as discussed in East Coast Acupuncture, P.C. v. Hereford Ins. Co., 51 Misc 3d 441 (NY Civ. Ct. 2016), for all medical services rendered on or after April 1, 2013, 11 NYCRR § 65-3.8(g) was amended as follows: “(1) Proof of the fact and amount of loss sustained pursuant to Insurance Law section 5106(a) shall not be deemed supplied by an applicant to an insurer and no payment shall be due for such claimed medical services under any circumstances:…(ii) for those claimed medical service fees that exceed the charges permissible pursuant to Insurance Law sections 5108(a) and (b) and the regulations promulgated thereunder for services rendered by medical providers.” Based upon the most recent interpretations of 11 NYCRR § 65-3.8(g) a fee schedule defense, for services after April 1, 2013, is not precluded if it is not asserted within 30 days of receipt of the claim. The burden remains on the insurer to establish that the provider billed in excess of the fee schedule.
In support of its interpretation of the fee schedule, supporting the above denials, defendant submits the affidavit of Jeffrey Futoran. Mr. Futoran’s affidavit interprets the fee schedule as follows: The fee schedule allowances for Durable Medical Goods are found in 12 NYCRR §442. Specifically, 12 NYCRR §442.2(b) reads as follows:
The maximum permissible monthly rental charge for such equipment, supplies and services provided on a rental basis shall not exceed the lower of the monthly rental charge to the general public or the price determined by the New York State Department of Health area office. The total accumulated monthly rental charges shall not exceed the fee [*2]amount allowed under the Medicaid fee schedule.
For codes E0936 and E0218, Mr Futoran acknowledges that neither code is listed in the New York State Medicaid Program Durable Medical Equipment (DME) fee schedule and as such neither item has a Maximum Reimbursement Amount (MRA). He alleges that the NYS Dept. Of Health has established a rental fee for all equipment without a listed MRA in the Medicaid DME fee schedule. Defendant submits three written communications which Mr. Futoran claims support this position, however the court finds such claims dubious as all are out of context and contradictory. The three communications offered by movement fail to provide context i.e. the specific inquiries being responded to. The first communication is an undated response from a representative of the Workers Compensation Board Policy and Research Bureau which cites the Medicaid Provider Manual. The second and third letters are from Joanne Criscione, a senior attorney with the Bureau of Health Insurance Programs, in response to similar queries by two different law firms. Her first communication dated July 3, 2014, states that “The Department of Health’s Office of Health Insurance Programs has established a Medicaid reimbursement policy for DME rental of items that have not been assigned an MRA. For DME items that do not have an MRA, the rental fee is calculated at 1/6th of the equipment provider’s acquisition cost.” Her second communication clarifying her earlier letter. Specifically, she states “Your correspondence advises that insurance carriers are characterizing my letter to Mr. Levy as ‘setting’ or ‘establishing’ a reimbursement rate applicable to Workers Compensation claims, while your reading of my letter is that it merely states the Medicaid reimbursement policy as that policy is described in the Medicaid Provider Manual and Policy Guidance.’ Please be advised that your reading of my letter is correct.” Thereafter, she specifically states that the July 3, 2014 letter “was not a determination by a Department of Health are office establishing the reimbursement rate applicable to Work Compensation claims, nor do I have any authority to do so.” In fact, defendant has not submitted any determination by a Department of Health area office which establishes the applicable reimbursement rate. Additionally, pursuant to 12 NYCRR §442.2(g) “The Medicaid provider manual and the policy guidance for durable medical equipment are not included as part of the durable medical equipment fee schedule used in workers’ compensation cases except to the extent such documents contain the Medicaid durable medical equipment fee schedule.”
As there is no MRA under the Medicaid fee schedule and the New York State Department of Health area office has not determined a monthly rental charge for either of the DME items at issue, the sole limiting factor is the monthly rental charge of said items to the general public. As such, defendant has failed to sustain its burden that the provider billed in excess of the fee schedule.
Defendant’s motion is hereby denied in its entirety. This constitutes the decision and Order of the Court.
Dated: January 3, 2018
HON. LARRY L. LOVE
Judge, Civil Court