March 16, 2015
Tong Li v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50397(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/tong-li-v-praetorian-ins-co-2015-ny-slip-op-50397u/
- Decided
- March 16, 2015
- Citation
- 2015 NY Slip Op 50397(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Tong Li v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50397(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Praetorian Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Joseph E. Capella, J.), entered May 14, 2012, deemed from a judgment of the same court entered September 24, 2012 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the May 14, 2012 order denying defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $3,282.32.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, so much of the order entered May 14, 2012 as granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is vacated, and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
In support of its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, defendant submitted an affidavit by the president of Media Referral, Inc., which had been retained by defendant to schedule independent medical examinations (IMEs), which affidavit sufficiently established that the IME requests had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Defendant also submitted, among other things, affirmations and an affidavit from the medical providers who were to perform the IMEs, which were sufficient to establish that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for those duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). In addition, an affidavit executed by defendant’s claims examiner demonstrated that the denial of claim forms, which denied these claims based on plaintiff’s assignor’s nonappearance at the IMEs, had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16). Since appearance at an IME is a condition precedent to an insurer’s liability on a policy (see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1; Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C., 35 AD3d 720), defendant established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
In plaintiff’s papers submitted in opposition to defendant’s motion and in support of plaintiff’s cross motion, plaintiff annexed, among other things, a so-ordered stipulation which states that if defendant failed to provide discovery responses within 60 days of the date of the so-ordered stipulation, defendant would be precluded from offering any evidence concerning the information which plaintiff had sought and which defendant had failed to provide. While plaintiff’s counsel asserts that defendant failed to comply with the so-ordered stipulation and that plaintiff had sought discovery pertaining to defendant’s defense that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear, plaintiff’s cross-moving papers do not contain a copy of the discovery demands served by plaintiff and, in any event, the record does not establish, prima facie, that defendant failed to comply with the terms of the so-ordered stipulation. In light of the foregoing, neither party is entitled to summary judgment, as there is an issue of fact as to whether defendant is barred from interposing its proffered defense due to defendant’s alleged failure to comply with the so-ordered [*2]stipulation.
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, so much of the order entered May 14, 2012 as granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is vacated, and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 16, 2015
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: Timely denial required as part of the no-show defense, and the insurer showed it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer made its prima facie no-show showing, including timely mailing of denials based on the IME nonappearance.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 334 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the IME scheduler's affidavit established timely mailing of the IME requests and the claims examiner's affidavit established timely mailing of the denial forms.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the IME scheduler's affidavit proved timely mailing of the requests and the examining providers' affirmations proved nonappearance, establishing the insurer's prima facie case; a discovery-stipulation issue prevented judgment.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Similar decisions
- Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50393(U))The assignor's failure to attend duly scheduled IMEs warranted dismissal of both claims, including one dismissed on a search of the record.
- Park Slope Med. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52062(U))An assignor's appearance at a duly scheduled IME is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- Padova Physical Rehab. Medicine, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51862(U))The insurer's proof established timely IME notices and denials and the assignor's nonappearances, warranting summary judgment.
- LDE Med. Servs., P.C. v Interboro Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50946(U))The insurer failed to submit admissible proof of IME nonappearance with its cross motion, and proof first offered in reply was improper.
- Brand Med. Supply, Inc. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50947(U))The insurer's affidavits established timely IME notices, the assignor's nonappearances and a timely denial on that ground.